We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Belavista da Luz
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Luz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful holiday at the Belavista. From the moment of our arrival everything was done by the staff to make our stay wonderful and a home from home. The Receptionists were welcoming, efficient and friendly and were able to offer advice and help when needed, including booking evening meals at nearby restaurants. Our room was spacious and immaculately clean (as was the rest of the hotel) with a lovely view of the pool and area from our balcony. There was a very good choice at breakfast including several different fresh fruits (melon, bananas, kiwis, apples and oranges) with a ready supply of coffee, tea and cold drinks.
The service and menu at the pool bar were great - thanks Jack. We ate several times in Bella restaurant and had some wonderful food, especially the prawns piri piri. The prices charged were very competitive with restaurants and bars in the area.
The hill from the beach to the hotel is admittedly quite steep but we needed the exercise to reduce our weight after the large breakfasts and evening meals (and is much easier than the Zumba class though not as funny). However we discovered the road at the back of the hotel which is not so steep and much easier.
Nothing is too much trouble and special thanks to Danny for all his help, kindness and thoughtfulnes.
We certainly hope we will be going back to this hotel next year and if possible again this year.

Room Tip: All rooms have a good view and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayann4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine B, General Manager at Hotel Belavista da Luz, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments. We are so pleased that our efforts to make you feel welcome and comfortable were successful, and we look forward to entertaining you again in the future.
Catherine Brown
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2012

We have just returned from the Belavista and again have enjoyed an excellent stay. We first stayed here 10 years ago when our sons were young. They have now grown and still wish to return again and again with us. The staff welcome you with friendly smiles and nothing is too much trouble for them. The rooms are spacious and standards of cleanliness are excellent. The facilities of the hotel are good with two swimming pools, gym and sauna. The food is excellent with a wide choice at breakfast, an a la carte dinner menu with classic Portuguese dishes as well as some favourites from home; the daily special menu is always interesting and makes for some difficult choices.

All in all a great place from which to explore the Western Algarve or, if you prefer, to chill out and watch the world go by!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heather E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

The staff could not be nicer at this charming hotel. Nothing is too much trouble. The hotel is spotlessly clean, and the breakfasts are fab. Rooms have air-con, fridge and tea/coffee making facilities. This is good because the coffee from the restaurant is horrible!

The hotel is in a semi-circle around the pools and all rooms have small balconies, some getting the morning sun, others the afternoon sun.

Lovely looking pools but only a short stay, so no time to try them.

Be warned: the hotel is about 15mins walk from the beach, uphill all the way (but I would stay again).

Luz itself is lovely with a great beach and the restaurants are very good.

Room Tip: We had a balcony getting the afternoon sun but think I may have preferred the morning sun. When we s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelforfun35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We stayed here as part of a walking group walking the western Algarve. The staff couldn't have done more to ensure that our stay was a successful one. The food was good, our room was very clean and comfortable. A friend paid extra for a room with a sea view which was stunning. I would have liked to have upgraded but on arrival it was too late.

Room Tip: Ask if you want an upgrde to an upper room with sea view. Our friend paid 10 euros extra per night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank serious180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

A bit dated and old fashioned but they try hard and the pools are nice-especially on a warm day. They say one is heated but it is hard to believe ! Good position and some excellent views.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

Had a lovely holdiay at the Belavista hotel, the staff were excellant and the food was wonderful. Everywhere was very clean and could not fault anyhting there! would definately go back again and again. Visted there in early october and weather was lovely and due to there being lots of walkers staying there is made days by the pool very quiet - which was lovely, two pools of which one is heated and great for non swimmers to get abit of exercise! plenty of sun loungers and good pool bar/lunches. Would not hestiate to go back again. Local beach is lovely although too far to walk as I struggle to walk distances and hills but very short trip in a car. Great hotel and best restaurant around.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Been to this hotel lots of times with golf mates and as a couple the standards never drop, the facilities are second to none, and the staff are so friendly and efficient always a smile for everyone.
The hotel has two great outdoor swimming pools and an indoor sauna and steam room.
The breakfasts are brilliant and the evening meals are just the best food you could wish for.
Staff are all mainly long serving which shows the owners are great employers and builds the team work that is so obvious amongst the staff.
Danny has taken over the mantle from his father Derrick (sadly passed away) and is maintaining the high standards

If you are planning a visit to Western Algarve dont miss this gem

Room Tip: all rooms have sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevekathybithell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luz
0.4 mi away
Hotel Baia da Luz
1.7 mi away
Quinta Do Mar Da Luz
0.9 mi away
Luzmar Villas
Luzmar Villas
#5 of 9 in Luz
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Luz Bay
Hotel Luz Bay
#9 of 9 in Luz
313 reviews
3 mi away
Vilabranca Apartments
Vilabranca Apartments
#19 of 53 in Lagos
699 reviews
5.6 mi away
Salema Beach Village
Salema Beach Village
#1 of 3 in Salema
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belavista da Luz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belavista da Luz

Address: Praia da Luz, Luz 8600-147, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Luz
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Luz
Price Range: £36 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Belavista da Luz 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With beautiful beaches and mountains and less than 1 hour from Faro Airport, this is paradise for the short-haul flyer. With old cities to explore and mouth watering menus to choose from Hotel Belavista awaits your pleasure. We provide, satellite tv, tea and coffee facilities, hair dryer, hi-fi, personal attention at all times. Heated small pool, large pool, tennis court, gym, health club and games room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Alpha Holidays Limited, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Belavista da Luz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing