We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great apartment in good location.”
Review of Estrela da Luz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Estrela da Luz
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Luz
Certificate of Excellence
Evesham, UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great apartment in good location.”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The apartment was huge - 2 full sized bedrooms and bathrooms. The bed was one of the largest I have ever slept on. Apartment well kitted out with waahing machine, dishwasher, iron and ironing board. Even though i have gievn it 5 stars, there were some tiny niggles.
We were given 4 dishwasher tablets for a 2 week stay. why cant housekeeping provide them on a daily basis when they clean?
There were tea towels but no dish cloth. When we asked at reception for one, they said they would send one to the apartment. They didnt, deapite repeated requests.
A sky box was provided but didnt work. When we asked at reception, we were told they no longer had Sky tv. Surely, get rid of the boxes then?
Housekeeping was sloppy at best, the apartment never properly cleaned. There was dirt all over the bathroom door (I think it was blood stains but didnt want to get too close) They were there when we arrived and when we left 2 weeks later.
There were no instructions for anything. The dishwasher and washing machine were self explanatory, the tv took some working out, the air con a constant mystery. Just provide manuals or basic instructions please.
The wifi was great as long as you sat within 3 meters of the router.
That said,overall I would definitely go back to this complex and would not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank donna3101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    397
    110
    26
    9
    3
See reviews for
197
241
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Cannot fault this place. Clean, spacious apartments. Children's and adult pool. Short walk to beach/bars. Clive's cocktail bar very friendly. All the restaurants were good. Book! You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bella139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Just got back from 5 days in a two bedroom apartment here. It was fab - huge, clean, 2 bathrooms, huge terrace at the front overlooking the sea and small at back overlooking pool. Lovely staff, great value and will definitely return. The food in Hugo Beaty restaurant was good - the fish, gutted and then cooked in front of you, was delicious. Lovely place altogether.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diseydoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laois
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Recently returned from great holiday here. 2 bed apt in block D would strongly recommend it's location. Really spacious. Never overly hot but good A/C anyway. Serviced twice a week with sheets changed once a week perfectly adequate. Water milk and tea a nice touch on arrival and kitchen so well equipped a pity not to use the facilities. Staff all very friendly and reception staff v helpful. No mad towels on sunbeds. All of which added to the great relaxing atmosphere. Spent most of our time at adult pool for over 16s. Should've listened to reviewer who said to bring own hairdryer. One in our room a bit dodgy as was comfort of bed too hard for my liking. Good value food in restaurant. Would love to return soon. We found Luz to be a small quiet easy going place

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ClareLaois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I have newly returned from Praia da Luz and I thoroughly enjoyed staying in this hotel. We were there for a family wedding and arrived late so I was pleasantly surprised that there was milk and water in the fridge to start us off. The staff are all very nice and helpful. There is an adult pool for over 16s and a children's pool downstairs and out of sight of the adult pool. The gym is well equipped and the indoor pool is in the gym area. I was impressed with the security as we had a code in order to open any of the gates. My fiancé and I were in a studio which was a very large room with living room area and separate kitchen and bathroom. We also had a partial sea view from our balcony on the 1st floor. I would recommend this accommodation to friends. The resort is small with a lovely beach . The people are friendly and the restaurants are great ! Can't wait to go back !

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Margaretcinquanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We were visiting for a family wedding, so there were various family and friends all in the EDL. We had a 3 bed apartment so my dad, who is 82, wouldn't have to have his own room, and my sister also shared. My husband & I had the room with the en suite, which was huge. There was so much space for all of us and the standard of accommodation was excellent. The higher floors do have the best views, but we had a ground floor which was ideal for dad, as there were no stairs to negotiate.
A lot of the features have been mentioned in other reviews, so all I can add is that as well as having the washing machine and dishwasher, they do leave you the tablets to use in it. After that, the only things I needed to buy were washing up liquid for the dishes you don't want to put in the dishwasher, and a cloth, along with some extra toilet paper. Luz is a lovely wee place to visit, and at least one trip to Lagos is compulsory, so much to do. We loved the Tuk Tuk tour, and that got us some great photos.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Annbone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thatcham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We have just returned from a week at this hotel and we all thoroughly loved it.
The apartment was gorgeous. We had booked a 2 bedroomed self catering and received a 3 bedroomed one which we fell in love with instantly. It was huge! It had all the essentials needed for self catering including ample plates, bowls, cutlery, pans etc. There was a dishwasher and a washing machine too.
Ample towels and all bedding was provided (you can rent towels for the beach and pool if you wish)
As we checked in late, it was brilliant to find 2 large bottles of water in the fridge along with 2 cartons of milk and enough tea, coffee and sugar to see us through till the morning.
There is a restaurant in the hotel which was lovely and there are plenty to choose from in the town itself.
The beach is about a 20 minute walk away (downhill) and is lovely and sandy with restaurants and bars along the front.
There is also a cashpoint near the front too.
We went with 2 teenagers which was fine, but although there was a separate kids pool (which was lovely) there was nothing else for the under 16's to do other than a games room for the older child. We did go out of the main holiday season though so maybe they do more in the school holidays.
Overall, I highly recommend this hotel and would love to return very soon :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Simolady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luz
0.5 mi away
Hotel Baia da Luz
12.3 mi away
Sagres Time Apartamentos
13.5 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
962 reviews
3.4 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 50 in Lagos
3,018 reviews
19.6 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estrela da Luz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estrela da Luz

Property: Estrela da Luz
Address: Rua Professor Manuel Augusto Alves Catarino | Praia da Luz, Luz 8600-136, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Luz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Luz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Estrela da Luz 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), ACCOR, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Estrela da Luz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estrela Da Luz Hotel Luz
Estrela Da Hotel Luz
Estrela Da Resort Luz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing