We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Porto Dona Maria”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Porto Dona Maria Resort
Ranked #5 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Luz
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Lovely location overlooking the sea although the pool area needs more shade. Not too cfar to walk to Lux and beautiful 35 minute walk to Burgau. There are also some lovely restaurants the other side of the E125 in Espiche, particularly Fontenario.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms let out by the development are a bit tatty so best to try and book privately throu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seagram037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 25 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2013

Your experience will depend where you are on the resort & what is happening amongst the local businesses. The resort is isolated, but in a great location for those prepared to walk 30 mins.

We went there 2 years, and the first year was great because there was a great restaurant on the other side of the road. The second year the restaurant was shut, but the site was so much better because the contractor who was running the pool restaurant was so much better than the one running it the previous year.

Who knows what next year will be like?

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We spent two weeks in Luz last September at Dona Maria resort and golf.
We reserved a quiet apartment for two people. We had a beautiful one with nice sea view. Charming and well equipped. Swimming pool is large and clean but transats must be changed.
A nice place for holidays but rental car is recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Cyril F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Porta Dona Maria resort is situated on some cliffs outside Luz. Stunning views over the Atlantic. We stayed i apartement 203, the best located apartements are on the 200 'level'. Big, cosy apartement with all you need, though a bit dated. Few sunbeds along the pool, also a bit dated. Very nice pool by the way. Quiet atmosphere, relaxing. You need a car. I think we will be back sometime.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AndreaOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

The resort itself is lovely. We stayed in APT 203 which is owned by DRWProperties. Dealing with the owner David was very straight forward and his description of the sea views and accomodation was spot on. You do need a car tho as it is built on a hill over looking the Atlantic. Mid September weather was also lovely 28 to 30 degrees. The appartment has 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms a large lounge with patio doors on to the veranda. There is also a well equiped kitchen including dishwasher and washing machine. The pool area has a small bar and is perched over looking the sea. It is a walk to the glourious sandy beaches and if you drive up the west coast the surfing beaches are spectacular. A very quiet and relaxing holiday - thank you

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
7  Thank thekentishcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

The place has a breathtaking view over the sea. Ap. are modern. Service: could be better but who cares?

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chicagotravel2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

The resort is located on a cliff with stunning views over the sea. It has 1 (or 2 floor) houses organized in rows, depending on the room you are placed on you may have different views: direct sea view only (the 100s rooms), sea & swimming pool (all other rooms).
The place is very quiet, the pool is huge and rooms are big and spacious. It is a good place for families with kids but also for a quiet and relaxing holiday. If you are into nightlife or shopping you must have a car to go to Praia da Luz or Lagos.
On the downside the furniture and room equipments could use more maintenance. The cleaning service is clearly under-staffed and is getting worse from year to year, I am a regular customer since 2004 and the service is no way near the service I had in the first years.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank LPSCoelho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luz hotels
0.4 mi away
Quinta Do Mar Da Luz
1.6 mi away
Hotel Baia da Luz
1.3 mi away
Hotel Belavista da Luz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Luz Bay
Hotel Luz Bay
#9 of 9 in Luz
309 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vilamar Hotel
Vilamar Hotel
#6 of 9 in Luz
48 reviews
0.6 mi away
Luzmar Villas
Luzmar Villas
#5 of 9 in Luz
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Dona Maria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Dona Maria Resort

Address: Sitio Dos Montinhos Da Luz | Praia Da Luz, Luz 8601-926, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Luz
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Luz
Price Range: £27 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Porto Dona Maria Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Porto Dona Maria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Dona Maria Hotel Luz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing