We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fantastic hotel and staff.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Belavista da Luz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Belavista da Luz
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Luz
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel and staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

Really nice hotel and staff,great breakfast and 2 nice pools 1 heated.Will be going back again in september.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Artdeco1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hotel Belavista da Luz, responded to this review, 24 June 2012
Dear Guest,

We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and will look forward to be seeing you again in September.

Kind regards
Kate Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    66
    19
    4
    1
See reviews for
74
137
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

We have been going to the Belavista twice a year for more than 10 years, as it is the best hotel we have ever stayed in. It must be the friendliest hotel in the world as the majority of guests return year on year. From the moment we arrive until the moment we depart we have always been extremely well looked after by the Owners,management and staff, who do everything to make our stay a really enjoyable time. The hotel is kept spotlessly clean throughout by the maids, who mostly seem to be have been working there for as long we have been holidaying there. The entire staff has hardly changed in the 10+ years we have been staying there, which indicates a great Management team.
We always enjoy eating in the Bellas restaurant in the evenings, the food is always freshly cooked, well presented ample portions and delicious. We have eaten out at other Restaurants in Luz, but have often been disappointed but never at the Belavista where the Head Waiter Carlos always remembers our favourite wine from one year to the next!!!!

Please don't ever change Belavista, we think you are the Best.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Den and Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hotel Belavista da Luz, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment, we are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay here with us once more and we will take your advice and do our very best not to change too much

Best regards

Kate Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbernauld
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

I wont go into too much detail, as I have already reviewed the Belavista previously. I am not a great lover of staying in hotel's as opposed to apartments, but the Belavista still has the magic mixture which very few places come close to capturing. Yes, it can appear at first glance a bit old fashioned in certain areas, but the comfort in knowing that year after year you will have a totally hassle free holiday, with the same exemplary staff level of service being displayed, from the totally inobtrusive maids to the funny and sparky restaurant staff, and the incredibly efficient management and reception staff. Nothing is too much trouble. Danny, Vicente, Jack, Elke, Ana et al, it is always so nice to meet up again, and see the same friendly faces after returning to the Belavista.

One observation I will make is, that first time guests to the Belavista often look to me a little bit out on the periphery, as the hotel has such a loyal number of returnee's that everyone seems to know each other from guests to staff, and one couple of ' Belavista virgins' we chatted to mentioned this to us. Being Scottish ourselves, we are maybe a little less demonstrative, and prefer to keep our cuddles and 'luvvy kisses' to ourselves! I have never known a hotel with such a loyal clientele, it really is amazing!

Indeed, often sitting in the bar or patio, the first sort question you will be asked by some of the returnee's is "Is this your first visit, it's our 10th time?" This is obviously not within the hotel's control, but I sort of put myself in the 'newbie's' shoes at breakfast this year, and feel it must be slightly like not being part of the 'Brodie Set' as it were. It was our 6th return visit, so I suppose I can't talk.

If you haven't visited the Belavista before this really is a minor point, and I would still strongly recommend you sample the the Belavista 'Dolce Vita', as is a real treat that such an independently run place still blows all the bigger hotel's out the water on most levels!

My partner has insisted that Iher only request is that the integral hair driers are upgraded as they are running out of puff a bit, so you may be better taking your own kit, if you need to . I'm a bit 'Phil Mitchell' so it was immaterial to me.

To sum up, the Belavista is my favourite hotel anywhere, and could not recommend it more highly.You wont be disappointed.

Room Tip: We had one of the double rooms with the large extended balconies on the 1st Floor (Room 109). It was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Millreef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine B, General Manager at Hotel Belavista da Luz, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comment, we are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your 6th visit here at our Hotel. We always do our best to make everyone feel welcome and comfortable during the stay.
In regards to the hair driers, we will look into your suggestion to change them, however we would like to inform you that we always have some hair driers available at Reception, which you are most welcome to borrow.
Looking forward to welcoming you for your 7th visit.
Kind regards
Kate Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful holiday at the Belavista. From the moment of our arrival everything was done by the staff to make our stay wonderful and a home from home. The Receptionists were welcoming, efficient and friendly and were able to offer advice and help when needed, including booking evening meals at nearby restaurants. Our room was spacious and immaculately clean (as was the rest of the hotel) with a lovely view of the pool and area from our balcony. There was a very good choice at breakfast including several different fresh fruits (melon, bananas, kiwis, apples and oranges) with a ready supply of coffee, tea and cold drinks.
The service and menu at the pool bar were great - thanks Jack. We ate several times in Bella restaurant and had some wonderful food, especially the prawns piri piri. The prices charged were very competitive with restaurants and bars in the area.
The hill from the beach to the hotel is admittedly quite steep but we needed the exercise to reduce our weight after the large breakfasts and evening meals (and is much easier than the Zumba class though not as funny). However we discovered the road at the back of the hotel which is not so steep and much easier.
Nothing is too much trouble and special thanks to Danny for all his help, kindness and thoughtfulnes.
We certainly hope we will be going back to this hotel next year and if possible again this year.

Room Tip: All rooms have a good view and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayann4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine B, General Manager at Hotel Belavista da Luz, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments. We are so pleased that our efforts to make you feel welcome and comfortable were successful, and we look forward to entertaining you again in the future.
Catherine Brown
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

We have just returned from the Belavista and again have enjoyed an excellent stay. We first stayed here 10 years ago when our sons were young. They have now grown and still wish to return again and again with us. The staff welcome you with friendly smiles and nothing is too much trouble for them. The rooms are spacious and standards of cleanliness are excellent. The facilities of the hotel are good with two swimming pools, gym and sauna. The food is excellent with a wide choice at breakfast, an a la carte dinner menu with classic Portuguese dishes as well as some favourites from home; the daily special menu is always interesting and makes for some difficult choices.

All in all a great place from which to explore the Western Algarve or, if you prefer, to chill out and watch the world go by!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

The staff could not be nicer at this charming hotel. Nothing is too much trouble. The hotel is spotlessly clean, and the breakfasts are fab. Rooms have air-con, fridge and tea/coffee making facilities. This is good because the coffee from the restaurant is horrible!

The hotel is in a semi-circle around the pools and all rooms have small balconies, some getting the morning sun, others the afternoon sun.

Lovely looking pools but only a short stay, so no time to try them.

Be warned: the hotel is about 15mins walk from the beach, uphill all the way (but I would stay again).

Luz itself is lovely with a great beach and the restaurants are very good.

Room Tip: We had a balcony getting the afternoon sun but think I may have preferred the morning sun. When we s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelforfun35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

We stayed here as part of a walking group walking the western Algarve. The staff couldn't have done more to ensure that our stay was a successful one. The food was good, our room was very clean and comfortable. A friend paid extra for a room with a sea view which was stunning. I would have liked to have upgraded but on arrival it was too late.

Room Tip: Ask if you want an upgrde to an upper room with sea view. Our friend paid 10 euros extra per night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank serious180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luz
0.4 mi away
Hotel Baia da Luz
1.7 mi away
Quinta Do Mar Da Luz
0.3 mi away
Hotel Luz Bay
Hotel Luz Bay
#8 of 8 in Luz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Luzmar Villas
Luzmar Villas
#5 of 8 in Luz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
3.3 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#15 of 51 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,785 reviews
12.5 mi away
Sagres Time Apartamentos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belavista da Luz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belavista da Luz

Property: Hotel Belavista da Luz
Address: Praia da Luz, Luz 8600-147, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Luz
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Luz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Belavista da Luz 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With beautiful beaches and mountains and less than 1 hour from Faro Airport, this is paradise for the short-haul flyer. With old cities to explore and mouth watering menus to choose from Hotel Belavista awaits your pleasure. We provide, satellite tv, tea and coffee facilities, hair dryer, hi-fi, personal attention at all times. Heated small pool, large pool, tennis court, gym, health club and games room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Hotel Belavista da Luz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing