We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning location,don't be put off”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Nautilus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nautilus Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Barbati
newcastle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning location,don't be put off”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2009

We've just returned from a week at the Nautilus and had a fab time.The location is amazing-we asked for a sea view and boy did we get it.The all inclusive has now been extended to cover vodka,gin,rum and tequila with cocktails every night.The food is simple but good with delicious cakes and coffee served aswell at tea time.The pool is surrounded by mountains on one side and the sea on the other but most amazingly of all you could always get a sun bed.Staff are friendly and helpful.Don't be put off by the reviews on this sight,we wouldn't hesitate to go again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NewcastleBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    54
    48
    20
    34
See reviews for
56
104
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nottingham uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2009

Before our holiday I was worried as some reviews pull this hotel apart...however it was one of the best holidays I've been on. The location of the hotel is it's trump card, as it lies on a spot which is private and beautiful, away from the hustle and bustle of the main resorts. They provide free minibus lifts at various times daily to both Ipsos and Barbati, which are welcome and reliable (unlike public transport who arrive when they feel like it)
The hotel is welcoming and has authentic Greek decor and hospitality...it isn't perfect and corporate, but small and quirky. Perfectly clean and the food is simple but good, traditional Greek fare. 2 or 3 choices of meat/fish per evening meal plus always feta cheese and lots of fresh salad and crusty bread. Fresh fruit in abundance. The staff are friendly and helpful.
Our family room was a 2 bedroomed apartment, it was down the hill but only 5 minutes stroll up to the main hotel and yes there were steps but you could walk up the slope instead. The scenery is stunning and the trees and planting in the grounds is lush with grapes, limes and oranges growing everywhere you look. The block of apartments is worth every step as the rooms balconys give you a view of the entire ocean...with trees below as the grounds slope steeply down to the beach/rocks. It is breathtaking. So if you haven't already booked your stay, ask for a sea view in one of the lower block apartments. The rooms were well furnished and bathrooms recently fitted. Air con was available but our bedrooms had free standing fans anyway.
A further 5 minute walk takes you down to the best bit of the hotel...its platforms on the rocks. there are steps but handrails too and a bar operates most of the day there. Toilet block and different levels of wooden decks are here, with sun loungers and parasols. There are steps and a diving platform where you can then swim in the clear blue ocean and snorkel or fish (free equipment from the bar is available). This is where we spent much of our holiday. It isn't accessible from the neighbouring beaches so is private.
The pool up at the hotel is fine, sunloungers were always available and the view again are stunning.
It is a quiet retreat where teenagers and children are happy, there are board games, a cinema room, table tennis, pool table, basketball area and net, to keep them amused. There were babies and toddlers, so it isn't unaccessible for younger families, they'd just have to be prepared for carrying the buggies up plenty of steps. Highchairs were available. Plenty of shade was available around the pool and gardens too.
So yes we were pleasantly surprised by this place and would definately go again. The roads are narrow and hence its not really wise to try to walk anywhere locally from the hotel, thats why they provide the minibus i guess. It is so nicely situated we found ourselves preferring to stay there than venture to neighbouring resorts which were busy and crowded.
I hope this review makes you want to try this place out, or look forward to your holiday there if its already booked.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nicolanotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2009

we had a great time although the hotel does let itself down in some areas.
rooms are ok but you need the air con at £5 per night its a bit of a con.
food was good no complaints there.
all inc drinks were poor watered down beer and no spirits except ouzo
the staff were great apart from the hag at reception.
hotel is in middle of nowhere we were left stranded by there minibus twice best to hire a car ast taxis are £10 a go to ipsos
the view is lovely as is the swiming on beach below good night life at ipsos nearby
a nice swiming pool and pool bar.
we enjoyed our holiday but dont come here without a car or if you have walking dificultys
ps dont use lord travel at airport for transfers they let us down both ways

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roytopfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2009

On arrival at the Nautilus Hotel at 11pm, we were show to our room which was in the basement. The room was smelly and very shabby, however being tired from our trip we went immediately to bed and on waking the following morning the state of the room became apparent. The room was tiny with not enough room for two adults and a child.
The door onto the balcony wouldn't open and when the maintanence man fixed it we ventured onto the balcony which had a leaking gutter, leaving the balcony permanently wet and smelling strongly of urine.

On complaining about this we were offered an even smaller room with a third bed squeezed into it, but at least it was clean or so we thought!
Later that evening we discovered a birds nest on the balcony which provided a constant supply of bird droppings on the balcony floor.

The hotel was advertised as four star all inclusive but having travelled to many countries and stayed in many hotels I can honestly say this hotel was the worst I have ever stayed in and did not even warrant a two star rating.

The food was inedible, disgusting, my wife, son and myself were constantly hungry due to the quality of the food and the kitchen hygeine. There were birds flying in and out of the kitchen were the food was prepared. The salad bar consisted of bowls of salad set on a table with a fan positioned beside them. The vegetables were constantly crawled over by wasps and flies.

The only thing we could do was hire a car and drive to the nearest village for food and provisions, which is unacceptable considering we had already paid for our food in our all inclusive package. Having spoken to many of the guests I found that they were as disgusted as we were concerning the quality of the food , the state of the rooms and the unhelpful staff.
If you wanted a bottle of water this was not inclusive and you had to pay two euros. The air-conditioning was also not inclusive and you had to pay seven euros a day for it.

I really can say it was an absolutely awful week and I would urge anyone considering going to Corfu to stay anywhere other than this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rarmstrong8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Barbati hotels

london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2009

if anyone is thinking of going to this hotel please think again hotel is rotten my mum and i stayed for a fortnight had our room cleaned once food disgusting birds flying in the kitchen staff not welcoming beach is some old decking thats very dangerouse and we were stuck on a cliff with no transport accecpt taxis and you need a taxi to go to the supermarket which costs 10 euros one way the hotel is miles from anywhere if you want a rough idea what its really like just think of norman bates hotel and his mother is behind the reception 4 star my eye more like a 1 star i wouldent let my dog stay there.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roccolondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2009

i want for holidays with my girlfriend to hotel nautilus because of the beautiful photos i found on their web pages, the hotel looked very nice.
And the location was indeed very nice, impressive views of the ionian sea, private waterfront, very clear water, they even offer canoes and fishing rods freed of charge.
rooms are not very big but nicely decorated and new furniture + fully equipted, with fridge and air con.
there is a nice cinema room showing all the latest films.
staff is very friendly, especially stamatis at the bar and nicos at the beach bar.
we met a couple that have have stayed at this hotel for 5 years and will be coming again and again!
so higly recomended hote, fantastic views, location, and the staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laurentbrouvair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2009

The hotel is very good value for money, great location, and very friendly stuff.
The all inclusive package has good food varation, drinks included brandy, coctails, ouzo etc, so something for everyone.
Stamatis, Magda & katerina where very friendly to everyone, even when some guests behaved very badly when they got drank.
the private waterfront, is absolutely fantastic, very clear water, they also give free canoes, and free sunbeds.
there is a free minibus service which takes the guests to barbati beach or ipsos for nightlife in the evening.
so all and all the hotel is very good value for money, because of its location, its condition (they told me it was recently renovated).

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank patricefavorites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barbati
1.6 mi away
Ipsos Beach
Ipsos Beach
#4 of 7 in Ipsos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
10.2 mi away
Aeolos Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
La Riviera Barbati Seaside Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Mareblue Beach Resort
Mareblue Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Agios Spyridonas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,837 reviews
1.3 mi away
Oceanis Rooms Apartments
1.0 mi away
Pantokrator Hotel
Pantokrator Hotel
#1 of 5 in Barbati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nautilus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nautilus Hotel

Property: Nautilus Hotel
Address: PO Box 17, Barbati 490 83, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Barbati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Barbati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Nautilus Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nautilus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nautilus Hotel Barbati
Nautilus Corfu
Hotel Nautilus Corfu
Nautilus Beach Corfu
Nautilus Hotel Corfu/Barbati, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing