We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is not a 5* hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ionian Blue Bungalows & Spa Resort
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Nikiana
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“This is not a 5* hotel”
Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

Excellent place and design. Very bad service and poor cleanness. The personnel during breakfast could not serve all clients. Someone has to tell them to employ more staff during high season. We had HB but the food served was poor in variety and in taste. This was at least 3* quality so we didn't use it. They have to improve many things in terms of service and menus to be a 5*.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank athenskm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    67
    72
    47
    40
See reviews for
127
107
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

Please do not be fooled. I travel weekly all around the world for work and I finally got 3 days of vacation and decided to treat myself to a 5-star hotel. HORRIBLE, TERRIBLE, PLEASE SAVE YOURSELVES THE TROUBLE AND DO NOT VISIT THIS HOTEL!! AWFUL SERVICE, rude people, dirty rooms, didn't I mention rude people and horrible service?
Seriously, feel free to contact me if you need further information! I swear I'm being honest, do not go to this hotel. Location is definitely worth it, but there are other places in the area!
And to hotel management: feel free to contact me. I'd love to talk to you since you were "unavailable" these past couple of days...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Nikolas23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nikiana hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
greece
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

In general reasonably nice hotel with nice facilities. The rooms are large and comfortable, although be prepared for light very early in the morning. The pool is very nice and the food quite good. The views are spectacular and the location very convenient. Loses much though in service and oraganisation. If there is a problem in the room do not expect to solve it immediately. The hotel has not enough staff and most of them are young people making their practice. There is also a slight problem with cleaning.
If you find a deal then it is worth going. Otherwise their normal values ​​under any circumstances do not respond to what they offer, as the hotel is in no case five star.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ioanap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Friends had recommended this hotel, but we were terribly disappointed. Not as clean as it should be, not well organized, not well managed. Of course, if you get a huge discount it was worth going, because of its location. Otherwise, try some other place...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Initially there is an excellent location of this hotel. During the night you can enjoy a magnificent view and a cool breeze in the restaurant or lobby of the hotel.
The hotel has excellent facilities. The gardens are well maintained and are everywhere within the hotel buildings.
Restaurant has an excellent choice of food as someone would expect from a 5 star hotel. The personnel comprises of local people with an impressive professionalism and natural kindness.
The reception was very kind and flexible, when we requested a change in our room.
Cleaning in the rooms was ideal. Everything was clean and well presented.
There was some noise around the room, while the garden was smelling not in a beautiful way during the night.
Air conditioning was adequate in the rooms. It was slow but very efficient and silent. During breakfast indoor temperature was just less than sufficient!! On the other hand having dinner in the balcony was magic!!
We did not try spa facilities. However there was a great amount of spa facilities to choose from!!
I will probably visit this hotel again. For its location, facilities and people!!

Room Tip: Try rooms that start from 5...not from 2. They are in a lower level and have good access to the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eppantelidis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

The room was so filthy and we stayed up all night killing mosquitos! I will call the department that rate the hotels in Greece and will try to rerate this hotel. We left after the 1st night and went to porto galini hotel which is very clean and nice.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gesthimania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

How this hotel can class its self as 5 star is beyond me! No air conditioning, Horrible breakfast, Poor service and the rest.

DONT BELIEVE OTHERS praising the hotel, newly created members are related to the owners.

As a hotel manager with 15 years experience I was disgusted with this hotel, save your money and stay elsewhere!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank johnnyturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nikiana
0.2 mi away
Porto Galini Seaside Resort & Spa
4.2 mi away
Villa Olga Hotel Apartments & Studios
0.2 mi away
Aliki Hotel
Aliki Hotel
#2 of 12 in Nikiana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Grand Nefeli
Grand Nefeli
#4 of 12 in Vasiliki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
6.6 mi away
Alexaria Holiday Homes
Alexaria Holiday Homes
#8 of 76 in Lefkada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
3.9 mi away
Alkyon Apartments & Villas Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ionian Blue Bungalows & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ionian Blue Bungalows & Spa Resort

Property: Ionian Blue Bungalows & Spa Resort
Address: Nikiana 31100, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Lefkada > Nikiana
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nikiana
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Nikiana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Ionian Blue Bungalows & Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ionian Blue is a luxury hotel on the eastern seaside of the island Lefkada. The hotel is built on a natural descent, while its rooms are going downhill in front of the calm blue waters of the Ionian Sea. The fantastic view cross the straits between Lefkada and the mountains of the western mainland Greece, additional with the magical images of the white triangular sails of the passing yachts offer a great sense of serenity, contemplation and escape from the daily routine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Bookgreece.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ionian Blue Bungalows & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ionian Blue Bungalows And Spa Resort
Ionian Blue Bungalows Hotel Nikiana
Ionian Blue Lefkas
Ionian Blue Hotel
Ionian Blue Bungalows & Spa Resort Lefkada/Nikiana, Ionian Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing