We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jun13 Fab Holiday” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Luz Ocean Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Luz Ocean Club
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Luz
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Jun13 Fab Holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

On arrival the staff are welcoming, friendly and attentive which was consistent through out the stay! The food was superb, a good choice at breakfast, and the evening meals were both plentiful and delicious! The resort is not a complex, has different areas spread around the village, but all within easy walking distance of each other once you get to know it!
The bike rides and walks are a great way of exploring the local areas with some lovely scenic views!

Note: some rooms do/don't have safe boxes, You will need to bring beach towel.
The sea is the atlantic ocean so VERY cold!!
If you want to book tennis best to pay for it before arrival as the prices in resort are more expensive! But of course the don't tell you that.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrissieLaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    57
    30
    14
    11
See reviews for
115
38
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

Party of six stayed in 3 bed villa for three weeks in April! Very quiet lovely little town! Beautiful beach and some nice restaurants! We were lucky with weather great for couple of weeks then that Algarve wind! Great time of year for birds, Stork nesting next to pool! Fabulous spring flowers! Ocean club is split into three separate areas in Praia! All within easy reach of beach! Would go back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gail P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012

We came with Mark Warner in mid October as part of a large family group (children, parents, grandparents, aunts) and had an excellent holiday. it was extreme low season, because it was the Scottish but not English half term. This meant that as a couple we got sole use of a superb 2-bedroom apartment, immaculate, spacious and comfortable. The Mark Warner staff were hanging on till the English half term at the end of the month. We liked them and the kids loved the kids club (not a foregone conclusion). The food was always interesting and often very good. The resort is low rise and attractive, with a good beach. Nice cliff walks in each direction. The October weather was getting cooler, but it was a pleasant daytime temperature with only one day of rain. It was a culture shock to be overseas in such a predominantly English resort. The Mark Warner package is very much geared to the kids club, with tennis or watersports as extras, but we got a good holiday out of it.

Room Tip: The apartments in the street just below the Mill restaurant are lovely, and convenient for the meals...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Westwinds3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012

After a self catering holiday with thomas cook for a week we found the Pizzeria da Luz, a great restaurant to eat at. for starters the garlic bread was amazing best i've had in ages and big enough to share for 3 people. for mains the pizza's we to a great standard, the same for the chicken and bacon salad as well. all in all the food here was great and would be more than happy to eat here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank toplad121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Mull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

We stayed in the Palm Bay part of Ocean Club in July and had a great family holiday. On arrival we were allocated a beautiful apartment which exceded our expectations. It was a ground floor apartment with a garden, 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, a large kitchen dining area and a sitting room. It was clean and was serviced regularly. The pool areas were lovely and perfect for the children. Staff were friendly ad helped us to book to outings one to Splash and Slide and the other to Zoomarine. Both were great fun and worth doing.
We ate out a few times and enjoyed the pizzeria on site. We also tried restaurants along the front and were not disappointed. Extra tip - I had a haircut at the Victor Ricardo Salon just along from the Palm Bay reception and was really pleased.
We hope to book again next year.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank countingdays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

My family and I have just returned from 10 days in Praia da Luz where we stayed in an apartment in the Ocean Club resort. The apartment was perfect, clean, fresh, bright, spacious, everything you need in an accommodation, a home from home. The pool area again was clean and spacious with the water perfect. The childrens area around the pool was a wash with toys for the little ones and was secured by a locking gate, just incase you take your eye off them for one minute they can't walk over to the main pool. However, the price of the food and drinks from the bar area were far too high, 2 euros for a can of pop, 9 euros for a burger and chips. My advice, take food and drink with you unless you don't mind paying over the odds. There are plenty of supermarkets and little cafes around the villiage which are excellent on food, service and price should you wish to venture out. In all a perfect setting for a holiday and we'll be returning again soon

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank BobBev_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HATFIELD
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

Just returned from the Ocean Club which we booked with Mark Warner as had our toddler with us. The kids club was great and we took advantage of this every day by spending 3 hours in peace by the adult pool. Had to eat out every night as Mark Warner would not tell you what the evening menu was until much later in the afternoon and as it was quite a walk back to the Mill restaurant it was just easier to eat out than risk it! We did try the BBQ on our first day for lunch and it was bland to say the least. Lunchtime menu which you paid extra for too was not up to scratch; both expensive, very limited choice and not well cooked. Breakfasts were fine. Despite the food, the resort itself was nice although the swimming pools were freezing as none are heated. Our apartment was nice, bigger than expected but so noisy! Doors slamming every night with people leaving and arriving. Luz itself is lovely and we are are lucky enough not to have to worry about the cost of eating out. We made the most of this holiday with great weather and time away from work. Not sure if I'd book with Mark Warner again as don't think we got the value.....And lastly - the airline - OMG !!! We were lucky enough not to be delayed as others have but shabby, smelly aircraft with awful flight times. Certainly made you appreciate being back on the ground when landed.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KatathaniHatfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luz hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baia da Luz
0.2 mi away
Hotel Luz Bay
Hotel Luz Bay
#8 of 8 in Luz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quinta Do Mar Da Luz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belavista da Luz
0.9 mi away
Luzmar Villas
Luzmar Villas
#5 of 8 in Luz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Estrela da Luz
Estrela da Luz
#2 of 8 in Luz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luz Ocean Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luz Ocean Club

Property: Luz Ocean Club
Address: Praia da Luz | Vila da Luz, Luz 8600-160, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Luz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Luz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Luz Ocean Club 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Luz Ocean Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luz Ocean Club Hotel Luz
Ocean Club Portugal
Luz Ocean Hotel
Luz Ocean Resort
Ocean Club Apartments
Ocean Club Praia Da Luz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing