We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice apartments, great price”
Review of Hotel Baia da Luz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Baia da Luz
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Luz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We loved our 2 nights in this apartment. We booked a 1 bedroom, 1 bath and they upgraded us to a 2 bed, 2 bath. These are apartment that are owned privately but rented out when the owners aren't there by the real estate company. So there is a front desk and they were helpful. It also was a great deal, I think around 70 euro a night in early May. Apartments are brand new, very well designed, no expense spared on materials they used. Had a washer and drying rack for you to use. Wish they had given us some dish washing liquid and a sponge for the sink, that was the only thing missing. They booked us an all day tour of the Algarve with Extremo and it was horrible. The guides name was Mario, he was negative about Portugal and the entire day was the world according to Mario. Insist on getting a tour from the companies recommended on tripadvisor, even if they can't find the "voucher" for the tour you want.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (558)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 558 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed during the third week of May. We had booked because of the very positive reviews on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed.

The accommodation is clean, spotless and to a very high standard. The kitchen has a dishwasher, washing machine, hand blender and good quality hob, microwave, oven and fridge freezer. It also benefits from having an internet connection, which was a Godsend because Praia da Luz is a bit light on the wi-fi stakes! The accommodation is exactly as illustrated and spacious. The swimming pool was a delight to swim in - little birds drink from the pool while you are in it. It was spotless and beautifully laid out with trees and lavender. The room was serviced twice during our week's stay. I wish the housekeepers could give lessons in making beds so beautifully comfy!

There was no noise at night. The complex is extremely secure with metal shutters and solid metal gates. The balcony is great for drying with washing using the handily-supplied airers.

Praia da Luz is the most beautiful place. Flowers everywhere, lemon trees, cacti, bouganvilla on the houses. The beach is breathlessly beautiful. Golden sand with a tuquoise sea. We spotted a small gecko clining to the wall! The two mini supermarkets are bigger than you would think from the photos (Spar and Batista). Eating out is reasonable enough and alcohol cheap enough too.

I have never been to Portugal before but this area is particularly lovely. The high standard of the appartment was the icing on the cake. If I could award it six stars I would!

Room Tip: All the accommodation is fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank nordicgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed in a 2 bedroomed apartment in mid May and was very much impressed with both the accommodation and the staff who couldn't be more helpful. The apartment was spacious, fitted out to a high standard and spotless. I note that a previous reviewer commented on the lack of English speaking t.v. channels, however this may be to a lack of instruction with regards to the operating system rather than the system itself. The television was small for a large apartment. Not withstanding these small criticisms, overall it is a comfortable 4 bordering on a 5.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steppy 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

On this last years, me and my wofe have been discovering the Algarve, which is a fabulous holiday region if you do a little searching.

We had only passed by Praia da Luz and never stood there and while planning a 3-day weekend break, we decided to try this spot and Baia de Luz caught our attention.

Arriving at Praia da Luz, the resort is easy to locate. I say resort but it is not a conventional resort since it´s not a closed complex. There a several buildings with inner gardens and pathways but on the outskirts are streets. To access the leisure area (which is private), one must pass a gate with a security code. So you stroll around freely, in and out of the complex. Below the buildings, are garages and a a annexe for each appartment, handy for storing beach apparel, bikes, and such. Elevators serve the garages so you can easily carry our sttuf up to the appartment (I´ll come to those latter on).

The gardens and pathways among the buildings are spotless and very well groomed and the place in itself is very well kept and the architecture does blend well with the surroundings (for me at least). And in places you feel a lovely scent, they must have a hidden dispenser somewhere. The staff at the reception give all the important informations about the complex and also the sorroundings so don't hesitate to ask them.

The complex is located just a 5 min. walk to the beach and it´s probably is best to walk in the more busy summer months since parking is scarse. It´s also at wlaking distance from the village´s center and supermarkets.

Leisure area - the weahter wasn´t encouraging beach lounging so we definitelly tried the leisure area. Important notice: staying at Baia da Luz, you have access to the its sister resort Estrela da Luz and its SPA and indoor pool but one must go by car since its 3 km´s up. So, the leisure area: once more, spotless! 2 pools (impecable cleaned water and without eye irritating chemicals), good hammocks, excelent bathrooms (spotless once more, I know I´m repeating myself but its worth mentioning), kid´s area, 2 tennis courts, snooker table and a restaurant/bar. the leisure area is good when it´s windy since you can place yourself outside its influence. Since we spent most of the time at the pool chilling, we tried the restaurant both for snacks and for lunch. Well scored on both counts. Altough the menu is not vast, what we sampled was very good and not overpriced, dispite being a top resort. Do try the pizzas. They are really made there, on the spot and are tasty. The staff, impecabble. So then, leisure area approved.

And now for the appartments......and once again, top marks! They´re really luxurious and well equipped. We were "awarded" a duplex on the top floor, with 2 beedrooms (bathroom for each), small terrace and balcony with lovely furniture. the kitchen is large and fully equipped (really "fully"!) with top notch appliances. Powefull air conditionig all around (tried for heat since the nights were chilly). Lots of storage space. The decor is very good and the appartment does seem like a quality one from Lisbon. It´s quite impresive. You feel the attention to details on small things like the bathroom amenities, the wifi capable of handling 5 equipments at a time, 2 tipes of pillows, the vast appartment space, etc.

Surroundings - Praia da Luz beach is perfect for family holidays and Lagos is just a few kms away with its stunning beaches and restaurants and the town itself is probably the most beautifull of all Algarve. A must.....

In brief, I think you can´t go wrong with this spot for a family vacation. I´ll definitely be back with my family. Bruno (the manager) and his staff do an amazing job!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank paulomouratogomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This was our second stay in this delightful residence and certainly won't be our last. This place is great for those who want the convenience of self catering facilities, but with the kind of customer experience that is more usually found in hotels. Our apartment was clean and very well set up - 2 litres each of fresh water and milk in the fridge, dishwasher and washing machine tabs provided and toiletries in the bathroom. Excellent parking away from the main bustle but still only a short walk to the beaches, shops and restaurants. Plus of course a great restaurant on-site as well. There is a TV, media centre and free wi-fi - but with 2 pools, great beaches and beautiful Portuguese scenery on the doorstep who needs them!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balconies on both sides - that way you get the option of sun or shade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hooray4holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Just got back from a great stay here. Isabelle on reception was extremely helpful pleasant to deal with. The swimming pools were impeccable and the beach bar service was excellent. The food here was really good too. it was really quiet but that was quite nice - got busier later in the week but never packed. We were blessed with excellent weather. The down side for us was that Luz was way too quiet, we found a few restaurants we liked but some were just not Portuguese enough. I would recommend staying here as the days were fabulous just the evenings were dead. The beach is worth a visit and was very clean, also the bars looking over the beach were well worth a visit.

Room Tip: We were in Block 25 which was a bit further away from the pool but had a great roof terrace. Bit of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliHWatford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights in a 2 bed apartment on the second floor. Lift access made things easy and we had an under building secure parking spot.
The apartment was spacious and spotless......a touch of 'loft apartment living'.
The resort is in a good location a short walk to the beach and restaurants but has its own facilities with plenty of room and loungers around the pool.
The reception staff were great, courteous and friendly with nothing too much trouble.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luz
12.9 mi away
Sagres Time Apartamentos
13.0 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
10.6 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
11.0 mi away
Tivoli Marina Portimao
Tivoli Marina Portimao
#6 of 76 in Portimao
2,299 reviews
12.7 mi away
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
#3 of 10 in Sagres
1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baia da Luz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baia da Luz

Address: Rua Alfredo do Nascimento Baptista | Lote 35, R/C - Urb. Da luz, Luz 8600-152, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Luz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Luz
Price Range: £17 - £1,528 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Baia da Luz 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Baia da Luz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing