We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not Greek enough”
Review of Olive Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Olive Garden Hotel
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Lardos
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice but not Greek enough”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I enjoyed our recent stay at the Olive Garden, the staff are friendly, especially Anastasia, and Esther who made our stay more pleasurable. This is a great place for a sunny holiday, the place was spotless. However, the hotel lacked a certain Greekness.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheLazyCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    159
    65
    33
    32
See reviews for
185
222
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Just had 2 wonderful weeks at the Olive Garden Hotel.It was quiet and peacefull just what we wanted thou it was only a 5 mins taxi drive to the next resort if you wanted something more lively.On a whole the hotel was clean and our room was spotless.Plenty of sunbeds and 5 min walk to the beach.The staff are 1st class and always so friendly.Annastasia is a lovely person and keeps the pool area so clean and is always smiling.The food was great thou we did have an odd night out to eat as we met up with friends.
We would go back some time in the future

Room Tip: ask for a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colleen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed here from 07/09/13 to 14/09/13
Large open reception with a very small reception desk, although it was a swift and efficient check in, would hope that this would be upgraded to make it look like a proper hotel
Unlike some, who said it takes a good 5 minutes to get from one block to the other (must have been crawling !!), it only took us a couple of minutes.
All staff are very good and pleasant, especially Anastasia at the pool bar, mention too for Esther in reception, very helpful and pleasant
Our room, 412, was very basic and sparsely furnished, a chest of drawers would be a useful addition as there is not too much space to put all clothes
If you like chicken, pork and fruit jelly, you wont go hungry
Although we didn`t go without a meal, there wasn`t too much of a selection and a very sparse salad bar, I had spag/bol 2 or 3 times in the week as I wasn`t too impressed with the main meal choice
Not in too good a position, unless you don't mind using buses or taxis, (we hired a car for 3 days, so that we could go where we wanted, when we wanted), 5 or 10 minute walk to the beach, which we didn`t use,for the fist time we have travelled abroad,,stayed by the pool when we weren`t out in the car, with no trouble getting beds contrary to some reports
I also don't agree with having to buy water or pay 7 euros a day for air con, when we have already paid a sizeable amount for an ALL inclusive holiday
I don't want to knock the hotel too much as it wasn`t too bad a place and the staff were great, but, although we will go to the island again, we wont be stopping at the Olive Garden

Room Tip: We had room 412 in the upgraded section. Very basic, but served its purpose
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I stayed here for a week with my boyfriend and loved every second. We checked in just after 11pm so missed the drinks, we did buy a bottle of water from reception which was fine but this was only offered to us from the lovely gentleman on security who showed us to our room.

We stayed in room 701 which was the building at the back of the hotel by the second pool. The room over looked the pool and was above the bar, it got a bit loud at night with the music BUT 9xs out of 10 we was downstairs enjoying the alcohol and music anyway.

The room was basic, a little dated but was clean and did exactly what it needed to do. The cleaners came in every day to tidy up and change the sheets for us (unless we put the sign on the door) which I thought was brilliant. Apparently these rooms are being updated to the luxury apartments, I really hope this is the case because I'd love to try them out!

The food and drink was great, waffles with honey or chocolate for breakfast were just to die for!! There was always a good choice of food to eat, even for the super fussy like my boyfriend, he didn't go hungry! The alcohol was served in great portions and you could taste it. I liked that they allowed you to get more then one drink at a time, I know some hotels will only serve you one drink but here me and my boyfriend took it in turns to get rounds.

We treated ourselves to a massage which was lovely, the young girl that did it was very professional and extremely good at her job.

The beach was a short walk away and the sea was lovely and warm to swim in, the pool was FREEZING! Even in the heat it was just too cold. We went to the water park one day, a free bus services runs Mon-Fri which saved us a small fortune, it took about 2 hours to get to the park but as it was free you cant complain at all!

Lardos Village was a 20 minute walk away, there wasn't much to do in there but Memories cocktail bar and Valatina's restaurant were well worth the walk.

I've saved the best to last, the staff. They were so helpful, so friendly, so kind, they always stopped to say hello and ask how your day was, what you'd been up to, if you was enjoying yourself, they truly made you feel at home!!

I would certainly return to this hotel in the near future, its the kind of place to go that's out of way, quiet and peaceful, your not hounded every time you turn the corner by reps, there isn't groups of randy teens or screaming kids, it was perfect. I will be treating my Mum to a trip here one day (If shes lucky!!)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JessNav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Myself and grand daughter have just returned from this hotel. We found it quiet and peaceful but with bus stop close by to reach the rest of the island. I can only echo others. Good food, variety of food; friendly helpful staff, always smiling;well kept gardens and pool areas;easy walk to local beach;everwhere spotlessly clean;so all in all a happy experience.

Room Tip: There were only two of us in a family room on the third floor so spacious. A good view of the garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We went to the Olive Garden based on previous reviews indicating that this hotel was a "hidden gem" and good value for money. On arrival the check in was fast and efficient and we were shown to our family 3 bedded room situated right by the third floor restaurant. The room was basic but perfectly adequate for our needs.
We had a good view of the pool area and the room was clean, tidy and had a newish feel to it. There was a slight problem when the door handle fell off when we went out for dinner but this was repaired immediately. A day or two later our toilet seat came off, but again this was sorted very quickly and without fuss.
There was a limited but reasonable choice of food for all meals and the food was of a reasonable standard.
It was a shame that the pool bar nearest the reception did not have tonic water so if you fancied a drink with tonic during the day you had to go to the second bar a few minutes walk away. Not ideal but no real problem
Both pools were good and the sun bathing areas adequate.
Anastasia was our hostess at the one pool bar and she was a gem. Friendly , informative and constantly smiling, Anastasia was a great asset to the Olive Garden. Esta, who was in reception was also fantastic with nothing too much trouble.
All inclusive drinks again were limited in the choice, but this did not prevent us having a lovely holiday.
Poolside snacks were not fantastic and ice cream is only served to children under 12 and limited to a couple of hours each day.
The location of this hotel is the only real negative for me. There are no shops, bars or other restaurants in the immediate vicinity but a taxi ride will find bars and restaurants and if you want shopping then Lindos is about 15minutes by taxi. Rhodes town is about 40 minutes away.
All in all a lovely 3 star hotel and we have already booked to return next July.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the reception block, these are new and/or recently refurbished. However we unde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnboy028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Just got back from one of the best holidays we have had. We decided to book to go to the Olive Garden after reading all the five stars reviews on here and it did not disappoint.
Arrived around midnight and as we pulled up at the hotel it looked lovely. We were given a very warm reception and taken to our room (304) which was located in the renovated part of hotel, the room was lovely, spotlessly clean and we overlooked pool. We were lucky as I don't think I would have been as pleased to get a room in the older part, apparently these were again spotless but not to the standard of ours. All will change next year all rooms will be of superior quality.

Both pools were very nice and we never had problem getting a sunbed.

It was about a 5 min walk to beach through the older part of hotel, we used to go down for a dip in sea most evenings about 5, the beach is shingle and you need shoes to get in sea, but well worth it is was beautiful and warm. Nice supermarket by the beach were you can get most things. There is also shop at hotel, but bit sparse, maybe because season coming to an end.

The food at hotel was very good and quite varied, although there could be a bit more variation in the dessert section, love jelly, but every night is a bit much. Did get a bit boring after a couple of weeks, but again I believe they are going to have some themed nights next year which will be good.

Drinks are plentiful and BIG glasses.

A couple of little niggles:-
Not much to do in evening with the hotel being remote, like most people we ended up playing cards, there was lots of card schools going, but we had fun, very competitive and lots and lots of giggles.
7eu charge for aircon, it would have cost over £100 for 2 weeks, luckily we had ceiling fan and got used to the heat after a few days. We did have very hot weather 35+ and at a more reasonable cost we would have jumped at aircon.

The biggest plus point of this hotel is the team of staff. From walking though the door on the first night we felt like they had put there arms around us and said " let us look after you".

I would like to mention a few by name

Ester - reception, one of the nicest ladies you could wish to meet, warm, helpful, she becomes your new best friend, whilst remaining professional at all times.

Ali - wonderful character, always has a smile for you along with chat no matter how busy, makes lovely omelettes and tasty pasta too.

Anastasia - after reading previous reviews, I was intrigued has to what was so special about this young lady. Well she is a credit to The Olive Garden, you can set your clock by her, from her arrival at 10 to her going to getting snacks at 11 and cakes at 3. She is always smiling, keeps the bar area and around the pool clean and tidy, never have to wait more than a couple of minutes for your drink and always chats to you. Would make a great Guests Relations Manager, who could liaise with guests and be good point of contact if you needed help in anything, or maybe had a small issue which could then be sorted before it became a major one. Other hotels we have visited have one, its nice, just to be around pool having a chat, makes a guest feel wanted.

Because I have mentioned the above people does not mean I have forgotten the others, but would be writing forever :-), they are all great.



Would like to say a big thank you to The Olive Garden (and Ester for organising ) for my wonderful surprise on my birthday of my cake, loved it. Also, Anastasia thank you for your lovely gift, was really touched by this.

Meet some lovely people who we will stay in touch with ( thanks for my birthday presents, helped to make my day special )

Would we go back ??? Well what do you think YES!! Already checking flights.

Thank You Mr Nick Georgas and your wonderful team for helping us have a holiday to remember.



Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank caroll139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lardos
2.7 mi away
Eagle's Nest Hotel
Eagle's Nest Hotel
#15 of 34 in Pefkos
117 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lindian Village
Lindian Village
#2 of 15 in Lardos
819 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunshine Hotel
Sunshine Hotel
#6 of 15 in Lardos
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Kalithea Sun & Sky Hotel
Kalithea Sun & Sky Hotel
#17 of 20 in Kallithea
627 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lindos Princess Beach Hotel
25.2 mi away
Virginia Hotel
Virginia Hotel
#5 of 5 in Koskinou
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olive Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olive Garden Hotel

Property: Olive Garden Hotel
Address: Lardos, Lardos 851 09, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Lardos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Lardos
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lardos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Olive Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Olive Garden is a 3 star hotel that attracts travellers seeking a distinctive location near the beach. The property with it's endless gardens and remote setting provides a sense of peace & relaxation. The modern approach to design & quality compliments expectations. One can enjoy the high standards of Olive Garden hospitality, in harmony with preserved natural beauty of the environment & the strategic locale. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Olive Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Olive Garden
Olive Garden Pefkos
Olive Garden Rhodes
Olive Garden Hotel Rhodes/Lardos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing