We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous and spacious apartment, great gym, spa and pool facilities, great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Estrela da Luz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Estrela da Luz
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Luz
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Fabulous and spacious apartment, great gym, spa and pool facilities, great staff”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Just back from 10 days in Estrella Da Luz, 1st floor 2 bed apartment, booked through Owners Direct, property ref: P1812.
In short, it was a fabulous flat, everything you could need - even beach towels are provided (except a coffee maker - so we improvised with filters and a funnel - left in the apartment!). I have nothing bad to say about Estrella Da Luz, it really is a lovely set of apartments - and ours was superb with a great / spacious veranda overlooking the town with glimpses through the buildings of the sea. Great gym -with 4 bikes, 4 running machines, 3 rowers, 3 cross-trainers, plus all the weights machines and free weights. Great spa, and great pools (one indoors in case it is chilly)- a separate one for adults only, the staff were fantastic, always obliging, always available with a handy map if needed (it's true they do not show you to your room, even though we arrived at 2am, and it took us a while to find the room). There is free WIFI in the main lobby if not in your apartment. Only downside to the apartments is that it is sometimes noisy with people in other apartments scraping chairs along the floor - but this doesn't happen during sleeping hours so not an issue. I would highly recommend these apartments.
Things to remember to bring: dishwasher tablets, washing machine tablets, bin bags.
Also you need to separate out your recycling - but you are not told about this on arrival.

I have to mention that while Estrella De Luz is exceptionally nice, great value for money and very well run, I'm not convinced about Praia da Luz. It is a very small resort - and being there is just like being in England, you can get English newspapers, there is lots of English food (everywhere seems to sell the 'full English breakfast'), there are 2 pubs, 3 curry houses, and some offensive grafitti written in English on the walls near to Estrella Da Luz. It is very nice, with nice restaurants etc.. but you just don't feel as though you are in Portugal. If you want to be in Portugal you might want to consider another resort.

Room Tip: Block C is above the bar and lobby, but also this means you are closest to the gym and the bar, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tompel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    103
    26
    7
    3
See reviews for
183
214
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Great apartment, literally has everything you need....even a washing machine and dishwasher. for self catering its the perfect home away from home. Cannot fault facilities in any way whatsoever. staff were very helpful and gave us a lot of info on excursions etc. The manager was so friendly and took all the time needed to explain places for us to visit (we didnt get his name but could tell he had authority of some sort) we want to say thank you to him for his great advice...without him we wouldn't have seen certain places.
security in the hotel is great, in a secure enclosure (with gated property, using codes to get in)

The only thing I think they could do better is the restaurant and maybe evening entertainment (for kids) but for me its no big deal but if you have children they will be bored in the evening and if you plan on eating in the hotel your limited on choice and flavour. I gave sleep quality 2 out of 5 because the mattress and pillows were too uncomfortable but only because of what I am used to at home.

hire a car if you want to see places and do things. the location is very quiet and I was slightly disappointed about that, the car helped :) also, for those of you that will hire a car you do get your own allocated parking spot at Estrela Da Luz (inside the garages) at no extra cost to park...couldn't ask for any more than that-perfect!

take a visit to the beach front for a potato spiral (on a stick) its amazing!!!!! If you like ice-cream then do not forget to taste the one opposite the church.

its very cheap to do things, see places and eat etc out in the Algarve...the priciest thing is paying for taxi's everywhere. (approx 12 min drive to lagos town centre)

The gym in the hotel was great, as was the indoor pool. everything in the room and around the premises was SO immaculate.

I would DEFINITELY stay here again, and of all the countries I have visited there's probably very few I'd say that about. Worth every penny, even then...it's not expensive!!


ENJOY!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinkypic20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We have visited here for the last 7yrs for our family holiday. We holiday with friends and share a large 3 bedroomed and 3 bathroom penthouse apartment with views of the sea. Excellent apartments with every appliance in the kitchen you need if you want to eat in. Good facilities on site including an adult pool, children's pool and baby pool. There's a gymnasium on site too and a tennis/basketball court. There is also a pub/ restaurant and a games room. The beach and main centre of prai da Luz is only a short 10 minute walk away.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

These apartments far exceeded our expectations in every way. Large rooms, very clean, modern, excellent kitchen with a wide range of utensils and equipment. Due to the fantastic kitchen we stayed in and cooked for half of the ten nights we were there, which we didn't envisage we would do! The whole complex is very well run and has excellent standards. The village itself is gorgeous with lots of character a lovely beach and a good selection of restaurants and bars. We will be coming back to the apartments and have already recommended it to family and friends. All in all a perfect place to stay and it made a fabulous holiday for us.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RachelfromBackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Office staff holiday for the second year running, we all had the most wonderful time, the apartment was absolutely lovely with a balcony to each room. Adult pool, childrens pool and baby pool, indoor pool gymnasium, but only interested in outdoor pools and balcony. The resort and sea was a 10 minute walk away, with lovely shops, restaurants and golden sand. We all did our own thing and will be returning next year.

Room Tip: All apartments are privately owned and all are of an extremely high standard. At least one balcony i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

Estrela Da Luz is such a fantastic place,the apartments are just amazing they are spacious and there is everything you need in the kitchen to do anything you want even if you wanted to cook a Sunday roast
There is a dishwasher,washing machine,fridge,freezer,oven,hob and every utensil you need even a hand blender
Praia da Luz is a beautiful place with loads of history and an amazing church dating back to the 16th century which is well worth a visit even if you are not religious as it is spectacular inside
We would not hesitate to go back but book direct with the hotel and get your flights cheap with one of the smaller airlines
Estrela da Luz will organise you a direct transfer from the airport if you ask as its not very nice on the public shuttles you pay for as they often drop several other guests off at different locations and can take longer than the flights
5 Star place well worth a visit

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gingerball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
humber bridge
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Just returned from estrela da luz in Praia da luz, portugal. The rooms were amazing, absolutely huge and very very clean. The kitchen had everything you would need, plenty of everything, plates, glasses, wine glasses, cutlery, bowls, cooking utensils. The pillows weren't fantastic but the beds were ok. Plenty of beds around the pool for everyone, the only problem I thought was that the adult pool was always warm but the kids pool was always cold, bit strange and the sun was always on the top level were the adult pool was but children were it allowed in this pool at all, even when it was quiet and then you would get some awkward people complaining to the pool attendant if kids did go in, there was no need for that at all. The reception staff were ok, there was one who was very very rude and unpleasant to deal with but all the others were pleasant enough. The bar is run separately from the hotel and the staff are fantastic, everyone welcome and the food is amazing, not a great choice but always excellent food. The hotel doesn't offer any entertainment but the bar has a little disco music on most nights and they do a barbecue on Friday evenings with games and disco for the kids, great fun. The walk to the beach is about 10 mins all down hill and there are some lovely little bars and cafes on the way and also dotted around the little town. There is a good size spar about 5 mins away from hotel and a little supermarket just down the road from the hotel. All in all the estrela da luz is lovely in every way, my kids 17,15,9 all enjoyed it met so e great friends and really didn't want to come home, I honestly can not find anything really bad to say about the place because there is nothing, they cater for everything, indoor pool, outdoor pools, jacuzzi, gym, dance studio, spa, restaurant, bar, trips, local information, offers on days out and restaurants. It takes about an hour from the airport, very easy drive, we hired a car.

Room Tip: We stayed in room C3F, 3 bed, amazing sea views, with large balcony with table and 6 chairs, it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank familymumwith3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luz
0.5 mi away
Hotel Baia da Luz
12.3 mi away
Sagres Time Apartamentos
13.5 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
3.4 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 51 in Lagos
351 reviews
3.4 mi away
Villas D. Dinis
Villas D. Dinis
#4 of 51 in Lagos
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estrela da Luz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estrela da Luz

Property: Estrela da Luz
Address: Rua Manuel Augusto Alves Catarino | Praia da Luz, Luz 8600-136, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Luz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Luz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Estrela da Luz 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Estrela da Luz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estrela Da Luz Hotel Luz
Estrela Da Hotel Luz
Estrela Da Resort Luz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing