We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hermes - just fantastic !”
Review of Hermes Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kolios
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hermes Apartments
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kolios
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hermes - just fantastic !”
Reviewed 25 July 2010

Just returned from a 2 week holiday in Skiathos at the Hermes Apartments. Location is ideal, only a 10 minute bus ride into the town and the bus stop is right outside. I would recommend you hire a car, there is only 1 main road and you can visit so many beautiful beaches this way. Loads of places to eat and all pretty good quality, but by far the best for service and quality would be the restaurant at the Hermes, would also try Johnnys which is just down the road and in the town I would recommend Lynari (just behind the High School). George(new George) and Denize at the Hermes are so friendly and easy to get along with and the food !! WOW would go for the fillet steak in pepper sauce, or Beef stifado, or Greek Salad and the pancakes OMG!

Beaches, depends what you want really if you want somewhere quiet, i would recommend Elias Beach (abit of a trek if you havent got a car) but its so beautiful, and it has a breeze all day (which believe me you will welcome) Spiros the guy that collects the money for the sunbeds and is the waiter at the only taverna, is such a nice guy and again the food at the taverna is fab and they have real chips ! and the Greek salad is to die for (although the one at the Hermes is un-beatable). I am really finding it hard to find any negatives about the Hermes and Skiathos. The room we had at the Hermes (number 4) was on 2 floors a two bedroomed apartment. We were so suprised when we arrived as it was like a mini villa living room/kitchen and a bathroom on the first floor and 2 bedrooms and another bathroom on the second floor. There is a supermarket on the Hermes complex too, priced the same as the ones that are in the town but the Hermes one is much cleaner and has more choice.

We really did have a fantastic time and hope to return next year. I had a 15 year old with me and a 4 year old with me and both really enjoyed it, so i would say suitable for all ages.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank INCE007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    100
    24
    15
    11
See reviews for
80
155
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2010

Just got back and thought I'd share my thoughts on the Hermes and Thomson Holidays.
The apartments were great! In Greece I expect sometimes for things not to be quite right but it was probably one of the most well maintained apartments I have stayed in to date in Greece. The whole complex seems well cared for and the staff were all pretty nice. Ask for a room on the top floor so u can get the lovely view over the pine trees and olive groves, and maybe a little sea view to boot!
All That said, one major contributor to the fantastic holiday I've just had was the Thomson rep at this property. He knew everything you wanted to know, and if something needed sorting it wasnt too much trouble! Cared about peoples' holidays genuinely.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HappyChappy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norwich uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2010

Stayed at the Hermes in September 2008, the apartments are nice, clean, and well maintained. The free air con is a real bonus. The pool is not massive but is big enough and there are plenty of sunbeds. The restuarant and bar are good and competively priced. The staff are great and so helpful, and the owner is the same. Two points to note if you are thinking of going to the Hermes, there is a steep slope from the road to the apartments, and I do mean STEEP!, also the nearest beach( which is great)is about 20-30 mins walk, although the brocher said 300 mtrs( in a strait line maybe). So if you don't mind a little walking exercise this a a really good place to use as a base to see Skiathos.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greekfellow101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2010

As a first visit to Skiathos the impressions were favourable, the locals very friendly and the staff at the Hermes sorted any problems straight away, not that there were many.
There are 2 pools, both kept fairly clean however dead wasps (which abound on the island) do tend to accumulate in the water come mid afternoon. The rooms are small but functional and kept clean by staff, there are lights over the bed in the apartment we were in which were so low you banged your head as you got in and out, we didnt use these as out 2 years old tried touching the bulb which was red hot. The wiring for the oven also ran over the sink which doesnt strike me as a good idea if theres water in it.
The food was good at the restaurant and the staff attentive and friendly. The closest beach is a hike away and there are problems with Mosquitos, nobody thought to mention the snakes either which do abound on the island if you decide to walk as we did, some of these can be venomous.
Its the staff which make this place, the location isnt the best for the beach but handy for the bus stop (13) which is right on the doorstep, there is a slope up to the hotel which I didnt think was steep but if you have mobility problems you would need to take into account.
If you intend self catering be warned, it is very, very expensive, talking to visitors here from last year the price of a bacardi has risen from 3 euros to 6 euros this year at Hermes, to give you a hint at prices mars bar £3, large bag of crisps £2.20, lobster £85, loaf of bread £2.40 etc if your on a budget I would suggest going elsewhere.
I got the uneasy feeling Greece is using the tourist as a cash cow and I would probably have gone elsewhere had I been aware before I booked based on this.
The beaches are quite clean but busy on the south coast, the water is lovely and good for swimming. I would return however probably somewhere else and only when prices have dropped.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keithydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maltese in skiathos
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2010

Initial presentation was good after negotiating the hill the electric had been on about half an hour when the fuse box tripped no electric! we reset the trips as no one was to be found, this happened another three times that afternoon eventually we were able to report it to the owners whilst we were out they reset the trips when we returned after dark bang went the fuse box. we reported this again to the owner who told us to reset the trips in fuse box in the dark and they would see about getting an electrician we also reported the problem to the rep who also reported it to the owners. Enough to say the saga continued for the two weeks we were there, plug sockets were also hanging out of the wall in one of the bedrooms and if you unplugged the toaster or kettle the socketts came away from the wall. We also had the sink waste pipe burst depositting all the water out of the sink over our feet this was repaired quite quickly. The food was average better restaurants in Skiathos town but not bad for on site eating. Luckily this was our eleventh trip to the Island and this has not put us off returning but to different accomodation, we have stayed at three other resorts over the times we have visited and all were excellent compared to the Hermes. I am suprised that Thompsons allow this standard of accomodation to be used.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goofey007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2010

We visited the Hermes for a week in 2006 and we liked it so much we decided to go back for a fortnight. Skiathos is a lovely island so we knew what to expect, as do the majority of people we spoke to who all seemed to have visited both the island and the Hermes at least once before.

The Hermes
One of the benefits of staying on Skiathos is that it is such a small island the transfer time is really short, 15 mins max. It's almost worth hiring a taxi (approx 10 euros) as it cuts out on waiting with the Thomson coach and the drop offs en-route. Don't be worried about the slope that the Hermes sits on top of, it really isn't that bad. Being on the side of the hill also offers fantastic views across the Kanapitsa peninsula and the beaches of Vromolimnos and Koilos. The supermarket at the bottom of the slope is good for bread, water, papers, etc but, like most supermarkets we visited, it's expensive (ie 4.5 euros for a pack of spreadable butter!). There is a larger supermarket down the road from bus stop 12 (walk pass the Kanapitsa Mare Hotel on right, Nostos beach on left) which was slightly cheaper and the punnets of strawberries were some of the best we've tasted. The rooms are very well equipped (kettle, toaster, oven, hob, large fridge freezer, ice cube tray, hairdryer, air conditioning and safe – all free). We always take large plastic glasses as the ones supplied are never big enough for a big cold drink after a day on the beach. We were in room 305 which is a split level room for 3 people which I think is the best in the complex. The air conditioning unit is not directly above the beds (as is the case in the rooms for two people) and it had a lovely large balcony. The cleaners visit every day (room 305 was towards the end of the rota so we could lie in until 11.30 most days!) and towels are replaced twice a week. They even replenish the loo roll. The beds are VERY hard and we took travel pillows with us as you only get one pillow though I'm sure they would give you another if you asked. The manager, Chryssa, and all the staff at the Hermes are lovely and really helpful. The pool area is nice, though not really big enough if everyone staying at the Hermes decides not to go to the beach. It would be nice to have a shower to rinse off the chlorine but I'm just being picky now. The bar is a bit pricey (2.5 euros for a small bottle of coke, 2 euros for a small draught beer) but it is representative of prices across the island. The cheapest can of Coke Light we found was from a supermarket in Agia Paraskevi for 70 cents. A note about the drinks, as a diabetic the only drinks I could have were water, Coke Light and Coke Zero. A few places stocked Light versions of Iced Tea, Fanta and Pepsi Max but diet drinks are few and far between. The restaurant, which sits alongside the pool with a wood smoke oven which smells lovely when lit in the late afternoon, is good. The garlic bread is lovely but we are both vegetarian so didn't eat here too many times as the veggie options were limited (I'm sure the meat dishes were great as all the people we spoke to kept going back). There is also a complimentary shower room which you can use on your last day though don't place your luggage at the collection point until after lunch if you are flying back to Gatwick. Due to the slope there is a luggage van that collects suitcases and takes them to the airport in advance of the coach. If you put them out any earlier they will be taken with the Manchester flight and will sit outside the airport taverna until you arrive.

Transport
You do not need to hire a car as Skiathos has a very efficient bus service. They run from the port (bus stop 0) to Koukounaries beach (no.26) every 15 mins in the day and every half hour in the evening. The Hermes is no.13 which means it is 1.40 euros whichever way you decide to travel and it takes about 10 mins to travel each way (20 mins one end of the island to the other). There is also a water taxi from Nostos beach into the old port but the last departure from Nostos is 7.30pm and 10.30pm from the port back which was a bit early for us. I think this is 3 euros each.

Beaches
Our favourites were: Troulos (no.20), v. clear water, take bread to feed the fish, Agia Paraskevi (no.16) bit quieter and more fish than Troulos and v. nice beach taverna (P.Ammos) which looks more expensive than it is. Koukounaries is nice (no.26) but gets very busy. Is also very sandy and shallow so suitable for families. Don't bother with Ag. Eleni (no.25). Bit of a walk up a paved road for a not so special beach with quite a lot of seaweed. Two sunbeds and an umbrella were 8 euros for the day on all the beaches we visited.

Restaurants
As veggies our favourite places to eat in Skiathos town were Taverna Lynhari (top of Papadiamantis Street, turn right (pass a lovely little florist) then turn left and it is halfway up on the left. A real hidden gem that was always busy. The Lynhari salad was lovely, they served the best garlicky tzatziki and lovely greek potatoes. On the front Taverna Ouzinieri Kavouras (next to El Greco which is not worth a visit) was also really nice. Aginares is an artichoke dish with greek potatoes, carrots, peas in a lemony dill sauce which was lovely, as were the cheese croquettes served with a dry coleslaw and spicy feta dip. Nostos Nafsika taverna is nice as it is right on the beach (walk down the road pass the supermarket at bus stop 12 and there is a lovely lit pathway leading to it) but it had rained the week before we arrived and nearly 40 degrees so the mosquitoes were everywhere. Not usually a problem on this island but we were both bitten at least 30 times in our first week.

Things to do
The headland walk around the Kanapitsa peninsula but walk from bus stop 13 to 12 (not the other way which we did which is almost all up hill!). It takes about an hour and a half but the views are lovely and there are lots of hidden properties to discover (apparently Goldie Hawn and Kurt Russell were staying there but we didn't see them).
The carousel cruise around the island just for the swim at Lalaria beach which can only be reached by boat. Don't worry about booking through Thomson (50 euros each) as we got on a boat at the old port which was not exclusive to Thomson. If we'd booked it in the harbour it would have been half the price.
Lots of people also recommend a visit to the airport (Friday afternoon is best) as it is the closest you will get to a plane taking off and landing and it is a very short runway.

We are going to have a break from Skiathos for a while but if we ever fancy another week in the sun we would always consider a trip back to the island and the Hermes.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank the_6ft_veggies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2010

We booked to stay at the Hermes as out friends were gettting married in Skiathos.
On a whole the hotel was clean and staff were friendly. A few issues were the small beds and the lack on any shower curtain. Due to the Euro being rubbish EVERYTHING was so expensive... my personal favourite being the 2.50euro diet coke! The hotel also owned the supermarket at the bottom of the hill, so stock up on the diet cokes there instead!

We ate in a few resturants around this area, however the food in the Hermes was amazing. The garlic bread with cheese was my highlight (very greek I know!). The menu catered for all tastes and we were very impressed.

Overall a great holiday but slightly ruined by the naff weather. NB: Skiathos in May = Cloudy and rainy. Thank goodness that the wedding day was sunny!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebekah17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kolios
0.5 mi away
Theodora Studios
Theodora Studios
#1 of 5 in Kolios
146 reviews
2.4 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#5 of 84 in Skiathos
954 reviews
0.8 mi away
Skiathos Princess Hotel
Skiathos Princess Hotel
#2 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
730 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cape Kanapitsa Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Skiathos Blu Hotel
Skiathos Blu Hotel
#3 of 13 in Skiathos Town
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermes Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermes Apartments

Property: Hermes Apartments
Address: Kolios 37002, Greece
Region: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Kolios
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kolios
Hotel Class:1 star — Hermes Apartments 1*
Number of rooms: 126
Also Known As:
Hermes Apartments Kolios
Hermes Apartments Hotel Kolios
Hermes Apartments Skiathos/Kolios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing