We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Property, shop around for deals”
Review of Hotel Baia da Luz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Baia da Luz
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Luz
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great Property, shop around for deals”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Luz is a great little chilled out Portugese town just outside Lagos on the Algarve and this property was also a great spot. Pool area etc. very clean, easy to get sunlounges, great tennis courts.

Apartment was also very well equipped and spotless/new.

Tip: Shop around the internet for deals (including on TA). There are lots of private apartments for rent that are a lot cheaper than the rates quoted on the hotel's own website.

The one downside - the WiFi was terrible...apparently it's a problem in the whole area but it was really really really slow. We heard it is expected to be fixed Feb 2015.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank northern_rusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    345
    105
    17
    5
    1
See reviews for
242
159
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

just perfect secure complex of apartments with well kept pool and tennis courts only four minutes walk down to the beach and restaurants over looking the bay.parking on site,bikes available for hire,and Italian restaurant on complex

Room Tip: worth the extra for a poolside apartment and the one bedroomed are huge with lovely balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed here just under a week. The apartment is so new and really clean with supply's like dishwasher tables, water and milk.

Its 5 minutes to the beach, and small town where beer is cheap and great choice of places to eat. The hotel bar and Italian are also wonderful. Staff are so happy and cheerful. (This includes the charming manager)

It's so lovely we are planning our next trip for next year.
Thanks to you all. T&K

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Palmers1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed in July for 8 nights in a spacious 140 m apartment. It was our first experience of staying in an apartment (not a hotel) during vacation and we loved it. Nice place, excellent beach, quick access to reastaurants and shops. Quiet and cosy at the same time. The complex itself is very well maintained and has everything you would need. The only minor drawback is slow WiFi.
Would highly recommend it and would come back with pleasure.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nataliya1407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co Clare
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stayed here in June for a week with 3 children (8, 6 and 3). We had a 3 bed apartment which was absolutely perfect, tonnes of space, nicely furnished, flat screen TV, huge terrace for al fresco dining and all spotlessly clean. Located in a nice quiet part of Praia da Luz but only a short stroll into the village. Grounds are well maintained and again very clean, kids pool has lovely little playground beside it and the main pool is right beside the kids pool, handy if travelling with different age groups. Complex also has an adult only pool for those without kids. The only and very minor downside was the larger 3 bed apt were located outside the complex itself, but only a short walk up a hill so wasn't an issue. Alloro restaurant on-site was the best we found Praia da Luz, again the staff/service was top notch, brilliant with kids, had lovely fresh fish daily and a nice varied menu.They also do a great take away menu if you felt like eating at home. Hard to fault this place, would highly recommend and will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SKEA1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
205 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

 
We have just returned from an apartment here and it was fantastic. It's spacious and comfortable in a great spot and with good facilities. The pool area is lovely but there's not a lot of shade so get up early (no sunbed saving allowed!) the food in the bar was also very nice. It's only a few minutes to the beach, shops etc and the whole resort is clean and pleasant if a bit quiet. We had a couple of days out along the coast and some lovely meals out. All in all it was great, the only minor issues we had were that the internet spped was a bit slow and one day it rained so we put the tv on but you can only watch it of you take a SKY card or speak Portugese!

Room Tip: The apartments are in different blocks, some away from the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawnmc19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The facilities in the apartment are outstanding, with the only exception being the speed of the internet access through wifi (but the wifi is free, so shouldn't really complain!). The washing machine/iron mean you don't have to pack a lot of clothes as they dry overnight and the cooking facilities are superb (everything you would need from knives to pans and cupboards full of glasses/cups and crockery, and more importantly a bottle opener and corkscrew!). The dishwasher also cuts down on the clearing up. The staff are very friendly and happy to help, the pool and bar are great and the place is very well set up for young children with a baby/toddler pool, a playground and tennis courts for them to run around in. It's a shame that access to Sky TV has been removed (other than Sky News and a couple of random channels), but this is Sky's doing, and not the fault of Baia da Luz. I was aware of this and took the Apple TV for once the wee one was in bed but the internet speed meant that downloading a film was not really an option, but it wasn't really a hardship having warm evenings to enjoy the great views from the balcony. Parking for rental cars is not a problem, with underground parking to keep the cars cool during the day.

The beach in Luz is great, with lots of activities and places to eat and drink; There are three supermarkets in the village (Supermercado Antonio had the freshest fruit and veg while we were there, but Spar has everything you would need). Lots of great places to go off exploring to along the coast with secluded beaches and turquoise seas being the norm around this region.

We will be heading back to Baia da Luz in the future.

Room Tip: The 1 bed apartment we stayed in last year had a pull out sofa bed so will sleep 4 adults; we stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Evierosesdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luz
12.9 mi away
Sagres Time Apartamentos
19.1 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
13.0 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 50 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
2.9 mi away
Villas D. Dinis
Villas D. Dinis
#2 of 50 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baia da Luz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baia da Luz

Property: Hotel Baia da Luz
Address: Rua Alfredo do Nascimento Baptista | Lote 35, R/C - Urb. Da luz, Luz 8600-152, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Luz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Luz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Baia da Luz 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Baia da Luz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing