We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice but boring and isolated”
Review of Luzmar Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Luzmar Villas
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Luz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Just came back from Luz, have spent 2 weeks in this holiday villas. The place is 15 min walk from praia da luz. It would be a pity not to rent a car if u wanna see the beauty of Algarve. so if u have a car to move around, then this villa is ok, if not....try to find something closer to the beach. What I think was a bit strange was that this place is very quiet. even at the bar, every night there were only 1 or 2 couples having a glass of wine. everyone else stayed in their rooms. nobody really talks to each other, there s really nothing to do there. it can become very boring. some people might like that but I think it s exaggerating boring. there s a restaurant not far away called Gusto s. try to avoid it if u don t want to get food poisoning.
the staff is nice but there s not really much they can do for u. I would suggest them to try and make that place look a bit more alive as the way it is now it is dead.
breakfast was ok except for the hot food. dinner is ok, not a big variety but they are trying hard and the place is clean and safe to eat.
the pool area is quiet, the water is clean. our room had a pool view and I liked the positioning. the room wasn t very clean and the fridge wasn t clean either. the pillows we first got were 100 years old, impossible to sleep on them, so we had to change them. the bed is not very comfy and the blanket they have on the bed was filthy, black....
other than that, the view was nice, the staff was nice. I think there are many things they could do to improve. the furniture is very old and dusty.
anyone going on holiday in august look for the silves medieval festival as it was the best I ve ever seen in my life

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mamuta H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2013

This is second time we have stayed here and the staff cant do enough for you you are made to feel welcome all the time the food is excellent as are the rooms .Going back this time they make you feel like family which is really nice .Very relaxing lots of nice places nearby overaul this hotel ticks all the right boxes .thanks delila/ louige /& manager sorry forgot other girls name but also lovely . highly recomended
keep up the good work from terry& jude

Room Tip: all excellent recomended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank terry s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We stayed here at the end of February with another couple. We arrived late due to flight times but Dalila had kept the restaurant open for us. I have an allergy to garlic, so they made me the most enormous omelette! The whole week we were there, they told me each evening what I could eat and often made me something special. Cannot praise the wonderful staff enough. We had half board and the food was fine. Our deal was a fantastic bargain and a chance to see some sun. I became addicted to the wonderful oranges!The room was huge and spotlessly clean. Bathroom was large and similarly spotless. Our only problem was that it was very cold! The first evening we played cards downstairs in the bar, but it was too cold. The hotel is built to keep everyone cool in the heat. After that we would get together in our huge room after dinner. The AC unit was also a heater, so we built up the warmth! The hotel is outside Praia da Luz and it is a walk along the main road to get there. There is no access to the sea near the hotel, as far as we could tell. Praia da Luz is pretty and there were restaurants open even out of season. We went to Lagos twice (we had hired a car) and Alvor (still beautiful!) and also up into the hills to Monchique. A lovely hotel with excellent staff. Good luck to Carla who had just started when we were there! We had such a good time that we are going back to the Algarve in May!

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building get most sun on their balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Masha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed there for a week and it was really quiet which was nice. It's a 15 minute walk from the town which is good after a meal!! Staff were really friendly and helpfull. Breakfast was top notch too. The staff helped us with a rental car and were really friendly to our little son

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tremane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Third visit to this gem. Very friendly staff and wonderful quiet location means return visits are a must. Buffet breakfast and dinner have a wide variety to accomodate most tastes. A car is an advantage but not essential as a 15 minute walk will take you to the centre of Luz, the beach and the variety of restaurants available there. Easy access by car to huge number of Algarve treasures.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms have shaded balcony during the summer months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ro28577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

We were there for one month in November, a quiet time in the Algarve, so you must appreciate that no where was at full steam.
The hotel was very quiet, no entertainment.
This can be a plus, but if you want a bit more it could spell disaster.
Plus points here were good breakfast, super size bedroom, full sun balcony, very clean, super staff, free Wi Fi, and access to computer, the full size bath was a bonus, fridge in the room, King size plus bed.
The downside was the evening meal, which wasn't great, and let down by cold plates, same at breakfast, seems to be a Portuguese trait.
Whilst we were there credit cards were not accepted, they said the machine was broken, for a month!
They used a cashless system, so you could mount up quite a bill in a month a bit inconvenient.
Walk to Luz took about 30 minutes, five minutes by bus, but restricted time in winter.
Luz is 30 minutes by bus.
The saving grace for us was Gustos Bar Grill, 2 mins walk away, good food at very reasonable prices, and served on hot plates.
We really liked our stay there, but it was quiet.

Room Tip: The main block was facing South, the other three, faced West.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobertonSundays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

We stayed in luzmar villas the first week in december staff are friendly the rooms are lovley would recomend the superior rooms with a sea view. Ideal holiday if you want total peace and quite in lovley surroundings. Only draw back is the food was not really to our liking. However there is Gustos bar and grill only a 2minute walk from the hotel and a lovley chinese restruant in Luz called the Royal garden which is a 20minute walk. For nice food/breakfasts we would also recommend The Galley which over looks the beach excellent breakfast there :)
Hope this is a helpfull review our over all rating for the holiday was excellent.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynnt264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luz
0.9 mi away
Hotel Belavista da Luz
1.3 mi away
Hotel Baia da Luz
0.2 mi away
Vilamar Hotel
Vilamar Hotel
#6 of 9 in Luz
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Quinta Do Mar Da Luz
4.7 mi away
Salema Beach Village
Salema Beach Village
#1 of 3 in Salema
145 reviews
5.1 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#9 of 53 in Lagos
1,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luzmar Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luzmar Villas

Address: Urb. Montinhos da Luz Lote 6, Luz 8600-160, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Luz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Luz
Price Range: £38 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Luzmar Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Luzmar Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luzmar Villas Hotel Luz
Luzmar Hotel Luz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing