We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do be put off - Don't go to this Hotel.”
Review of Nautilus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nautilus Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Barbati
Reviewed 25 September 2009

We spent seven nights on an all inclusive deal at this Hotel and we can honestly say it was the worst holiday we have ever had! We have travelled around the Greek islands over the last twenty years and think we know what is good and what it not so good!
We don't mind basic but good and this was very basic and bad. The only good thing was the weather and the fact that the hotel is in a fantastic location for views and peace and quiet. We had our young son with us and thought, as the write up said, we could walk to the local beach as it is only ten minutes away. You could not possibly walk as it is too dangerous on the roads with all the traffic and you cannot walk cross country as there is no way to the beach! A Taxi cost ten euros one way to the beach! Our room was NOT attractively furnished as stated, we had two single beds and a camp bed for my son. The bathroom was the smallest room I have ever been in. We paid an extra £5.50 per day for the air conditioning which we thought was included in the all inclusive. The food was the most basic food ever. We adore Greek food and the salads/bread were quite nice, but everything else was awful. All the people who we met in the week we were there said the same and there was even a woman filming the food obviously to show to her tour operator. Oh well I thought, drink some Metaxa and everything will be OK? WRONG - not included in the all inclusive eventhough it is a local spirit. We are sad that we saved all year to go away and wasted our money. The staff (not the girl behind reception) were pleasant and they do work extremely hard and I feel sad for them too!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familycubcamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 247 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2009

I stayed in Nautilus hotel for 7 nights with a friend. Both of us were looking forward to this amaizing hotel as we read the review before we traveled. Nothing what you would expect from a 3star hotel. You have to pay 5.50 euros for a ac for a night. Breakfast was terrible every single day, beach bar was shut first day we were staying there and for the rest of the week it was open only for a couple of hours.
Hotel rooms? Well, shocking... Our room was never cleaned in that week we were staying there. They only put clean towels on our beds and cleaned the ashtray. That was about it.

BTW you dont want to leave any book in the bathroom on the floor as they assume it`s rubbish and you will never finish your holiday book again. I must say though the view from out balcony was amaizing.
When it comes to stuff - some of them could hardly speak any English - like the guy at the reception when we arrived... You would get: YES,NO,MAYBE from him if you lucky....
You are not allowed to swim in the sea or swimming pool after 8pm I think and if you do you will be asked to get out - as I was :)

No icecream for adults - not even when you have all inclusive...
If you fear for your life ever take a lift to barbati beach with the hotel bus - although at least that is for free.
You not allowed to take more than 2 drinks from the bar and that depends only if the barman likes you or not....

So do decide on your own if you would like to have your holiday spoilt with the service like that... Up to you!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank jana-london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2009

Myself and 2 friends (all in our early 40's) booked this hotel one night after a bottle of wine and then read the reviews when sober and were worried, and stressed about what we would find when we got there. What can I say!
Fabulous! fantastic! everything a Greek holiday should be.
We were greeted by a very pleaseant lady and taken to our rooms in the lower area, which although basic were perfectly clean, beds made every day and clean towels except on Sunday. The view from our room was stunning with the sea below us and towards Corfu town.
There was always at least 2 choices of meat, with salad, fresh veg, fresh fruit, soup etc, and breakfast gorgeous fresh bread.
Ok there are wasps around but it's Greece and they are very lazy so flick them away
The pool was clean and sunbeds a plenty, the decking area was peaceful and great for snorkelling in the sea and just watching the world go by
A perfect traditional Greek get away, where you can do as much or as little as you want!!
Not ideal for any one who doesn't like walking or steps, which are a little precarious if too much alcohol taken, but hey ho!
The hotel mini bus goes 3 x times daily to Barbati beach and Ipsos and picks up, which is a great service. All the staff were great and very pleasant and friendly,
Final word, for anyone who is worried, they do serve vodka as part of all inclusive!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deb033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2009

We spent 8 nights in all inclusive system in this hotel with our friends and we had fun only because we were together, otherwise it would have been terrible as the hotel services are poor. I don't know how this hotel obtained a 3 star classification. If you wanted air conditioned, you had to pay 5 euro per day, it wasn't included in the cost you already paid. The hotel itself consist in 2 different buildings: one that is the main hotel and another one that we stayed in and that used to be another hotel Barbati Club. This hotel looked like an abandoned hostel with doors that would close only if you slammed them,the cleaning staff was very noisy and unprofessional, they used to start talking in the hall at 8 AM. The rooms were very small and not so clean, also you could hear all that happened on the hall or in the room next door.
Actually all the staff was unkind and not available, the women in reception were very grumpy, the barman's always seemed busy etc.
The food was almost ok, except the fact that everyday we had fried potatoes as side dish and in the morning the same things.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HinaRomania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2009

Well to be honest after booking out tickets all inclusive at the Nautilus and then reading the reviews we where extreemly worried.
However having just spent a week there this hotel has plusses and minuses and is not holy hell as a lot of people would have you believe.
Firstly the minuses , on arrival in the wee small hours the owner is not the most hospitable person and didnt offer to help us with our cases and after dropping us off in a small car park by our accomodation pointed us in the direction of our rooms.
The rooms are relatively small with only 2 power points one for the tv and another for a fridge , so if ou want to charge the phone or plug in a mosquito deterrent it was a case of either not watching tv or unplugging the fridge(not a good idea in high temperatures.)
The cleaners are not the best and the rooms at a cursery glance look clean , however on closer inspection under beds where not cleaned and very dusty.
With regard to the wasps we found them a nuisence at times but they where not aggressive and if you left them alone it wasnt a great problem.
With the all inclusive package air conditioning is an extra and cost us 5 euros a day extra (and you needed it), this was a surprise as we expected it to come as part of the deal .
The food was generally well cooked edible with a choice of 3 main meals plus roasted potatoes,chips etc and a soup of the day(only one i disliked was celery)and we didnt have a problem with the variety the breakfasts where sliced cheese,ham,salimi, fresh bread etc and cereals yoghurt fruits etc , coffee served by machine or tea bags(didnt like them take tetley haha).
The 2 young lads behind the bar worked extreemly hard and where friendly, there was a different cocktail every night for an hour if thats your cup of tea(personally i hate cocktails).
The local lager was ice cold and very pleasant and the spirits where a bit rough but on an all inclusive you dont expect bells whiskey and named brands.
The lady Katerina who helped in the kitchen, bar, and here there and everywhere was a nice friendly lady who would do anything for you, well done Katerina.
The hotel views from our balcony where stunning and the lower deck and pool bar where just a dream , thers even a small diving board and steps into the sea but beware you need to be a strong swimmer sown there as youre out of your depth straight away so not safe for the kiddies (take them to Barbati Beach pebbyly) or Ipsos shingle and sandy when in the sea bur gently shelving.The hotel pool area has a seperate part for the small kids and plenty of loungers.No nightime entertainment but very relaxing and for an all inclusive deal surprisingly peaceful.If you want a top notch hotel with all the luxuries and trimmings this isnt for you , so go and pay twice as much.
Overall we enjoyed our holiday, 4 stars a bit high for this hotel maybe 2 or 3 but for the money we thought the all inclusive package was good value.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kjfletcher2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2009

Since now, i have travelled a lot in wonderful greek islands due to my work but also for vacations and i usually stay in 3 stars hotels, as i did in that case. So, i have to admit that Nautilus Hotel in Corfu island goes beyond my expectations as a 3 stars hotel. I mean that i have stayed in 3 stars hotels in islands like Kefalonia, Crete, Lesvos, Naksos, etc and as far as the price is concerned it was the same and not at all spicy, while its facilities were the best. My room was comfortable and always clean due to the good job of the staff, it had a wonderful view to the Ionian sea and the old town of Corfu, having a garden with trees (palms, pines, etc) and plants in front of my balcony.
The staff at the reception desk was very friendly, gentle and helpful as well as the staff to other positions.
The restaurant and its food was also very good, delicious with quality. Due to the self-service you can load your dish with whatever you like and no restrictions in the quantity. I could eat inside or next to the pool. Well, while eating in the open air during the daylight some wasps appear but i also have to mention that this is the greek nature and not an aspect of Nautilus. Wherever in Greece you eat outside, especially the noon, the flavor of the food make some wasps to appear. At least the nature is still alive. The bar of the hotel next to the pool was also wonderful. I could order whatever drinks i liked, juices, ice creams. I had the choice to play billiard, basketball, ping pong, tennis, but also the balcony of my room was also a good place when i wanted to relax. I should not forget to mention that there is specific hour trasnportation from the hotel to the beach of Ypsos, where there is also intensive nightlife, but also from the hotel to the amazing, with crystal water beach of Barbati, which you can also visit on foot as it is very close to the hotel, about 500 meters away. For all these i mentioned above, i can ensure you that if in the future i'm going to look for a hotel in Corfu island, Nautilus will be my first choice.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pierre72Tuscan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2009

Having read some of the reviews, I also was seriously put off but it wasn't that bad. My boyfriend and i stayed 5 nights and our friends a week. Note that there is also a Nautilus Barbarti Beach hotel nearby -so don't confuse the two!

In a nutshell: Hotel - ok, relatively clean, pool - ok, bar and staff - ok, food - not particularly great.

The hotel reception/bar/restaurant and pool are on a higher/different level grounds and the hotel accommodation itself are further down which you can reach by stairs on the grounds. Not sure if there were rooms on the same level as the pool/reception though.
Parking is available on the 2 different levels.
However, it's not ideal for more senior people or those with difficulty going up lots of steps to get to brekkie in the morning! Food is very average. As we booked the hotel through friends and not a package tour we paid 15 euros p/person for a buffet dinner, which was slightly disappointing as the quality of food in Corfu is very good.
Breakfast consisted of fruit from tinned peaches, cereal, bread, madeira cake and a chocolate version, slices of ham, cheese, (occasionally attacked by wasps) coffee, tea, juice etc and was served from (if i remember correctly) 8-10am.
The rooms have air-conditioning, one night I did over hear that you had to pay 5.50 euros p/night extra - not sure if that was if you did not book through a package or not, so check first.
The room had 2 single beds put together to form a double and is basic by Greek standards, with mini fridge, open wardrobe space for clothes, dressing table and mirror, the bathroom is pretty basic with shower, balcony has great views of the sea and does NOT LOCK! The sun comes into the room in the morning so close the shutter to make the room cooler. The room was pretty clean, we didn't have problems with wasps or anything.

The hotel is not exactly in the middle of nowhere, however to see the island properly I'd highly recommend hiring a car - just watch out for the mad peeps on the road as it is slightly winding and Amalfi coast-like at times. There is a mini supermarket reachable by car, although i'm sure the staff will point you in the right direction.

We hardly spent time on hotel grounds, so this review may not be as just as it should be.
We drove 5 mins further north from the hotel and we chilled out at Piedra Del Mar which is a seaside beach, bar restaurant in Barbarti. http://www.piedradelmar.gr
Other recommendations include (as a friend of ours was from Corfu) are: visit Agios Stefanos for great food, eat at Fagopotion - the chef is a funny guy - Christos Vlachos, drive past Ag. Stefanos to another beach further down for clear crystal waters, check out Kassopi if you want proper tourist destination, visit Paleokrastitsa for beautiful beaches and other great beach destinations are Nisaki, Kerasia and Kalami which are north of Corfu. Corfu town is lovely, but it did smell a bit funny when we visited in August. There's an amazing gelateria in one of the little roads off MacDonalds and for the life of me I cannot remember the road it's on.

Hope this helped.

Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
1  Thank Kinezoula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barbati
1 mi away
Pantokrator Hotel
Pantokrator Hotel
#1 of 5 in Barbati
369 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ipsos Beach
Ipsos Beach
#4 of 7 in Ipsos
241 reviews
1.3 mi away
Oceanis Rooms Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Aeolos Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
La Riviera Barbati Seaside Apartments
3.9 mi away
Louis Corcyra Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nautilus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nautilus Hotel

Address: PO Box 17, Barbati 490 83, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Barbati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Barbati
Price Range: £48 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Nautilus Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Nautilus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nautilus Hotel Barbati
Nautilus Corfu
Hotel Nautilus Corfu
Nautilus Beach Corfu
Nautilus Hotel Corfu/Barbati, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing