We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Belavista da Luz
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Luz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The building, which is undergoing a refurbishment starts to reflect the attention to detail and care of its staff and owners. With comfortable, clean rooms and a very pleasant breakfast (the waffles are delicious - just ask) the day is well spend either relaxing on the balcony or around the pool. For the adventurous there are some excellent restaurants in the area which provide a great selection of food. The Dolphin, Chicca's, Cachoa and Fontanario all provide excellent food. The hotel provides a family environment with Mike & Paula joining the hotel bringing it forward on its journey enriching the experience with care and attention shown to all the guests as opportunity permits. The breakfast would not be the same without Vicente who started the venture so many years a go. I would love to say don't go here, but that would only be so as to permit me/us more opportunities - in truth DO go and share the wonderful experience - if by chance there is a problem, tell them they will always try to help.

Room Tip: Book well in advance and tell them John told you to visit ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnjkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (342)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 342 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Having just returned from our stay I would like to thank all the staff for giving us such superb service . The hotel is one of the cleanest we have stayed at . Food is excellent . Staff very helpful and friendly nothing seems too much trouble , delightful pool area and top class restaurant . We had an accident during our visit which involved a night ambulance and the staff involved were excellent obviously caring professional and well trained so I don't understand Sandra's review of disappointed 22 June . Hotel and staff excellent in all aspects would highly recommend hotel belavista to anyone wanting a holiday in Portugal

Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My review is only of the bar area , where i called in to have a drink. I cannot comment on the hotel as a whole.
Set on the main road into Luz the Hotel is easy to find. The reception area and bar combine Portuguese style with a hint of the more upmarket ambience you might expect from a hotel of this nature.
bar staff spoke good English and were attentive. Lovely view of the Hotel swimming pool, which looked inviting.
Evening entertainment throughout the year

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Four couples stayed at this hotel earlier this month. The men played golf whilst the ladies did what ladies do! Sun bathed, shopped, walked, lunched and even had a drink or three!!! The hotel was ideal, plenty of sun beds, good snacks at the pool bar. The breakfast was really good - plenty of choice, eggs cooked to order and lots of things to go with them! The new owners came and introduced themselves and we had several good chats with them over the week we were there. We had a few meals out in Lagos which were good, so all in all a really lovely week!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Simon202014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Having been to BV at least once a year since 2010 we returned in June with new owners in charge. Inevitably things have changed as they had to. The new owners have made a good start with external redecoration and reception improvements. The retained existing staff were as usual very professional and friendly. A number of new staff are still feeling their way. The food and beverage service provision has changed with it being provided via outsourcing rather than in house. There are some issues with the restaurant and pool bar menus but in time I am sure they will be sorted. We are keen to see BV grow and maintain the very high standard set by Deric and Vicente for many years into the future. We will be returning in October and will be keen to see if any further improvements have been made.
We are so confident they will be successful that we have provisionally booked for June 2015

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jonwillie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The service has gone .......I know they are new and trying hard to please but they haven't got the experience they need for the Bela to run smoothly, they let them all go big mistake in my opinion.
The food is very good but expensive no longer the cheapest place to eat in Luz and the pool bar needs help used to have trouble getting a table now the only one sitting there!!!!

Room Tip: Away from the kitchen extractor!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 104Sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The new owners have improved the public area but little change to the restaurant. There are new staff who are very friendly and try very hard but do need some extra training to improve skills. Staff good but prices and style of food should lead to better attention to customers. They had to be asked to bring menus to guests waiting in bar. They needed reminding to ask if more drinks were needed etc etc. the food is good but at these prices need to be excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Roger T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luz
0.4 mi away
Hotel Baia da Luz
0.9 mi away
Luzmar Villas
Luzmar Villas
#5 of 9 in Luz
144 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quinta Do Mar Da Luz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Luz Bay
Hotel Luz Bay
#9 of 9 in Luz
308 reviews
12.5 mi away
Sagres Time Apartamentos
0.7 mi away
Vilamar Hotel
Vilamar Hotel
#6 of 9 in Luz
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belavista da Luz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belavista da Luz

Address: Praia da Luz, Luz 8600-147, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Luz
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Luz
Price Range: £35 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Belavista da Luz 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With beautiful beaches and mountains and less than 1 hour from Faro Airport, this is paradise for the short-haul flyer. With old cities to explore and mouth watering menus to choose from Hotel Belavista awaits your pleasure. We provide, satellite tv, tea and coffee facilities, hair dryer, hi-fi, personal attention at all times. Heated small pool, large pool, tennis court, gym, health club and games room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Alpha Holidays Limited, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Belavista da Luz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing