We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“PLATAKIA BLU IS ETHEREAL...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Paleokastritsa, Corfu, Ionian Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jacob T
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“PLATAKIA BLU IS ETHEREAL...”
Reviewed 28 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018
1
person found this review helpful

It doesn't even seem possible that there could be such a heavenly place until you step out onto the expansive balcony of a room here and see the view. It gives you the idea that the world is your swimming pool and you can dive into a vacation of ethereal joy.

One thing to know about Corfu is that it is not a place of epic luxury and high-class civilization, like Las Vegas or other very established tourist destinations - it is a place where the simplicity and beauty of Greece has been preserved and you cannot argue when you "get what you get" as far as civilization and luxury go. Nevertheless, Platakia Blu provides the level of luxury and the amenities that those coming from afar would expect on their vacation.

There are only 5 rooms here, so you will not be staying in a hotel packed out with other tourists and vacationers. You almost get the idea that you have your own house while in Corfu. Most likely you will have the beautiful pool all to yourself as well. And the care you get here will be very personal.

Platakia Blue is but a walk away (literally) from the most gorgeous beaches around. The one right below - which you have an epic view of - has a small, personal beach. If you walk a bit further you will reach a beach after about 5 or 10 minutes which is more populated and is filled with restaurants, ice cream bars, etc. People from all over the world are there. It is surrounded by rocks, including a cave that you can explore and rocks you can climb. Even though the waters are deep, they are clear as a swimming pool and you are not scared to jump in and swim in the deep end. I even climbed onto large rocks about 20 feet high and jumped off.

Between the two mentioned beaches is a place where you can rent a boat and go boat riding to some of the most incredible sights and beached in Corfu. Paradise Beach, for example, can only be reached by boat and is out of this world.

In short, this is a wonderful place right by all of the main attractions you won't want to miss on your summer vacation in Corfu.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol37wi...
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 24 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Superb apartments in great location with wonderful views. Spiros the owner and house keeper Hanna were both so lovely and keen to ensure we had a lovely stay. Will actually miss them so will have to return. This is the best place to stay in Paleokastrítsa can’t wait to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surefield
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Platakia Blu apartments”
Reviewed 19 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Some people were anxious about booking this place due to the very few reviews, but we decided to go for it and it's everything that the website claims.

Simply fabulous view over the cove containing the small port, in one of Corfu's loveliest small coastal towns.

Apartments are large ( sitting room and bedroom ) with new fittings and double balcony.

Well worth it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alielmuch...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Perfect location with views to die for”
Reviewed 10 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Platakia for two weeks (mum, dad and 3 year old) for two weeks at the end of May and Beginning of June 2018.
The apartments are excellent; clean and tidy and regularly refreshed (beds made, whole property swept etc) by the wonderful and friendly house keeper. There were a few basics available on arrival (tea, coffee, milk, water, orange juice) so you can arrive, hydrate, then hop straight into the lovely pool downstairs. The pool is excellent and has a shallow end for kids and a decent deep end. There are enough sun beds for all guests and the view from the pool over the bay never ceased to amaze us - breathtaking. The rooms are beautiful and comfortable with retractable mozzie screens built into the doors (not one bite in two weeks, although we sprayed used plug ins too). The air con is great, and only works when all the doors are closed. Unusual but energy efficient, which is very important on an island when the weather is roasting. The cooking area is somewhat basic , With limited food storage and a small sink area, but fine for holiday cooking, which we took advantage of on several evenings after long days out. The hill up to the apartments is a challenge at first, but with practice becomes easier. At the bottom of the slope turn right and the entrance to the local beach is about 20 metres along. Nice beach with cheap sun beds.

Beaches - Paleo has 5 main beaches that are in walking distance from the apartment. Turn left and walk past the local tavernas and shops and and there's a lovely beach down by the Akron hotel with great sunbeds, pedalos, great snorkelling along the left hand side of the rocks, and two restaurant bars by the beach. Walk another five minutes for the beautiful views of the clear waters by La Grotta. Great cocktail bar which does food too and a chance to jump off the rocks into the sea.
Turn right from the apartment and walk for ten minutes and you're in the main part of Paleo (fairly flat walk with a few modest hills). There you have the harbour (with a sixth "bonus" beach. Carry on down the main road and you'll rach the three town beaches (there's one behind the aquarium with a beach café) and turn right after the Apollon and walk for 200m for the stunning Ampelaki beach. All beaches have sunbed hire, but they are public beaches so you can just chuck your towel down if you want. Excellent snacks from The Bakery attached to the Appolon which served excellent pastries, huge crossaints and tasty paninis when we wanted lunch on the beach. Each beach has a distinct flavour and all are worth a few hours of your time. Snorkelling is good at all the beaches, although sadly the coral is mainly dead through human contact. Don't expect Nemo underwater views here! The sea was fine to swim in in May if a little chilly furst thing in the morning, but was plenty warm by the end of our stay.

Trips - Boat hire is everywhere and is similarly priced everywhere. We didn't realise that the flyer in the apartment was for the Housekeeper's partner who runs boat trips (sorry) so booked elsewhere. We booked a 7 person boat for the day which was excellent value at about 120 Euros, but you can hire a smaller boat for 60 Euros per day - bargain! there's loads of beaches to see and it really was a great day out. Aside from hotel excursions there are very few locally advertised trips further afield from Paleo. it seems the view is that Paleo is a day trip destination, so we had to contact travel companies online to arrange a day trip to Paxos, for example - totally worth it though as Paxos and Antipaxos are stunning beyond compare. Getting to Corfu town on the standard bus is straight forward, and is aided by the apartment's location as by the time it reaches the edge of Paleo, the bus is full. Be warned; you get dropped off near the old town but have to make your way to the terminal for the return - it's a fair old walk on a hot day, although the terminal is air conditioned on your arrival and all departures are on screens with departure bays.

Car rental - We chose not the hire a car as we wanted to get lots of exercise. This was fine but limited our scope to visit other towns. The roads in the main were fairly quiet in May although Corfu Town was naturally busier. You can enjoy all of Paleo without a car, but if you want to see the whole island and get down and gritty, I'd suggest a car or moped.

Food - Lots of great restaurants around. Local to the apartment, Belvedere, Aladino and Dolphin were all fantastic. Some more excellent restaurants and by the harbour in town and by the harbour and up by the Akron too. The local dishes are fantastic. I won't bore you but if you like meat you won't be disappointed.

Drinks - Greeks take pride in their drinks. The OJ is almost all freshly squeezed, the cocktails look and taste amazing, the coffee is pretty decent and the local lager Mythos (and indeed the Corfu Red bitter) very palatable. Spirits are on the pricey side, at least they appear pricey since the referendum....

Families - We found the people of Corfu very family friendly everywhere we went. Everyone was lovely to our daughter and made her feel very spoilt.

I wouldn't normally ever return to the same island, yet alone resort. the world is a big place, but even after two weeks we feel that we still have unfinished business in Corfu, and may even go back to the lovely Platakia Blu. Thanks for a memorable holiday, Team Blu!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elma P
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Million dollar view!”
Reviewed 4 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Gorgeous 5 apartment building. Everything is new, clean, high standard. Pool area is stunning - so well looked after, so glamorous! Beautiful place with a million dollar view! Highly recommend. Thank you, Platakia Blu team!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing