We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not a five star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ionian Blue Bungalows & Spa Resort
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Nikiana
greece
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“not a five star hotel”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

In general reasonably nice hotel with nice facilities. The rooms are large and comfortable, although be prepared for light very early in the morning. The pool is very nice and the food quite good. The views are spectacular and the location very convenient. Loses much though in service and oraganisation. If there is a problem in the room do not expect to solve it immediately. The hotel has not enough staff and most of them are young people making their practice. There is also a slight problem with cleaning.
If you find a deal then it is worth going. Otherwise their normal values ​​under any circumstances do not respond to what they offer, as the hotel is in no case five star.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ioanap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    70
    74
    48
    40
See reviews for
129
111
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Friends had recommended this hotel, but we were terribly disappointed. Not as clean as it should be, not well organized, not well managed. Of course, if you get a huge discount it was worth going, because of its location. Otherwise, try some other place...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nikiana hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Initially there is an excellent location of this hotel. During the night you can enjoy a magnificent view and a cool breeze in the restaurant or lobby of the hotel.
The hotel has excellent facilities. The gardens are well maintained and are everywhere within the hotel buildings.
Restaurant has an excellent choice of food as someone would expect from a 5 star hotel. The personnel comprises of local people with an impressive professionalism and natural kindness.
The reception was very kind and flexible, when we requested a change in our room.
Cleaning in the rooms was ideal. Everything was clean and well presented.
There was some noise around the room, while the garden was smelling not in a beautiful way during the night.
Air conditioning was adequate in the rooms. It was slow but very efficient and silent. During breakfast indoor temperature was just less than sufficient!! On the other hand having dinner in the balcony was magic!!
We did not try spa facilities. However there was a great amount of spa facilities to choose from!!
I will probably visit this hotel again. For its location, facilities and people!!

Room Tip: Try rooms that start from 5...not from 2. They are in a lower level and have good access to the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eppantelidis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

The room was so filthy and we stayed up all night killing mosquitos! I will call the department that rate the hotels in Greece and will try to rerate this hotel. We left after the 1st night and went to porto galini hotel which is very clean and nice.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gesthimania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

How this hotel can class its self as 5 star is beyond me! No air conditioning, Horrible breakfast, Poor service and the rest.

DONT BELIEVE OTHERS praising the hotel, newly created members are related to the owners.

As a hotel manager with 15 years experience I was disgusted with this hotel, save your money and stay elsewhere!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank johnnyturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2013

An excellent hotel with really good service, especially compared to what we paid. The location, rooms and general hotel amenities are up to a 5*. They could use a couple more people in the staff though.
All in all an excellent holiday experience and a hotel to recommend

Room Tip: Great for a romantic getaway, the views are magnificent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eleni k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GREECE&CYPRUS
Level Contributor
1,523 reviews
311 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,932 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We visited this hotel with my husband just for one day because our children were staying here for 3 nights and we wanted to surprise them.
The hotel is absolutely nice, impeccable service, nice cuisine and friendly staff.
Nothing was too trouble for them, and our children were quite satisfied.

Two of the days they were there, there were no other guests so instead of buffet they had the a la carte menu which as they both state was beyond their expectations satisfying.

They were there on a discount as they made the booking through a site using a coupon.
They had a massage included as well in the price and they had only positive comments to say about their stay.
I would surely try to stay here when we visit the area again and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greekcypriot2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nikiana
0.2 mi away
Porto Galini Seaside Resort & Spa
4.2 mi away
Villa Olga Hotel Apartments & Studios
0.2 mi away
Aliki Hotel
Aliki Hotel
#2 of 12 in Nikiana
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Alexaria Holiday Homes
Alexaria Holiday Homes
#9 of 76 in Lefkada
100 reviews
10.4 mi away
Grand Nefeli
Grand Nefeli
#4 of 12 in Vasiliki
137 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tesoro Hotel
Tesoro Hotel
#7 of 12 in Nikiana
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ionian Blue Bungalows & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ionian Blue Bungalows & Spa Resort

Property: Ionian Blue Bungalows & Spa Resort
Address: Nikiana 31100, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Lefkada > Nikiana
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nikiana
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Nikiana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ionian Blue Bungalows & Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ionian Blue is a luxury hotel on the eastern seaside of the island Lefkada. The hotel is built on a natural descent, while its rooms are going downhill in front of the calm blue waters of the Ionian Sea. The fantastic view cross the straits between Lefkada and the mountains of the western mainland Greece, additional with the magical images of the white triangular sails of the passing yachts offer a great sense of serenity, contemplation and escape from the daily routine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ionian Blue Bungalows & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ionian Blue Bungalows And Spa Resort
Ionian Blue Bungalows Hotel Nikiana
Ionian Blue Lefkas
Ionian Blue Hotel
Ionian Blue Bungalows & Spa Resort Lefkada/Nikiana, Ionian Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing