We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best in the Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Estrela da Luz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Estrela da Luz
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Luz
Certificate of Excellence
Chesterfield
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best in the Resort”
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We stopped here in June 2013 for one week; the hotel is a 5 minute walk from the beach, clean, spacious, well run and has three pools; one indoor, one adult pool and one for the family.
There is also a gym, a jacuzzi, and a steam room too to keep you amused in the unlikely event of bad weather.
If youre a couple, or family, this is the place for you. If youre a group of guys looking for girls, or vice-versa, avoid. The bars in the town are excellent, but quiet and probably empty by 1030pm.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whatgarythinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    103
    26
    7
    3
See reviews for
183
214
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

This was our second stay at Estrela da Luz in Praia da Luz on the Algarve.

Estrela is modern, clean and well run. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and fit for purpose

The staff are polite and courteous without being over familiar.

We used the spa, sauna and indoor pool which are clean and well maintained. The gym area is very well equipped.

Estrela is in a gated community with pleasant gardens. There are allocated underground parking spaces. The on site bar and restaurant is adequate and family friendly.

Room Tip: A studio room is perfectly adequate for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Allan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Stayed here as friends were getting married nearby and it was simply superb. Excellent value for spacious rooms and well equipped kitchen. The hotel itself is split in to a few buildings and the gardens are extremely well manicured and there are two pools for adults and a child's pool. The indoor facilities are also top notch. We ate at the bar next door and the food was terrific (I had steak). Can't find any fault with the place at all and would definitely come again.

Room Tip: Room D1E was excellent if you want to ask for that one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Max B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broughton, Flintshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013 via mobile

Estrala da Luz apartments were perfect. I could not complain at all.
The service was supreme and the one tiny oversight made by the hotel was compensated for with a bottle of wine.
Praia da Luz itself was quiet, but we had a lovely stay.
I'd definitely recommend Estrala da Luz to anyone wanting to stay in Praia da Luz.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

Simply amazed by how far £40 can stretch in Praia Da Luz. The split-level room with balcony was spacious and clean.
Free TV choice could be better but with the beach so close, you'd hardly notice.
Would recommend to my friends and am already planning a return stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyFrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
222 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

I would definitely recommend Estrela da Luz for anyone seeking a good quality apartment. The complex is really clean and despite being open for 9 years (we were told) the apartment we had looked brand new! The facilities were excellent there is everything you need, a real home from home. The indoor pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, spa and gym are a real bonus. You can also watch some UK TV from the apartments. Wish I could have stayed longer!
The apartments were very quiet when we went though, it might just have been the time of the year (early May) but try somewhere else if you are looking for nightlife!
One of the reception staff, a middle aged man with grey hair need some lessons in guest relations! VERY RUDE. Other staff were very nice.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craigpatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

We stayed February 2013 for a week and had a FANTASTIC time. It was to celebrate my husband's birthday and Bruno gave us a beautiful apartment with wonderful views of the sea. It was spacious and fully equipped my husband felt the need to cook as the kitchen was superb and with a couple of local supermarket nearby he made a few meals which we ate on the balcony with the local tipple.
It was quiet as it was low season and a few restaurants were closed but we found places to eat, had a few meals on the complex which I would recommend.
We used the indoor pool and other facilities, strolled around the area, visited Lagos, ALL the staff were extremely helpful and very friendly, the weather was sunny in the day and cooler at night, we had one power cut in the area one night around 10.45 pm it was fascinating watching the night sky it only lasted a couple of hours and did not spoil our trip. We are looking forward to returning later this year to celebrate our anniversary. Beautiful apartment, wonderful staff, lovely beach, friendly locals, great food,very very relaxing as it was out of season what more could you want. BRILL

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neveca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luz
0.5 mi away
Hotel Baia da Luz
12.3 mi away
Sagres Time Apartamentos
13.5 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
3.4 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 51 in Lagos
351 reviews
3.4 mi away
Villas D. Dinis
Villas D. Dinis
#4 of 51 in Lagos
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estrela da Luz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estrela da Luz

Property: Estrela da Luz
Address: Rua Manuel Augusto Alves Catarino | Praia da Luz, Luz 8600-136, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Luz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Luz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Estrela da Luz 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), ACCOR, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Estrela da Luz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estrela Da Luz Hotel Luz
Estrela Da Hotel Luz
Estrela Da Resort Luz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing