We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Belavista da Luz
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Luz
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The service has gone .......I know they are new and trying hard to please but they haven't got the experience they need for the Bela to run smoothly, they let them all go big mistake in my opinion.
The food is very good but expensive no longer the cheapest place to eat in Luz and the pool bar needs help used to have trouble getting a table now the only one sitting there!!!!

Room Tip: Away from the kitchen extractor!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 104Sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    67
    19
    4
    1
See reviews for
78
142
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lagos, Portugal
Level Contributor
52 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The new owners have improved the public area but little change to the restaurant. There are new staff who are very friendly and try very hard but do need some extra training to improve skills. Staff good but prices and style of food should lead to better attention to customers. They had to be asked to bring menus to guests waiting in bar. They needed reminding to ask if more drinks were needed etc etc. the food is good but at these prices need to be excellent.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roger T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Just returned from a weeks stay at this lovely hotel. The staff were lovely and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Cleanliness in every area of the hotel was of an extremely high standard. Breakfast was a great start to the day and extremely good value. Our room couldn't have been nicer with lots of extras including a really good size fridge, rugs, cosy lighting, tea and coffee always plentiful. If I had any criticism it would be the hair dryer needs updating, it was a seventies style hose type on the bathroom wall which took an age to dry hair and got so hot it was impossible to hold the handle without taking a break to let it cool down. The guests we met have been going to this hotel for over twenty years and clearly were very loyal to the previous owners. These people will not be going to the hotel for another twenty years and need to let the new owners make the changes they are trying to put in place to ensure it continues for many years to come. It fully deserves its top ranking in this resort.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank urmolaw2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel C, General Manager at Hotel Belavista da Luz, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about our Hotel.
We are please to know that you enjoyed your stay and agree with you that the hairdryers are in need of being updated. We are looking into replacing them. In the meantime we are now stocking extra hairdryers at reception which we will gladly supply to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This is a lovely clean hotel, good location and the staff were very friendly and always willing to make your holiday, the holiday that you always want but never get. The pool area is well presented and the pools were clean with a good pool bar area and plenty of beds. The food at breakfast was exceptional, totally British. There is a strong element of older clientele who have been here time & time again, which is not necessarily a bad thing, but something to bare in mind. Rooms are a good size and always cleaned. There were a lot of little extras provided free eg. fridge, coffee & tea making facility and fresh fruit.

Room Tip: All face the pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel C, General Manager at Hotel Belavista da Luz, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for your kind words.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your holidays at our Hotel and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We booked a week from 5/4/14 and ended up staying 19 nights as the hotel and restaurant were exceptional . We received the most warmest of welcomes from the owners and staff.Nothing was too much trouble . Lovely rooms with added extras . The hotel is exceptionally well maintained and the cleanliness second to none. There is a lovely relaxed atmosphere and everyone is so accommodating they all deserve a mention .
The Bela Vista Restaurant is a must ! Run by Sven, Walkiria and family it is of fine dining quality but competitively priced . The "specials" are to be recommended . We ate there every evening and the memories of the amazing food will stay with us . The breakfast is of the best quality produce.
We have visited the Algarve regularly over many years and now we have found this wonderful hotel can't wait to return later in the year.
It is the Jewel In The crown and we give it 10/10 ! All we can say is thank you for making our holiday so memorable and for all the right reasons !

Room Tip: Higher rooms are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank angela p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel C, General Manager at Hotel Belavista da Luz, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for such a wonderful review about our Hotel.
We are pleased to know that you had an enjoyable holiday here with us.
It is good to know that our efforts to make your stay a wonderful and pleasant experience are successful.
We look forward to seeing you again later in the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

My partner and I had booked another accommodation in the area, which had not worked out, so we had to book this when we arrived for five nights.
The receptionist was extremely helpful and spoke great English (better than me!). She gave us keys to two different rooms to choose the best for us.
The room was large, very clean and airy, and looked out onto the two pools. There was a small balcony with chairs/table.
The breakfast was excellent, as was the service.
As the hotel was not too full, it was very peaceful lying beside the pools reading. Car parking was also easy.
We had an evening meal one of the nights, which unexpectedly proved to be the best meal of the holiday, excellent, and good value.
All in all, we were delighted with this hotel - it was a real find. We would recommend this to anyone, and will definitely go back...fantastic.
I also passed a room with extras for people with disabilities - it looked a great room, and I will recommend this to my mum and dad.!

Room Tip: There was a tennis court and gym which we didn't use, but looked great. You can walk down the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank littleoldwinedrinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel C, General Manager at Hotel Belavista da Luz, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us kinow about your stay.
It is always lovely to know that our guests enjoy themselves.
Hope you and your family have the opportunity to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Just returned from Hotel Belavista da Luz which was as usual a wonderful experience. This being our fourth year at the Hotel it will not be the last. The Management and staff were as usual very helpful, friendly and very Professional. Nothing is too much trouble. As you approach the Hotel it is saying " Please Come In" and when you do you are not disappointed.. We cannot wait to return in 2015.


Pauline and Mike.
"

Room Tip: the rooms are large, light and airy with fantastic sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PaulineMB2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel C, General Manager at Hotel Belavista da Luz, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for your kind review.
We are honoured to have you as regular guests and hope that you return to our Hotel for many years to come.
Looking forward to seeing you again in 2015.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luz
0.4 mi away
Hotel Baia da Luz
3.5 mi away
Hotel Luz Bay
Hotel Luz Bay
#8 of 8 in Luz
265 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quinta Do Mar Da Luz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 51 in Lagos
2,883 reviews
4.2 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#6 of 51 in Lagos
1,252 reviews
0.9 mi away
Luzmar Villas
Luzmar Villas
#5 of 8 in Luz
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belavista da Luz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belavista da Luz

Property: Hotel Belavista da Luz
Address: Praia da Luz, Luz 8600-147, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Luz
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Luz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Belavista da Luz 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With beautiful beaches and mountains and less than 1 hour from Faro Airport, this is paradise for the short-haul flyer. With old cities to explore and mouth watering menus to choose from Hotel Belavista awaits your pleasure. We provide, satellite tv, tea and coffee facilities, hair dryer, hi-fi, personal attention at all times. Heated small pool, large pool, tennis court, gym, health club and games room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Belavista da Luz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing