We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic apartments”
Review of Hotel Baia da Luz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Baia da Luz
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Luz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2014

 
We have just returned from an apartment here and it was fantastic. It's spacious and comfortable in a great spot and with good facilities. The pool area is lovely but there's not a lot of shade so get up early (no sunbed saving allowed!) the food in the bar was also very nice. It's only a few minutes to the beach, shops etc and the whole resort is clean and pleasant if a bit quiet. We had a couple of days out along the coast and some lovely meals out. All in all it was great, the only minor issues we had were that the internet spped was a bit slow and one day it rained so we put the tv on but you can only watch it of you take a SKY card or speak Portugese!

Room Tip: The apartments are in different blocks, some away from the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dawnmc19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (558)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

291 - 297 of 558 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

The facilities in the apartment are outstanding, with the only exception being the speed of the internet access through wifi (but the wifi is free, so shouldn't really complain!). The washing machine/iron mean you don't have to pack a lot of clothes as they dry overnight and the cooking facilities are superb (everything you would need from knives to pans and cupboards full of glasses/cups and crockery, and more importantly a bottle opener and corkscrew!). The dishwasher also cuts down on the clearing up. The staff are very friendly and happy to help, the pool and bar are great and the place is very well set up for young children with a baby/toddler pool, a playground and tennis courts for them to run around in. It's a shame that access to Sky TV has been removed (other than Sky News and a couple of random channels), but this is Sky's doing, and not the fault of Baia da Luz. I was aware of this and took the Apple TV for once the wee one was in bed but the internet speed meant that downloading a film was not really an option, but it wasn't really a hardship having warm evenings to enjoy the great views from the balcony. Parking for rental cars is not a problem, with underground parking to keep the cars cool during the day.

The beach in Luz is great, with lots of activities and places to eat and drink; There are three supermarkets in the village (Supermercado Antonio had the freshest fruit and veg while we were there, but Spar has everything you would need). Lots of great places to go off exploring to along the coast with secluded beaches and turquoise seas being the norm around this region.

We will be heading back to Baia da Luz in the future.

Room Tip: The 1 bed apartment we stayed in last year had a pull out sofa bed so will sleep 4 adults; we stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Evierosesdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Just returned from this fab hotel, to say the apartment was amazing is an understatement, lovely furniture, quite modern, kitchen is beautiful, we had 2 bedrooms with more then enough wardrobe space, 2 bathrooms one an en suite spotless! We also had the ground floor apartment which had a nice patio area with table and chairs plus 2 loungers, a well kept garden which ran all the way around the building for our own use, kids were extremely happy to have outside space. Not far to walk to the supermarkets or the beach, lots of hills so if you have a pushchair make sure the hubby gets to push it! All apartments have a gated security entrance and I noticed cctv in the stairwells too. All apartments have electric shutters so in the evening when it is still light and when like me you have 3 children who go to bed early and you need the room in darkness its quick and easy to just close it.
The few pointers which I think wern't perfect for me was the tv for one, not many people bother with tv on holiday but my kids couldn't stay out all day every day on our holiday as it got very very hot out and the youngest who's 2 likes to snuggle on the sofa to watch tv, unfortunately MOST of the channels wern't functioning, you get sky 145 up some and the odd music channel. Also once they were asleep (by 7) me and hubby had nothing to do/watch. They do however have a dvd player so if like me you have children going with you id recommend you take a few of their favourite dvds with you.
There was a selection of books in the apartment if you did somehow get very bored, and in the kitchen you get a cookers, oven, microwave, washing machine, tumble dryer, dishwasher and lots of cutlery and pans, although I think a few smaller pans would be useful it was like cooking in a restaurant with massive pots!
Our block was situated near the reception and the pools were a 2 min walk into the other block and again its coded and gated so keep hold of your number.
There was a few occasions that cleaners came and it wasn't great timing as I was trying to put my youngest to bed etc in the early evening but they were kind enough to come back again another day.
Reception staff were helpful although initially when I booked months in advance I did ask for an earlier check in as I knew we would arrive by 9am and a late check out as our flight home was late at night, we couldn't check in early like id hoped but they were kind enough to keep hold of our luggage and store it safely in a room till check in. Check in is at 4pm and check out is at 10! We were allowed to stay in our apartment until 1 on this occasion as know one had booked our room at that time.
Id say PERFECT for couples or people with older children, not so great for young toddlers, was petrified he would break something or ruin something so was always worrying about what he was playing with or what cupboard he was opening in and going through!

Beautiful village, our 2nd time there, last year we stayed down the road. We love Portugal, with lovely beaches, lagos 15 mins bus ride away from right near hotel 1.60each person, or cab ride which I think was 12euros!

Room Tip: ground floor lovely and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manicmummyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Vila Baia is located in a peaceful area of Luz and just a very short walk from the beautiful beach and restaurants. Our party were allocated poolside apartments which I can honestly say are the best holiday apartments we have ever stayed in.

Our apartments were on 2 levels and consisted of an open plan kitchen/diner and living area, 2 balconies, a huge upstairs bedroom with separate living space, bathroom, FREE air conditioning, under floor heating, electric window shutters, hair drier, dishwasher, washing machine. They also provided milk, tea, coffee, water and dishwasher tablets to last your first day.

There is a separate swimming pool for adults which was nice and relaxing. The childrens pool is closeby.

Hotel staff were great, really pleasant and chatty.

Restaurant is well worth a visit too. Try the goats cheese bruchette, to die for!

Places to visit- Burgau is about 3 miles away. Has better restaurants and lots or character and lovely beach.

Will def be going back! By far the best place in Luz and we have stayed in many.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank nettie1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Just back (July) from here. Family holiday. Great place for young families.
Staff in the pool bar/restaurant really nice. Apartments big and modern. Beach less than a 5 min walk.
Luz itself quite but recon that changes later in the summer. Lagos is only 10 mins car journey down the road.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Raynug8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Amazing apartment block in a lovely village. Plusses,milk & water in fridge on arrival,also coffee & tea. Washing powder & dish washer tabs (3 of each, so bring more if you need more), shampoo, shower gel and conditioner (enough for 2 washes in each bathroom), free wifi (router in the room, 5 appliances max 90 min log out). Sky tv (not sure if this would work, but maybe, if you brought your own sky card with you, you'd get your sky tv?) Supermarket closes at 8 spar at 9. On site resturant closed on Tuesday. Adult pool very cold ( as is sea) But attendants very good. Towels were removed from sunbeds if not observed to be used in a one hour period. Brilliant, no more reserving you bed, that you are going to use for one hour late afternoon!! Window shutters/blinds brilliant, my hubby slept in till 10am first day, which is unheard of! Minus - 10am check out :( Fantastic place/ amazing time, so want to come back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Pleasant stay in comfortable well equipped apartment. Garden areas and pools are well maintained with a lovely toddlers pool and little play area. Restaurant good with helpful pleasant staff. Apartments within short stroll of shops, restaurants and the beach.

Downside . Checkout time is 10:00 a.m and staff said that a late checkout was not available as the apartments were fully booked at this time. We were however advised that we were able to use the pool and changing facilities until our departure time at mid afternoon. The pool side lavatory and shower area is very spacious but with no dry area to change or lay clothes or towels.Not a peg in sight to hang a towel and as the floor was newly washed even that was not an option. Perhaps the management would consider seats and couple of changing cubicles with a few pegs. An inexpensive addition which would add to the excellent facilities which are already available.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iain a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luz
12.9 mi away
Sagres Time Apartamentos
13 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
19.1 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11 mi away
Tivoli Marina Portimao
Tivoli Marina Portimao
#5 of 76 in Portimao
2,310 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Belavista da Luz
12.7 mi away
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
#3 of 10 in Sagres
1,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baia da Luz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baia da Luz

Address: Rua Alfredo do Nascimento Baptista | Lote 35, R/C - Urb. Da luz, Luz 8600-152, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Luz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Luz
Price Range: £54 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Baia da Luz 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Alpha Holidays Limited, Agoda, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Baia da Luz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing