We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning setting! Couldn't ask for more.”
Review of Hotel Kamari Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Kamari Beach
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Lardos
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stunning setting! Couldn't ask for more.”
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We had an inclusive stay for a week and it was a great, relaxing break away. The hotel was clean and tidy and our rooms were cleaned everyday. We had a seaview room and it was just a gorgeous view to wake up to everyday. The pool area has quite limited seating, but most days we got a lounger either in the morning or after lunch, as many of the other guests retreat from the hot sun for a few hours. The beach is just across the car park and stoney, but there is plenty of free loungers and brollys and the sea is very clean and refreshing. The staff were all pleasent and helpful and worked hard. John the night porter gave a warm welcome and had food prepared for our late night arrival. The food was great! Every lunch and dinner there was a different range of tasty mediterranean food, all very healthy and only saw chips served once all week! It was great to taste another culture. The evenings were quiet and relaxing, so if you are looking for a bustling area, jump in a taxi down to phafkos to find a range of bars. I highly recommend catching the local bus at the top of the brae and having a day in Lindos. It was so greek with its white lanes of shops and cafes, which leads to the acropolis at the top of Lindos. Well worth a trip. Overall, we had an amazing holiday. South Rhodes is a lovely area and the hotel was in a lovely spot. We couldn't ask for any more, the holiday was good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TAStu20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    46
    23
    18
    17
See reviews for
28
76
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Firstly I would like to start by saying that I booked this hotel by mistake thinking it was the Kamari Beach Hotel in Sentorinni. Booking last minute and typing Kamari Beach in trip advisor I was directed to a hotel on another of the Greek islands with the same name which looked amazing so booked straight away as the deal seemed so good. It was only afterwords when researching further I thought something wasn't adding up and realised my mistake. After looking at this place I wouldn't of booked but after staying here my opinions somewhat changed. After the initial disappointment we soon settled in and found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. John from England was a legend! The pool area was quite small, and getting a sun bed was often a struggle but it was kept clean and looked really nice. The pool was nice and warm with a children's section and deep end. The beach just across the car park saved the day for us as it was really nice! Crystal clear waters and pebbles! I bought some beach shoes as it can be painful on your feet. The food was ok, nothing special but nothing ghastly, certainly edible. Our room was very run down and had random holes in the walls stuffed with tissue paper and no shower attatchement, fine for just sleeping I guess. Location wise it's a short bus trip away to local towns and night life, the beach on your doorstep is the best bit about location. Overall I would say this is a very relaxing place to go, no entertainment and not much as far as facilities go but you make the best of what's on offer. Made some nice friends especially Sally and Tony who were lovely. It was so hot and sunny everyday which was essential with where we were staying. Lindos is worth a visit for sure! We had a nice time but wouldn't come back to be honest, maybe to say hi to John that would be it. :-)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Riggsy2830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

My daughter and I stayed here for a week recently. we were not phased by being virtually the only Brits. This isnt really an issue, it just detracts sometimes from familiar ambience. The hotel presented quite nicely. Large reception area with comfortable seats. We were presented with the option of having a sea view room which we needed to pay 7 euros per night extra for. Disappointing - but with standing water close by, we thought it best - and previous reviews had indicated some of the rooms were less than salubrious.

We had a nice airy room with balcony above the reception area. The furnishings are very dated, television a useless specimen (not that you go away on hols to watch TV!) but the most irritating thing was the door to the bathroom, made a horrendous noise on being used - warped after years of use and wetting in the bathroom.

Airconditioning, we were told was a further 7.5 euros because it wasnt july! This did not impress us and the cost particularly high we thought. however, the temperature down that side of the island is particularly hot - some 4 degrees hotter than Ixia or Rhodes town where the sea breeze is a welcome cool. Still we had to have it, having been eaten alive by mozzies on one night - apologies to the neighbours but we had to bash them all night. A lesson to be remembered when one tries to use the mozzie guard with the sliding doors open - DONT! it doesnt work.

Still, being positive, the rooms are cleaned each day. There are clean towels and a wipe down of floors. I have no complaints at all with the cleanliness and how hard the housekeeping staff worked. They were friendly too.

Food - initially there were only about a hundred in the hotel, or thereabouts and so the choice was okay for people who like food, but if you are a picky eater, not so good. Contental breakfasts with some scrambled egg seemed to be the fare in the morning. Lunches were often with pasta or rice and a potato dish, some random veg - twice brussels sprouts, sometimes carrots and sometimes broccoli. But there was always a fish and at least one meat choice and plenty of greek salad items, tzaziki etc. So I have no complaints about the food. Dinner was similar. Sweets/desserts were more limited than expected but I prefer savoury so that didnt bother me. wine and beer from a dispenser which was palatable.

The other irritating thing about the hotel was their insistence on using the cheapest plastic cups that money can buy for drinks at the bar. Irrespective of whether or not you were drinking inside or outside. Whilst I understand there will always be idiots who get drunk and fall about the place and there is a need for plastic cups, especially poolside, I objected to this whilst wishing to drink indoors.

The pool is well kept and the poolside area clean and well presented. A good view to the sea which is accessed across the parking area - the beach is pebble so flip flops are definitely needed. There are lounges and tables at 4 Euros per day on offer there.

If you use a satnav to get there, it will take you to the Lindos Princess.... dont look in there, it will make you wish you had booked there - but its far more expensive.

There is no entertainment and the clientele - tended towards middle aged bavarians, eastern europeans and quite old people. Pefkos is better if you want a bit of brit night life and it isnt really walking distance in the heat.

take a wander to lardos, nice little village with someting on Friday nights. good prices to try eating out. Pefkos for louder brasher scenery and hire a car to get out and about. We managed it and it was well worth it.

All in all a medium priced holiday that was a nice break. I wouldnt rush to go back there, not because it was awful, it wasnt, its just that I have experienced nicer places and better scenery. Perhaps Rhodes is a little tired overall now.

Room Tip: They will offer you a sea view for additional cost. Find out which room you are in first. we may h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thecottrells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
223 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We stayed here for one night during a tour of Rhodes. It was much better than the average small hotels we visited and ideal for a one or two night stay. There was an excellent swimming pool and we had a sea view room on the top floor of a two storey bungalow. We were offered the 'all inclusive' option for 25 euros each, but this was not good value as we had already paid for breakfast. Much better to cycle into nearby Lardos and eat in one of the many excellent restaurants there. The room was comfortable and clean and we had a balcony. Breakfast was a bit underwhelming. So whilst not quite up to modern resort hotel standards, it is fine for a short break.

Room Tip: Good sea views from the first floor rooms on the top of some of the bungalows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hopeful-Guest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

we stayed at this hotel for couple of days and we find the relaxing time there.the rooms were clean and good food.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jason b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We were "upgraded" to this hotel as our original one was overbooked. Do not be fooled this is an awful hotel. Our room was in an underground tunnel rooms 139 -143 beware!!! The manager actually told us our rooms "were OK But only for sleep" The room overlooked a carpark and gas tank.
The food is unbelievably dreadful squid and sprouts one evening!!!!
Cleanliness in the room is reasonable but the dining room is filthy. Hotel does not cater for British people and at one stage there were only 2 other Brits in the hotel with the other guests making us feel very vunerable indeed I was jostled at the bar on more than one occasion. Avoid at all costs

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lardos hotels

s.e.wales
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

the hotel is very clean throughout. our room was in the main hotel although most rooms are in the bungalows and we didn't see inside these. our bedlinen and towels were changed very frequently, at least every other day, sometimes every day .the staff without exception were very friendly and helpful, their English is good. the hotel clientèle was multi national and we brits were definitely in a minority .the dining room is very large, in 2 sections. the cuisine is Greek without exception and we enjoyed the food .the beach restaurant was closed for the whole 2 weeks we were there .
the beach is just across the hotel car park so within easy reach of the pool bar for drinks during the day .however the sunbeds on the beach cost 4 euro s p.p.p.day .a reduction of 50 cents per day if you pay for a week in advance .sunbeds are available round the pool but with Germans and Russians in the hotel you'd have to be up very early to get one .the beach is lovely but coarse sand and pebbles in the sea.
the local bus stops on the main road which is less than 5 mins walk from the hotel. the drivers all speak good English so it is easy to use the local buses to see the island.they are all air conditioned.
Lardos village does not have a lot to offer other than a couple of nice bars and 2 supermarkets. 30 mins walk from the hotel, 5 mins on the bus or 5 euro's in a taxi.
there is no entertainment in the hotel so it would not be suitable for night life lovers. ideal for couples wanting a quiet holiday and for families.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sueP6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lardos
0.3 mi away
Olive Garden Hotel
Olive Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Lardos
542 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lindian Village
Lindian Village
#2 of 14 in Lardos
853 reviews
14.4 mi away
Golden Odyssey Kolimbia
Golden Odyssey Kolimbia
#13 of 34 in Kolimbia
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lindos Princess Beach Hotel
1.1 mi away
Sunrise Hotel
Sunrise Hotel
#21 of 30 in Lindos
319 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lardos Bay Hotel
Lardos Bay Hotel
#10 of 14 in Lardos
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kamari Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kamari Beach

Property: Hotel Kamari Beach
Address: Lardos Beach, Lardos 851 09, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Lardos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lardos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kamari Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Kamari Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamari Beach Hotel
Hotel Kamari Beach Rhodes/Lardos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing