We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Remote Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Porto Dona Maria Resort
Ranked #7 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Luz
London
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice Remote Place”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Your experience will depend where you are on the resort & what is happening amongst the local businesses. The resort is isolated, but in a great location for those prepared to walk 30 mins.

We went there 2 years, and the first year was great because there was a great restaurant on the other side of the road. The second year the restaurant was shut, but the site was so much better because the contractor who was running the pool restaurant was so much better than the one running it the previous year.

Who knows what next year will be like?

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    29
    13
    7
    5
See reviews for
30
27
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Le Pecq
Level Contributor
124 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We spent two weeks in Luz last September at Dona Maria resort and golf.
We reserved a quiet apartment for two people. We had a beautiful one with nice sea view. Charming and well equipped. Swimming pool is large and clean but transats must be changed.
A nice place for holidays but rental car is recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cyril F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Porta Dona Maria resort is situated on some cliffs outside Luz. Stunning views over the Atlantic. We stayed i apartement 203, the best located apartements are on the 200 'level'. Big, cosy apartement with all you need, though a bit dated. Few sunbeds along the pool, also a bit dated. Very nice pool by the way. Quiet atmosphere, relaxing. You need a car. I think we will be back sometime.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AndreaOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

The resort itself is lovely. We stayed in APT 203 which is owned by DRWProperties. Dealing with the owner David was very straight forward and his description of the sea views and accomodation was spot on. You do need a car tho as it is built on a hill over looking the Atlantic. Mid September weather was also lovely 28 to 30 degrees. The appartment has 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms a large lounge with patio doors on to the veranda. There is also a well equiped kitchen including dishwasher and washing machine. The pool area has a small bar and is perched over looking the sea. It is a walk to the glourious sandy beaches and if you drive up the west coast the surfing beaches are spectacular. A very quiet and relaxing holiday - thank you

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank thekentishcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

The place has a breathtaking view over the sea. Ap. are modern. Service: could be better but who cares?

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chicagotravel2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisboa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2010

The resort is located on a cliff with stunning views over the sea. It has 1 (or 2 floor) houses organized in rows, depending on the room you are placed on you may have different views: direct sea view only (the 100s rooms), sea & swimming pool (all other rooms).
The place is very quiet, the pool is huge and rooms are big and spacious. It is a good place for families with kids but also for a quiet and relaxing holiday. If you are into nightlife or shopping you must have a car to go to Praia da Luz or Lagos.
On the downside the furniture and room equipments could use more maintenance. The cleaning service is clearly under-staffed and is getting worse from year to year, I am a regular customer since 2004 and the service is no way near the service I had in the first years.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LPSCoelho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antw
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 February 2010

I was looking for a relaxing stay in a perfect spot. In fact, the seaview is amazing, if you are lucky to rent the best apartments! But, and this is a big but, the noise and service ruins everything. Daily cleaning is most of the times pathetic and neighbors don't respect other people's tranquility. Cars, especially at night are particularly annoying. Won't recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sebaAntw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Luz hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luz
0.4 mi away
Quinta Do Mar Da Luz
1.6 mi away
Hotel Baia da Luz
0.6 mi away
Vilamar Hotel
Vilamar Hotel
#6 of 8 in Luz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 50 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,960 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Belavista da Luz
4.7 mi away
Hotel Luz Bay
Hotel Luz Bay
#8 of 8 in Luz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Dona Maria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Dona Maria Resort

Property: Porto Dona Maria Resort
Address: Sitio Dos Montinhos Da Luz | Praia Da Luz, Luz 8601-926, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Luz
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Luz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Porto Dona Maria Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Porto Dona Maria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Dona Maria Hotel Luz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing