We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Cosmos Maris

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lardos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cosmos Maris
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Lardos
Certificate of Excellence
sherborne dorset
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 20 May 2010

Just returned from two weeks at the Cosmos Maris, what can i say? It was that good that we have already booked for next year!!! Everything that you read about it is true George and family and staff are so helpfull and friendly.The rooms are so big and clean and its just fantastic.We met some lovely people who go there year after year and we made lots of new friends.It is a very quiet area and when we got there very little was open but that didn't bother us.It is about 25mins walk into Lardos Village and worth going to Valentinos and Roulas also Yiamas Cocktail Bar with Maria Loucas and George .The best place to eat near our apts was Mare Matto new restaurant opened this year Yiannis and family lovely place.The best supermarket was Takis very helpful.We took our 23 year old son and a friend and even though there wasn't anyone there age they loved it and would go there again and take girls.
Lorraine Garry Scott and Ben
Sherborne Dorset

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank garrynewton2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    388
    54
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
106
275
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Dover
1 review
Reviewed 9 February 2010

Its everything you need in a budget stay.......and a little friendly extra........ignore the moaners, try it

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William_cpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2010

We stayed at Cosmos Maris for the first 2 weeks of August, our first time in Rhodes and what a wonderful island. The resort is very small but friendly and has everything needed for a comfortable, if somewhat basic, self catering holiday.

Cosmos Maris is very well appointed, a great pool and relaxing pool bar all ran with cleanliness and efficiency. Snacks are varied and all to good stand and portion size. George and his family make you very welcome and are happy to help with any needs.

Now a little warning - as many reviews have said, this is a popular place for return visits, so much so that we found most of the guests were regular, having stayed here for year on year. Whilst this is testament to the facilities, we were made to feel quite uncomfortable by large groups who eyed us suspiciously, made it known we were outsiders' and even became abusive in suggesting some of the 'usual' attendees couldn't come because we had 'got their rooms'.

2 groups in particular (and we are not talking about teens or twenties) would patrol the pool area making sure that no one disrupts their time honoured traditions & 'pecking order' for sunbeds, inflatables or bar seats. The weekly quiz was fun, until we were told that any prizes won are ALWAYs given to charity and that we HAVE to do the same.

In all, great place, great hosts, but be ready for the habitual repeat visitors and their 'xenophobia'

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lameduck9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2009

Stayed here in September, and I can't fault the hotel one bit, it was spotlessly clean, the food in the snack bar was really good, and great value for money. The rooms though, basic are exactly what I expect for self catering in Greece. We managed breakfast and the occasional lunch quite easily. The pool area was well kept, although it would have been nice if it was a bit warmer. George and his family are indeed very friendly and very accomodating. The Greek night was not to be missed, it was great fun. We were also there when the was the fracas a previous reviewer commented on took place, and it did make us feel somewhat uncomfortable, and re-inforced my theory never to go on holiday with family or friends, I've never known it work.
It is well documented that people return to this hotel year after year, and I can understand why, but sometimes I found this made me feel a bit uncomfortable too, the competition about who you knew, and what you knew about the area, became very boring after a while, and for this reason we probably wouldn't return in a hurry. We hired a car from Georges Rent a car, but do be careful one member of staff quoted us 175 euro to hire a jimny for 3 days, when we went back the next day, another member of staff quoted 120 euros, needless to say we took him up on his offer.
Lardos village is lovely, about a 25minute walk along a flat well lit footpath, we enjoyed the Yammas bar and Memories very much, none of the restaurants lived up to the reviews we read, we found Valentinas to be the best in the village, We were very priveliged to join in World Tourism Day, in Lardos Village Square, where the display of Greek Dancing was fascinating. the Football team barbecued Slouvaki to raise funds. tables and chairs were arranged in the square, and a great night was had by all, everyone joined in together, visitors and locals alike, I was very honoured to join in with the dancing at the end, in my own fashion, but it was one of the highlights of my holiday. Casa de flavia down the road from the hotel was a lovely rstaurant, I just wish we'd discovered it earlier in our holiday.
The beach at Lothiarika is ok, but Glystra beach and pefkos beach were by far the best.
We toured the island from top to bottom and saw some wonderful things, the fact we had a jeep meant we could go a biit off the beaten track. One of my favourite places was a lunch we ate at a fish taverna at Kameiros Skala, it was superb. Rhodes is a beautiful island, especially when you get off the beaten track. Next time we visit I would like to go out of season, maybe in March or Early April and see it in it 's true glory. All in all a good holiday, despite the gripes.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2009

Recently stayed at the Cosmos Maris Hotel, after a very average flight in a below average plane with not even a radio on the flight.
The Hotel.
Very clean, very friendly and George and family were very nice.
The rooms are clean, utensils a bit basic for self catering, no toasters so dont bother to take your marmite.
The beds are extremely uncomfortable and noisy (they creak at every movement). We overcame this by putting the blankets under the bottom sheet, and putting the matresses on the floor.
The showers !! Well they do spray water on you, to a fashion.
We ate at the snack bar and the food was very nice and good value.
The pool area was very clean, and only a few selfish people adopted the need to put towels on the sunbeds, no need really there were plenty.
I asked to be moved to a different room after a family staying in several rooms decided to show themselves up by arguing around the pool early hours, unfortunately they were under our room.
The beach at Lothiarki was not bad, we preferred to sit on the beach, with the sea breeze. Take food and drinks though, you cannot get refreshments there. Another guest went to pefkos beach and said it was very good for bathing and snorkelling. And its only a 1.50 euro bus ride or a 35min walk though we took the bus.
We also bussed to Lindos, this was very nice and well worth a visit, if you go take your towel and trunks to make a day of it. Come down from the acropolis the same way as the donkeys for great views and easy acces to the beach.
Rhodes Town is the place to do your shopping, much cheaper than round the resorts.
A very historic place can spend a day here. We hired a car from Georges Autos across from hotel '25 euros a day better than taking the bus at 5 euros pp each way. The guy at the rental told us to drive up through Faliraki and where to find free parking.
a drive around the south of the island and back through the middle was very rewarding.
Eating out, all time bets has got to be ROULAS at Lardos an extremely friendly atmosphere here. And the food was amazing and very good value, try mums cheesecake!! fantastic. We ate here most nights and its only a 25min walk from Cosmos Maris, and afterwards go for cocktails at the Yammas Bar.
We tried another restaurant across road from hotel and tried what on paper looked good.
'big chunks of lamb with lemon potatoes'. 8.90 euros. We got a lamb shank and three pieces of potato, and a rather greasy gravy. Not happy !!

All in all, we had a very nice holiday, and we met some very nice people. But it would need rooms to be more comfortable to stay again. I would only recommend this hotel to people with the info about the beds.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BazDebNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2009

Second time to Rhodes first time to Cosmos Maris

Arrived about 5.30am in morning as flight delayed by one hour met by George who carried suitcase to the room had a wash and straight to bed !!!!! the family were all very friendly the times we were there

It easy to make your own way around on the buses 5euros each way to Rhodes town, 2 each way to Lindos and the other way Gennades is 2 euros
We walked to Lardos village most days/ nights - approx 20 mins a must try is Roulas restaurant great food never had a bad meal always made to feel welcome (good footpath to Lardos village take the street directly opposite the garage) also try the bakery there are two and both good - feta cheese (not packed) from the supermarket next to Roulas mmmmmmm

Pefki can be walked in approx 45 mins along the road no footpath but can also be walked so far along the beach and then a small climb up to the road for the last few mins good bakery there also

Room was cleaned everyday and clean sheets were put on the beds every couple of days
there was a couple of drawbacks

there was no area at all to make snacks (we used the coffee table) the sink was all in one with the electric cooker - behind the door - we had to plug the kettle in on the floor (not a problem)

The fridge was very noisy (good job we took earplugs)

the bed creaked every time you moved on it

No we are not complainers or moaners we really enjoyed the holiday because it it what a individual makes of it and we thought it was brilliant would we recommend it of course we would

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TrickCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rochdale
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2009

We arrived early hours of Sunday morning, George Snr. was waiting to greet us & show us to our room, a very long day as the Thomson's flight had been delayed over 1hr, & not a comfy flight.
This is a gem of a place, & we will be going back next year they treat all as family, even when my partner saw George eating an unfamiliar dish (dolmades), they brought some out for us to try, DELICIOUS. The food is great at the pool bar, & if your watching your euros it's very good value.
The walk into Lardos takes appro. 20mins, with a very good selection of restaraunts & bars, they all make you welcome.
We walked to Plakia beach most days towards Pefkos, this took appro 30mins.
Can't tell you how much we enjoyed this holiday, & we've been to quite a few Greek Isles. We don't often return to the same place twice but as I said this is definately the exception.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WIG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lardos
1.9 mi away
Lindian Village
Lindian Village
#2 of 15 in Lardos
819 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lindos Princess Beach Hotel
0.1 mi away
Sunshine Hotel
Sunshine Hotel
#6 of 15 in Lardos
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Lindos Mare Hotel
Lindos Mare Hotel
#4 of 30 in Lindos
1,359 reviews
2.7 mi away
Boutique 5 Hotel & Spa
Boutique 5 Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in Kiotari
400 reviews
0.5 mi away
Olive Garden Hotel
Olive Garden Hotel
#5 of 15 in Lardos
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosmos Maris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmos Maris

Property: Cosmos Maris
Address: Lardos, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Lardos
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lardos
#1 Family Hotel in Lardos
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Cosmos Maris Pefkos
Cosmos Maris Hotel Pefkos
Cosmos Maris Rhodes/Lardos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing