We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pizzeria da luz at TheOcean Club” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Luz Ocean Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Luz Ocean Club
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Luz
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pizzeria da luz at TheOcean Club”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

We didn't stay at The Ocean Club as we have our own villa in Luz but decided to try the Pizzeria one night for supper.

This has to be the worst meal we have ever had in Luz - we have been coming for the past 12 years. The garlic bread we had to start was more like garlic biscuit. We ordered 3 pizzas which were all very poor - the bases were very hard and really not acceptable.

Pizza Real near the seafront and Pannini in the main street are a million times better. We live and learn as they say and we definitely will not be returning here again - a huge disappointment especially given the lovely setting.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gill E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    57
    30
    14
    11
See reviews for
115
38
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

The apartments within this complex are privately owned and obviously rented out to Mark Warner and Thomas Cook. We stayed in a 1 bed apartment which was billed as 4* in the Thomas Cook brochure. The apartment itself was very basic and dated, especially in the bathroom where there were hooks hanging off the walls. Simple things like lightbulbs were gone in every room and by the end of the holiday there were no lights left in the living room at all! Reading through the information we got from reception when we checked in, rooms got cleaned every other day, towels changed every 4 days and bedding changed once a week. For a four star I would have expected this every day as we have previously had in 3*! I resorted to washing the towels myself in the apartment! At home I checked on the hotels website and in the brochure for facilities in the apartment. We were supposed to have a hairdryer and a fan in the room (which we found out half way through the holiday!) We arrived on the Saturday and asked for a hairdryer on Monday morning. I was told that housekeeping would drop it off that afternoon. This did not happen. I went back down on Tuesday to be told it would again be dropped of that afternoon. Again it was not. I went to see another person on the reception by the pool who phoned down. They then said to her that as it is peak season they didn’t have any left but would buy one and have it first thing in the morning for me. Again, they did not and I had to return to reception that afternoon. As I was down there, there was another guest asking for a second fan in their room as it was so hot. I then asked where our first fan was, especially as we had a baby in the apartment. The man on reception was very rude, saying it is peak season, I cannot give you what we haven’t got! At this point I contacted the resort office, who subsequently contacted the hotel reception. They blatantly lied to them saying that they had already dropped them off that morning. The lady pleasantly returned my call and explained this, to be told that I was sitting in my apartment and they had not. She got back onto the reception of the hotel who delivered it within 15 minutes of the phone call.

Also, when we arrived at the hotel we were told that the cot had to be paid for locally (20 Euros) which was not made clear at booking. Checking on the Thomas Cook website whilst we were away, this was not stated on there either, however the resort office said it was in the small print in the brochure.

The facilities in the complex, however, were excellent and the staff very friendly and helpful (excluding reception staff). Although their were complaints on here that the restaurant was a 15 minute walk away, it didn’t seem as long as that and the food was lovely when we got there. There was a small children’s pool which my 18 month old daughter loved, with toys provided and a small playground.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bow961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

As a family we have just enjoyed a very relaxing week at the Ocean View Club in Luz. We travelled with Mark Warner and found the unusual combination of a large self catering 2 bedroom flat with half board and hotel faciliities suited us well. Ocean View seems to consist of a large number of flats within Luz village with 3 communal pools scattered about and a central area called the Mill for the bar , restaurant and central services
Our apartment was large and well appointed with 2 bathrooms , a terrace with dining area and views of the sea, and a well equipped kitchen. It worked well to have our lunches on the terrace and it was easy to buy supplies from the local supermarkets.
The beach in Luz is lovely and child friendly , sandy with rockpools at either end and a nice promenade. It reminded us of a Cornish cove with better weather. A sun umbrella is essential in August. The sea when we were there was freezing , and the Atlantic is a very different temperature from the Med. Beach Hut Sports were good for a dolphin watching trip and kayak hire.

We enjoyed the food at the Mill Restaurant - it was a bit like a ski chalet set up, good quality menus and interesting dinner party type cuisine and enthusiastic and pleasant young UK staff.. The early children's teas and creche in the evening worked well for us.The only negative was the fish choices were not usually fresh and some more local options would have been welcome.
The children's pools were busy and popular- the adult only pool was very quiet and a welcome oasis of calm and relaxation.
We enjoyed the tennis and the mountainbiking on offer with Mark Warner and also coastal walks. A great and peaceful resort .

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

Just returned from 2 weeks at the Ocean Club Mark Warner Resort in Luz, Portugal.

The kids clubs provided for our children were excellent. The staff were attentive and caring and our children loved it, giving us a great rest. They asked us each day when they could go again, had great fun and made great friends.

However, unfortunately all other aspects of the holidays were quite poor and unacceptable.

Breakfast was of very poor quality and often ran out. The toasters were invariably broken and croissants not available etc.

Lunch was awful and on several occassions we waited well over an hour for a tasteless limp salad.

The children's buffet was despicable and though you were told it was served between 5.30 and
6 pm, on often there was nothing left by 5.45 pm.

The quality of the food at dinner was much better but you would wait at least an hour between courses and there was very little professionalism.

Basically, this (very tired) resort is run by a group gap year students working long shifts for little money. They are very pleasant students but in severe need of support and training, no proffessionalism. The resort manager is hardly ever to be seen.

Our flight was delayed by 9 hours on the way out, the flight was so budget it was not a pleasant experience, and Mark Warner could not have cared less that we experienced such a huge delay.

The childcare is so superb that it is such a shame that Warner have it so wrong with the rest of the holiday. It is shocking that they can get away with serving the food they do and using such an awful airline considering the cost of the break.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

We just spent a week here,we booked with Thomas Cook on a half board basis the apartment was modern with everything provided eg hairdryer & iron etc, & we had our own pool ,the service at reception was good especially from Elubius nothing was too much for him.The beach was gorgeous & the sea really was a glorious blue,there are many many restaurants & bars to choose from,the Valentino was good & reasonably priced,the Bull pub is an Irish pub & served food,we ate here but the food wasn't worth the price.We went to Lagos which is wonderful with a lovely mariner ,lots of shops & bars/restaurants,the street entertainers do well.We went out in the ocean on a trip to see the dolphins which we really enjoyed,we were warned there were sharks in the area with an orca whale too,to get to Lagos you can get a spotlessly clean bus with air condition for 1.60 euro well worth it.There's 2 things that we must add,please do NOT go half board here,the food was bland & at the al carte portions couldn't feed a mouse,breakfast wasn't too bad but the evening meal was a definite let down,we ended up eating out at the numerous cafes,bistros & restaurants,secondly Thomas Cook adviced us to use the cash passport,but please avoid this,we coulsdn't use it,the atm wouldn't accept it & the shops wouldn't either,we had to get in touch with TC & they had to transfer our money by western union into the local post office,never again.But overall it was a lovely holiday & will definately return.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mummytays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

Just back from a week at Ocean Club Luz, and the holiday was a mixed bag:

Lovely apartment - privately owned and then rented out to MW (I assume) - v well equipped, spacious, clean and obviously a place the owners themselves use so everything in excellent condition. Block 04-01 (not sure how else to identify it, but it was a 5 minute walk to The Mill)

Food - as noted below, not really satsifactory. The Mill often ran out of quite basic things, and the later the dinner slot, the smaller the portions! Agree that the resort is staffed by young gap year students just earning some cash in the sun.

Kids clubs - fine, well equipped and the boys had fun.

Flights - shocking. Have now complained twice to MW about their policy of using the cheapest airline going. Never mind 'no frills' - these planes wouldn't know a frill if it was wrapped round the entire thing and tied in a bow!! Dumped by MW at the airport at 8am when they knew the night before that the flight was delayed. Although not quite as ramshackle as Kos, Faro airport is not somewhere to spend 9 hours with 2 young children. MW not interested at all.

Luz is a nice enough resort, but you can probably arrange your own flights & apartments and not really have to bother with a package
(if you like swimming in the sea...it's the Atlantic, so freezing!)

Room Tip: Ground floor gives suitable buggy access and you still get a balcony as it's on a hill
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

Just returned from a 2 week holiday at Ocean Club Luz, resort is absolutely beautiful and the swimming pools are fantastic, I especially enjoyed the Adult Only pool and Didi who runs this area was always very welcoming and accommodating as are all of the staff at the resort very very helpful especially the girls in Customer Care. Totally agree that the Lithuanian airline is awful with the huge delays but this was no fault whatsoever of the team at the resort who had no alternative but to take returning guests to the airport for normal checking in time and then had to wait themselves in the airport for the new guests to arrive so think its a bit unfair of one of the reviews to say the staff at Mark Warner didnt seem to care as it was situation out of their hands. I would definitely recommend a day trip to Zoomarine cost 27 euros plus 8 euros transport and was an absolutely fantastic day out, with 5 different animal/bird shows which were excellent, a small water park, swimming pools and the chance to swim with dolphins which I did and was one of the most beautiful experiences of my life. I would most definitely return to Ocean Club Luz.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fran070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luz hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baia da Luz
0.2 mi away
Hotel Luz Bay
Hotel Luz Bay
#8 of 8 in Luz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quinta Do Mar Da Luz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belavista da Luz
0.9 mi away
Luzmar Villas
Luzmar Villas
#5 of 8 in Luz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Estrela da Luz
Estrela da Luz
#2 of 8 in Luz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luz Ocean Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luz Ocean Club

Property: Luz Ocean Club
Address: Praia da Luz | Vila da Luz, Luz 8600-160, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Luz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Luz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Luz Ocean Club 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Luz Ocean Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luz Ocean Club Hotel Luz
Ocean Club Portugal
Luz Ocean Hotel
Luz Ocean Resort
Ocean Club Apartments
Ocean Club Praia Da Luz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing