We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pizzeria da Luz..”
Review of Luz Ocean Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Luz Ocean Club
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Luz
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pizzeria da Luz..”
Reviewed 11 November 2012

After a self catering holiday with thomas cook for a week we found the Pizzeria da Luz, a great restaurant to eat at. for starters the garlic bread was amazing best i've had in ages and big enough to share for 3 people. for mains the pizza's we to a great standard, the same for the chicken and bacon salad as well. all in all the food here was great and would be more than happy to eat here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank toplad121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    60
    32
    14
    12
See reviews for
119
41
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Mull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We stayed in the Palm Bay part of Ocean Club in July and had a great family holiday. On arrival we were allocated a beautiful apartment which exceded our expectations. It was a ground floor apartment with a garden, 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, a large kitchen dining area and a sitting room. It was clean and was serviced regularly. The pool areas were lovely and perfect for the children. Staff were friendly ad helped us to book to outings one to Splash and Slide and the other to Zoomarine. Both were great fun and worth doing.
We ate out a few times and enjoyed the pizzeria on site. We also tried restaurants along the front and were not disappointed. Extra tip - I had a haircut at the Victor Ricardo Salon just along from the Palm Bay reception and was really pleased.
We hope to book again next year.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank countingdays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

My family and I have just returned from 10 days in Praia da Luz where we stayed in an apartment in the Ocean Club resort. The apartment was perfect, clean, fresh, bright, spacious, everything you need in an accommodation, a home from home. The pool area again was clean and spacious with the water perfect. The childrens area around the pool was a wash with toys for the little ones and was secured by a locking gate, just incase you take your eye off them for one minute they can't walk over to the main pool. However, the price of the food and drinks from the bar area were far too high, 2 euros for a can of pop, 9 euros for a burger and chips. My advice, take food and drink with you unless you don't mind paying over the odds. There are plenty of supermarkets and little cafes around the villiage which are excellent on food, service and price should you wish to venture out. In all a perfect setting for a holiday and we'll be returning again soon

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank BobBev_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HATFIELD
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Just returned from the Ocean Club which we booked with Mark Warner as had our toddler with us. The kids club was great and we took advantage of this every day by spending 3 hours in peace by the adult pool. Had to eat out every night as Mark Warner would not tell you what the evening menu was until much later in the afternoon and as it was quite a walk back to the Mill restaurant it was just easier to eat out than risk it! We did try the BBQ on our first day for lunch and it was bland to say the least. Lunchtime menu which you paid extra for too was not up to scratch; both expensive, very limited choice and not well cooked. Breakfasts were fine. Despite the food, the resort itself was nice although the swimming pools were freezing as none are heated. Our apartment was nice, bigger than expected but so noisy! Doors slamming every night with people leaving and arriving. Luz itself is lovely and we are are lucky enough not to have to worry about the cost of eating out. We made the most of this holiday with great weather and time away from work. Not sure if I'd book with Mark Warner again as don't think we got the value.....And lastly - the airline - OMG !!! We were lucky enough not to be delayed as others have but shabby, smelly aircraft with awful flight times. Certainly made you appreciate being back on the ground when landed.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KatathaniHatfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Just returned from ocean club (where we were on a self catering package) having had a great family holiday. The apartment was excellent as were the pool, staff etc.
We ate out every evening. The restaurants in Luz are ok, but pricey for what they were, but a 1.60 euro bus ride to Lagos gives you a much bigger, better, less costly alternative.
all in all a great time had by my wife & I & our 2 kids (14 & 11)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neil g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012 via mobile

We booked direct with Ocean Club having read the reviews on here and flew with Easy Jet, paying less than half what we would have done with Mark Warner for the fortnight and boy are we glad we did! The appartment was fine, very spacious 3 bedroom, a bit tired living areas but with excellent brand new bathrooms and satellite TV for keeping up with the Olympics on BBC! The bar and restaurant by the pool, where the MW half board guests were tied to eating was shocking! As someone has already said, run by kids who were lovely but were in need of a damn good manager to crack the whip. We only ate dinner in there on the first night and would have been gutted if we had to eat there every night! The service for lunch was sloth-like! But they did give us a free round of drinks on one occasion to compensate. Unfortunately we had my wife's purse stolen from the bag by the pool, the security left something to be desired, we were never asked for our cards to show we were guests. Overall the pool areas and tennis courts etc were great and we didn't miss them not being in kids clubs. The beach is lovely and there were some great places to eat. We'd go back to Luz but not sure if we'd use the Ocean Club again? Some of the other 4 star appartment resorts around the town looked much more the ticket!

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Duncan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We didn't stay at The Ocean Club as we have our own villa in Luz but decided to try the Pizzeria one night for supper.

This has to be the worst meal we have ever had in Luz - we have been coming for the past 12 years. The garlic bread we had to start was more like garlic biscuit. We ordered 3 pizzas which were all very poor - the bases were very hard and really not acceptable.

Pizza Real near the seafront and Pannini in the main street are a million times better. We live and learn as they say and we definitely will not be returning here again - a huge disappointment especially given the lovely setting.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gill E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luz
0.7 mi away
Hotel Baia da Luz
0.4 mi away
Hotel Belavista da Luz
0.3 mi away
Vilamar Hotel
Vilamar Hotel
#6 of 8 in Luz
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel Luz Bay
Hotel Luz Bay
#8 of 8 in Luz
272 reviews
1.3 mi away
Quinta Do Mar Da Luz
3.6 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 50 in Lagos
3,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luz Ocean Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luz Ocean Club

Property: Luz Ocean Club
Address: Praia da Luz | Vila da Luz, Luz 8600-160, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Luz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Luz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Luz Ocean Club 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Luz Ocean Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luz Ocean Club Hotel Luz
Ocean Club Portugal
Luz Ocean Hotel
Luz Ocean Resort
Ocean Club Apartments
Ocean Club Praia Da Luz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing