We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Estrela da Luz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Estrela da Luz
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Luz
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

After a All inclusive holiday last time we went away, we wanted the same high standard of accommodation but with the opportunity to go out somewhere new every evening. Estrela is an amazing complex in the quiet resort of Luz. The adults only pool very popular and yet still quiet. Accommodation self catering and yet you get the nice touches such as extra pillows, uk sky tv, shampoos and soaps. One really nice touch, water and milk in the fridge plus coffee, tea and sugar sachets so you can have a hot drink on your first morning without hitting the local supermarcado. Also left for you a couple of washing and dishwasher tablets.

The apartments are very big and well appointed. The wireless works well (writing this to you on the balcony using said wifi) and aircon thankfully powerful.

Included is free use of a very nice gym with a lot of equipment (all working). Do not miss the fantastic spa. The whole body massage the best this writer has ever experienced. (reserve a couple of hours after for a nap, you'll need it)

Staff very helpful and friendly

Note, taxis are cheap and plentiful. 10 euro to go to Lagos for a day of lounging by the marina or go on a boat trip.

Highly recommend and will be coming back

Room Tip: Go one bed apartment. Huge. Get apartment towards the front of the complex to avoid the pool heater...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stinus1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    102
    26
    7
    3
See reviews for
182
206
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

We came here with our four small children and really love it. We got a two bedroom apartment. It was HUGE. Plenty of room for all of us. The children's pool was fantastic, as was the adult pool. We loved that there was also an adult only pool so we didn't have to worry about the kids bothering anyone. The beach was right down the street and was beautiful. There were many restaurants and shops nearby. The beach boardwalk was fantastic to stroll in the evening. Couldn't have asked for a better place. Oh, and the gym was much better equipped than normal hotels, free weights, modern cardio equipment.... highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Murphyfamilyof6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment for 7 nights. It was a very large and well equipped apartment, the kitchen was stocked well with Siemens appliances (washer and dishwasher included) loads of pots, pans, dishes and glasses. Large open plan living/dining area although we preferred to eat on the large balcony that also had a table and chairs. The pools are large clean with lots of sun loungers that were very comfortable. We only ever stayed at the adult pool but never had any issues getting lounger - that might be different in peak season though. Also plenty of shade available if you needed some respite from the sun. The drinks and food at the pool bar were fairly priced and good. We never ate or had a drink at Hugo Beaties but there were people in there. Gym was really good and even though check out was a crazy early 10am we were able to store our luggage, use the pool then shower and change at the spa.

We had little interaction with the staff due not having any issues but when we did they were friendly, helpful and polite. The whole area felt very clean and tidy and the gardens well landscaped.

Luz as an area was lovely. Very clean and the people friendly. The beach and sea were beautiful and provided a nice change from the pool area. The town is small and at a steady pace can walk from end to end in 40 mins. There isnt a lot going on in Luz but there are enough bars and several great restaurants to keep you going. Chiccas is great, jakes was a nice value meal and the fort has an incredible view.

I would return to these apartments and think they were incredible value for money. I would recommend for couples and families but probably not for people who want to party hard!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly-Ed-Nottm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

So with all the positive reviews I was still a little skeptical but having been there last week I can say that this place is excellent. We went for a three bedroom apartment and it was enormous. The main room had an en suite which was the same size as the main bathroom, both had twin sinks in there. There were also 3 balconies with 1 being shared between two of the bedrooms. The kitchen was well equipped with a washing machine and dishwasher and had plenty of cutlery and glassware.

The only downside was that the apartment we were in (A2A) had no air conditioning which I was surprised at but it was not needed. There were external shutters on all windows which kept the apartment cool.

The adults only swimming pool was excellent and was nice to just lounge around without children. The interior sauna/gym/swimming pool were all excellent.

Definitely recommend

Room Tip: Make sure if you are going in summer to get a room with air con!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flidmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

Brilliant, honestly this was everything we could have asked for. Superking size bed, loads of room, kitchen was fully equipment (better than my own in fact). Very clean, a genuinely lovely place, it was good value too compared to other places on offer, we paid £575 for 8 nights in sept 2012. I don't have a single gripe. We even got upgraded to a 2 bed apartment, that said we didnt use the second room. I think each or many of the apartments are individually owned, C2D (our room) was fantastic though. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom186411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

I have stayed in many places over the years and this has to be the best accommodation we had booked a 2 bed however upon arrival we had to phone and check we were in the right apartment we were given a property with 4 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms and there was only 2 of us!!! The place was spotless inside and out and the restaurant had the nicest staff stopping everyday and having a chat and even remembering orders fantastic place and lovely area would definately stay here again and again and from someone who doesn't like to go to the same place twice thats saying something.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bwillis444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

We arrived and discovered our 3 bedroom apartment was actually a luxury penthouse with loads of space, really high quality furnishings and fantastic sea views. Our 14 year old had a double room to himself and our 10 and 13 year olds were happy to share their quirky twin bedroom, (with a great double shower room in between). Our double was massive, with a small balcony and a second bathroom just next door. The kitchen had everything you could ever need, (much better equipped than mine at home!) and the entire apartment was sparkling clean.
Reception staff were helpful and friendly and even checked us in on line for our flights the day before departure.
Swimming pools were adequate, although towels were removed if you left your sunbeds for more than 30 minutes. A larger children's outdoor pool area would have been beneficial, as it did get quite busy and sunbeds were limited. It didn't cause us any major problems however and with the beautiful Luz beach being only a ten minute stroll away, it didn't really matter anyway.
Altogether our stay at Estrella was fabulous and we're really hoping to return next year. We don't normally do this so it really had to be outstanding!

Room Tip: If you want entire peace and quiet, ask for a room away from the front where the bar / restaurant is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luz
0.5 mi away
Hotel Baia da Luz
12.3 mi away
Sagres Time Apartamentos
13.5 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
19.5 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
3.4 mi away
Villas D. Dinis
Villas D. Dinis
#4 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estrela da Luz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estrela da Luz

Property: Estrela da Luz
Address: Rua Manuel Augusto Alves Catarino | Praia da Luz, Luz 8600-136, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Luz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Luz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Estrela da Luz 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Estrela da Luz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estrela Da Luz Hotel Luz
Estrela Da Hotel Luz
Estrela Da Resort Luz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing