We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic family holiday”
Review of Luz Ocean Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Luz Ocean Club
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Luz
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Fantastic family holiday”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Have just had an amazing family holiday here.
Staff very helpful, apartment more then expected, we had a garden room, 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, 2 living areas and a fully equipped kitchen with cooker, fridge freezer and a washine machine also patio area in the garden all to ourselves (with a view of the sea).
The apartment itself could do with updating, the furniture old and worn, sofa needed a good clean too! And beds were not very comfortable but with all the walking and activities there were no problems drifting off to sleep!

A trip to Lagos for shopping will cost approx. 12 euros give or a take a euro depending on which route you go, fab shops, mini markets and stalls. Some lovely places to eat there and in Praia da Luz itself (check out Jakes near the church) fab homely grub if your missing a English food.

We took a trip to Zoo marine, not recommended if you have very small children as the coach takes ages to get there, we left at 8:20, got there at 12ish and was back on the coach for 5:30 was long drawn out day and with 3 children it was a bit much! Also took a boat trip from the Lagos marina with Days of Adventure, we went out to sea, saw dolphins swimming and jumping was lovely (aside from the sea sickness) it was a very bumpy boat ride as there were storms out at sea and if you get ill take some tablets or something otherwise youl spend a lot of time at the back of the boat looking into the toilet!!

The beach was 10 mins walk down hill from the apartment, lovely sandy well kept beaches best iv ever seen, and the pools available with the ocean club were situated in a different part of the resort around the corner and up a hill about 10 mins walk (please beware of the hills, heels not recommended on this holiday!) The pools were clean, baby pool safe and gated off area with some toys to occupy toddlers too, lots of loungers and some shaded areas.

Supermarkets located almost everywhere if like us you choose self catering (glad we did) most staff in shops can speak English, and fresh fruit, veg and meats are available in large quantities, also products from England are available like chocolate and cola etc but these do cost more.

All in all a fantastic holiday, already know were going back again soon. Cant fault it not one bit!!

Room Tip: Garden view room great if you have children, they can sit in the garden and play as its enclosed and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manicmummyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    61
    33
    14
    12
See reviews for
120
41
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

On our first visit to Portugal we were very impressed by what we seen of the country. It is a fabulous place to go as a family. Everywhere you go children are catered for and the hospitality of not just the locals but the British workers as well made every visit to a restaurant, pub, water park, ice cream shop so simple and hassle free. We have no complaints from the 2 weeks we spent in the Algarve.

The Ocean Club resort is extremely well located with pools, supermarket, beach, bus stop, pubs etc all within a short walk. Some of the restaurants were just first class and well worth attending, especially Chicca's. Just go and see for yourself! The Dolphin eatery requires a reservation due to the demand for a table due to the hosts hospitality and first class food quality.

From the airport we shared a coach with a family of 5 to the resort which was only 50mins away. On arrival at reception (at lunchtime) we checked in made our way to the apartment and could not believe our luck when we entered. We had been allocated a ground floor apartment with two double bedrooms, full kitchen, dining area, lounge, two balconies and a huge terrace area that lead straight out onto a landscaped shared garden. Oh and there was a big BBQ as well!!!

Top Tip: Make sure you book a hire car in advance if you are on holiday at peak times. Car hire is extremely popular.

Portugal is a great place and we cannot wait to go back. Enjoy.......

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor. All rooms have sea views anyway so go for the garden space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I was nervous before going abroad for the first time since having my youngest four children. I needn't have been. They had a wonderful time at the kids clubs with enthusiastic, professional nannies. I was delighted and my husband and I really enjoyed our tennis lessons with Jake, and our time by the adult-only pool. It was bliss.
There aren't many teenagers due to the lack of inclusive watersports, but our 16 year old still made friends and had a nice time. Our 12 year old also made new friends and happily went to the Kidz club for her age group.
Our little ones enjoyed "film club" (the evening crèche) which we used on several nights, but not all of them, just because they ended up rather tired the next day.
I was very impressed at the enthusiasm and friendliness of the staff. They were all young, but 95% of them had excellent attitudes and were very keen to help.
We will go back!!
Also have to mention the excellent size of our three bed apartment, with two large bathrooms, a fully equipped kitchen (washing machine, dishwasher, cooker), air con throughout - it really was an excellent size, clean and modern.

Room Tip: If you have young children, ask for an apartment near the Mill, as most things are based there. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

I don't understand a couple of the previous reviews? We're they at the same place? I saw one broken plant pot that was still in one piece and not dangerous. Other than that everything was great - the food, the MW staff, the accommodation and the pools. The children looked like they were having a ball. It was also very hot, and those 20year old restaurant staff worked very hard and still managed to make us feel part of the family.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 9628andrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chepstow, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Lovely apartment, excellent flight by easy jet and good airport transfer. However, the whole holiday was spoiled by the appalling restaurant which was definitely not 4 star. It was not helped by the fact that every evening there was a cold wind and we didn't have any hot food all week apart from the Bar-b-q night which was excellent. (probably because the food was cooked in front of us and we served ourselves rather than waiting for the very nice but extremely slow serving staff). For example, one evening we all had mushroom soup which was served luke warm, My son then ordered pasta of the day as his main course which turned out to be pasta with the very same mushroom soup poured over it!!! Several nights we had blankets around our shoulders because it was so cold and we had to chase our serviettes which kept being blown away. Clearly the wind was not unusual, so why was better shelter not provided? We couldn't face spoiling our last day by going to the restaurant so we ate out and had a lovely meal. Completely spoiled what otherwise was a good holiday. We booked with Thomas Cook.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deborah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We booked through Thomas Cook for a 10 night stay at the Ocean Club.
We were a little bit worried about the advertised 2 1/2 hour transfer but fortunately for us we were the only family on our flight going to the resort, so had our own personal mini bus and the driver took the toll roads and we were checking in after a transfer of only 1 hour 20 minutes.
On arrival we found the reception staff to be very polite and welcoming, we were then taken to our apartment, which although very spacious with loads of storage, was in desperate need of updating and some TLC! We encountered 3 minor issues on our first day, we rang reception and within the hour the issues were resolved (ants in the bedroom, broken camp bed and one set of towels down). On another occasion, as we were ground floor, some inconsiderate occupants two floors up decided instead of using an ashtray that they would just flick their butts over the balcony, scorching one hotel towel and one of my tops.Thank goodness it didn't start a fire! Again the hotel staff were onto it straight away and no more raining cigarette ends! The towels were only changed twice and we only had maid service twice too which basically consisted of emptying the bins and a quick sweep/ mop, no fresh bedding either.
We were in the Garden apartments, which is next to the Pizzeria restaurant and pool. This is an ideal location to be in, you do have about a 10 minute walk to the Mill, we found the walk great for working up an appetite and again the walk after great for walking off the extra croissant or dessert ;) the pool at the Pizzeria is lovely and we always managed to get sunbeds for all of us. We only went once to the family pool up at the Mill, it was lovely too, a lot bigger, we just preferred to stay closer to our apartment. Don't let the map the Ocean Club give you confuse you! You will soon find your bearings if you just have a mooch about.
The beach and resort centre are a short 10 minute stroll away, it is a very quiet resort and there aren't a huge amount of shops. The beach is lovely and the sunbeds/ shades are very reasonably priced too. There are a few water sports, we used the pedalos and inflatable sofa, these were great fun, you can also hire jet skis and try windsurfing should you wish. I highly recommend a trip into Lagos, it is about 20 minutes on the bus and costs less than 2 euros each, here you will find lots more shops and a fantastic selection of boat trips/ excursions.
There are two supermarkets within a five minute walk of the Garden apartments, with one being just two minutes down from the Pizzeria entrance, there is a Spar just around the corner which we found had a better range of products and was slightly cheaper.
As we were half board we ate at the Mill every night (except Tuesdays as it's closed) and we were pleasantly surprised with the menu and quality. Saturday night is barbeque night, again there is a good selection of good dishes, the paella is especially tasty :) My eldest daughter is a vegetarian and she found it quite a restricted menu for her but the food she had she enjoyed and the desserts were sublime! Breakfasts were also very good, a varied selection to suit all tastes.
The staff have received a bit of a negative rep on trip advisor, yes they are all young, yes they may be inexperienced but on the whole they are a great bunch who we found really helpful and friendly. Hatty is just an angel who makes everything run smoothly, nothing is too much trouble for her and she just takes everything in her stride, she really is a credit to the company! The rest of the team are great too, just treat them with respect and that's what you get back, we had a good laugh with everyone we came across and the staff we met there really did make our holiday a fantastic experience!
Try out the spa facilities, the Swedish full body massage was heaven! Just wish I'd had one at the start of the holiday instead of the end!
In all it was a very quiet family holiday, we did miss the lack of evening entertainment, we did venture out to the Barroca bar and restaurant as we'd heard the karaoke was supposed to be a good laugh, it wasn't all that and we found it very cliquey as was Luz tavern. A lot of people return here year after year and there a lots of ex-pats too so everyone knows everyone else.
As for the Ocean Club, do not expect 4 star, I think all the 'better' apartments are reserved for Mark Warner guests but I wouldn't have changed the location of our apartment just for newer furniture! Its a 3 star at the end of the day with staff who are worked darned hard for their money!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mossysgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

The check in was quick and pleasant the reception staff are all extremely helpful. We booked through Thomas Cook and requested a high floor and that is what we got . A one bed apartment very clean, excellent facilities, satellite TV, washing machine, a kitchen with everything you would need and best of all the most beautiful view. Around the pools it was mainly Mark Warner reps however these guys and gals were all very helpful as were all Ocean Club staff. Pool areas were all very clean and very pleasant all with bars and reasonably priced drinks and food. We did not eat at the pizzeria that is part of The Ocean Club but we saw some people eating and the portions were generous well priced and they all seemed to be enjoying it very much.

Luz is beautiful and we have just returned from the most perfect week at The Ocean Club.

Room Tip: All of the blocks have excellent and easy access to any of the beautiful pools that are part of The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tatoemonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luz
0.7 mi away
Hotel Baia da Luz
0.4 mi away
Hotel Belavista da Luz
0.3 mi away
Vilamar Hotel
Vilamar Hotel
#6 of 8 in Luz
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel Luz Bay
Hotel Luz Bay
#8 of 8 in Luz
293 reviews
1.3 mi away
Quinta Do Mar Da Luz
5.3 mi away
Salema Beach Village
Salema Beach Village
#1 of 3 in Salema
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luz Ocean Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luz Ocean Club

Property: Luz Ocean Club
Address: Praia da Luz | Vila da Luz, Luz 8600-160, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Luz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Luz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Luz Ocean Club 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Luz Ocean Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luz Ocean Club Hotel Luz
Ocean Club Portugal
Luz Ocean Hotel
Luz Ocean Resort
Ocean Club Apartments
Ocean Club Praia Da Luz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing