We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Akrotiri Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Paleokastritsa
Certificate of Excellence
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Stunning view”
Reviewed 9 July 2011

We stayed at the Akrotiri for four nights. We wanted a few days to relax on the beach in the middle of a rather hectic 3-week European vacation. It turned out to be a very good choice. As soon as we walked into the room and saw the beautiful ocean view from the balcony, we knew we were at the right place. We had a "superior" room on the fourth floor. Note that the first, second, and third floor rooms are actually lower than the main reception level. The room appeared to have been refurbished and looked very clean and modern. Water pressure in the shower was low, but this seems to be the norm in Greece. We went snorkeling from the private "beach"--note this is not a beach but a rocky outcrop with a ladder into the deep water--you need to have some agility to get in and out of the water. There were interesting underwater rock formations and some limited underwater fauna. Watch your step, the stairs to the private beach have no railing and a steep drop--definitely not recommended for unsupervised children or inebriated persons! We spent more time on the public beach, which is okay but rocky rather than sandy. It is not the best beach in Paleokastritsa. the infinity pool is nice, and it seems a lot of guests spend most of their time there.

The hotel staff was helpful. The one weakness of this hotel is the food service. The breakfast is okay but not great. I agree with previous reviewers who have compared it to a school cafeteria line. It is not set up as a proper buffet. We did not attempt to eat dinner there, as there are many good dining options (Nausika, Nereids, and others) in town, a short walk down the road. If they could overhaul and improve their food service, it would make a big difference.

In summary, the Akrotiri is a nice, relaxing place to stay, with some of the most stunning views in Corfu. However, if you are traveling on a tight budget, you could stay in one of the cheaper places in Paleokastritsa and still have access to some very nice beaches and dining options.

Room Tip: Probably book a superior room on the fourth or fifth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jdbalaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    189
    62
    25
    5
See reviews for
140
282
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

My boyfriend and I spent ten days at this hotel last summer and it was incredible! We stayed here half board, which meant that both breakfast and dinner were included. Breakfast was fairly basic but good and dinner was great. More than the food, the rooms, the views and the pool were all amazing! There were also two different options for beaches very close by (rocky or sandy beach). The sandy beach had boat rentals available, as well as various other water sports. I'd definitely recommend renting a boat and going to one of the other beaches that can only be reached by the water. They were much more secluded and fun to snorkel at. We took the public bus in to Corfu town one afternoon, but didn't enjoy it that much. The bus ride was rocky and I ended up getting car sick, so I wouldn't advise that. We did rent a four-wheeler and rode to the other side of the island and loved that! I'd highly recommend that to everyone, the views at the top of the mountain were absolutely breathtaking. The pictures we got from up there were the best ones of the whole trip. I would love to go back to this hotel and would recommend it to anyone going to Corfu!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lsavage24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

This hotel has perfect position with all rooms having a sea view. My wife and I went with my father in law who is 82 years old. We had booked a superior room and my father in law has a double with single occupancy. Reception staff very accomodating and welcoming. Our room was newly refurbished with all the fittings mentioned in our holiday brochure. The interesting feature was the full length mossi screen mesh, when the balcony window was slide back. This allowed us to sleep with the bacony door open, with the sounds of the sea and fresh air rather than air conditioning. The air conditioner was very effective even with low fan speed. No tea or coffee in the room so take own kettle.
The pool area has fantastic sea views and seems very new and well laid out. One depth pool with seperate childrens paddling pool. Sun beds very comfortable with soft mattresses. No pool towels supplied by hotel. Bar by the pool and shaded eating area for lunches. Drinks are served to your sun beds if needed. Beer half litre 3.50 euro ; 300ml glass 2.50 euro ; ouzo 2 euro. Bottle red wine 9 euro. Prices are same or slightly more than in UK. To go to the beach you need to go down flights of steps about 35 steps and quite steep.
Bus stop just outside the hotel for Corfu Town. Bus leaves main beach at paleo. on the hour so bus there at about ten past the hour. Bus from main beach to hotel cost 1.60 euro. Did not go to Corfu Town by bus. Hoel runs courtesy bus on thursday to Corfu Town, starts at 8.30am return at 12.30pm. Taxi into main paleo. beach confusing we went 3 time cost, 10 euro, 8 euro, 7 euro. So they charge what they think.

Hotel food is good and is NOT buffet but served to table. The food is more like taverna food and is Greek cuisine. Waitresses are excellent.
For a change: Try turning right out of the main hotel entrance and go 100 yards up the road to the Bar Tango which has superb views of the mountain and the sea as it is in an elevated position. This means you get a welcoming cooling breeze. Beer slightly cheaper than the hotel and they do a daily lunch special at a good price.
Next turn left out of the main entrance and walk down the hill about 50 yards to Nereids restaurant, which has been beautifully laid out with running water and a variety of plants. The Greek night here on Saturday is epic. The full show of dancing men, smashing plates, lifting tables with teeth, dancing on tables with fire and fire on the dance floor. By the way the food is very good as well.
Go past Neireids and walk about 250 yards along the road and you will come to The Nausica restaurant which we did not eat in but it looks good. More important is next door to this restaurant is the nearest Supermarket. Pint bottle of beer here for 1.08 euro fully stocked with drinks and foods.
On the main Paleo. beach take a boat trip to see the coast from the sea and some caves, about 50mins in time cost 10 euro and worth it. Again on the sea and nice cooling breeze. Othe longer trips are available as well.
Glad we booked taxi transfers from the airport as the Thomas Cook bus picked up at our hotel at 8.45am for a 13.15pm flight home. Only 30 mins from the airport. Our taxi picked us up at 10.45pm and we were at the airport by 11.15am.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank evsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

We stayed 2 days and had 2 rooms for our family of five. Both rooms had the most fantastic water view we have ever seen. The the bathrooms were updated and the beds comfortable. The infinity pool was perfect and we swam in the water off the "rocky beach" which was a thrill. We ate breakfast at the hotel which was average but at night went out to a local restaurant (Nerides) for terrific Greek food. If the in house food impres this place will be #1. Kids had a great time as well and the food by the pool was very good with good service.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank renmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

My wife and I do not usually go for big hotels/package holidays but tried this one because we were using Tesco Clubcard Vouchers to pay for half the cost and this place seemed to be one of the best for the quiet "chill out" week we wanted. I must say that the Akrotiri Beach was a pretty good choice.
Our package through Cosmos included a standard room and half-board. The standard rooms are on the slightly noisier side of the hotel overlooking the main beach. Our room (513) was reasonable, but the view across the beach and bay was spoiled by extremely high pine trees blocking most of the view. During our first night, we also realised that road and hotel bar noise is more prevalent on this side of the hotel.
We decided to upgrade to a "superior" room (537) on the quieter side of the hotel. These rooms have recently been upgraded and refurbed to a good standard. They have good balconies and fantastic sea views. It was also extremely quiet and, at least for us, was well worth the 120 euro cost (20 euros per night).
Best rooms are on top 2 floors (500-509 & 400-409 standard) and (531-539 & 431-439 superior). Lower floors suffer from more hotel and outside noise and the views are not so good. Bathrooms in all rooms are OK but are pretty small and could do with a refurb.
Hotel food - Breakfast was fine with good hot and cold choices; All self-service; Tables are quickly cleared and re-set and the "sit anywhere" policy means you can usually get a really nice table next to open patio doors with sea views. Evening meals are definitely not 4* standard! 4 courses available with choice of main. Starters are generally OK but the main courses were pretty grim. The maitre d' was not the ogre suggested in other reviews - Just perfunctory. He allots your table on a nightly basis - Get there at 7.30 or 8.45PM for the tables near the patio doors and views. Wine is good value with evening meals - Mostly in 8-10 euros per bottle range.
Hotel staff - We found everybody to be really pleasant and helpful throughout the hotel and they all have a good command of english. The waiting staff are particularly friendly, without exception.
Hotel bar - Great place for pre-dinner drink on terrace with lovely beach, bay and port views. Prices are the same as local bars.
Pool Area - Really good pool and jacuzzi; Excellent sun beds and parasols round pool and on lower deck. Good pool bar for drinks, ice creams and lunches. There are plenty of loungers but may suffer from "early morning towel reservation" syndrome at busy times.
Hotel bus to Corfu town - A joke! 1 trip on Thursdays only. Likely to be fully booked unless you can book 2 weeks in advance. Local buses stop outside hotel and are 2 euros each way - Forget the taxis which are about 40 euros.
Local amenities - The Akron beach bar that is associated with the hotel is excellent for lunches (Do try the courgette chips with your greek salad) and they play some terrific music. The sloping beach is course sand and stones with lounger and parasol hire from the beach bars. Water taxis or hired motor boats can get you to better sandy beaches. There is also a dive school and boat/pedalo hire on the beach.
Eating Out - If you are on B&B or like us could not face the half-board evening meal every night, there are several good places to eat. Nereids (200m away) is very good but our best meal was at Adama (5-10 mins walk towards the port). Excellent "Bekri Meze" for about 12 euros (2 people share) is the biggest and best starter. Not much else needed afterwards so don't order big main courses. Very good local wine by the carafe as well. Pay by cash only.
Bars - Petrino and Cafe Tango are nice locations with decent music.
Conclusion - For a fairly quiet holiday, we would highly recommend the Akrotiri Beach, in a superior room and B&B board.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jimkEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

We stayed as a family at the Akrotiri beach hotel. This hotel is a very beautiful place to stay. The outside view is great. The clear pool of this hotel is another attraction. We stayed in a two bed room suite. The accommodation was fantastic. It was spacious, clean and tidy. The breakfast usually is delicious and has a range of items in it. So were the dinners. The staffs were warm and friendly. The beach was gorgeous and we enjoyed it. The beach area was clean and spotless. The entertainment during the evenings was great. We would definitely stay at this place again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawmichal00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Paleokastrica is one of the best places in the world. The beaches are very nice, but almost with rocks. This hotel is up on the hill, so it has a wonderful sight. The hotel is between a 4 star and a 3 star hotel. The cleaniness is not the best. The staff is so amateur (mainly in the restaurant). The waiter who gets the orders (in a suit) is always hurry and not so kindful. He did NOT waited to finish our order ! We had to call another waiter to finish ! I have never seen such a bad service in my life ! The others are very slow, they can't really understand english, but they are kindful. The food is awful. The choice is very-very poor. I don't suggest to eat here. You can choose dinner from 2-3 things. But all is very bad. We were 5 people, but everybody though the same. Else the hotel is good, but needs much reorganization !

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PThomy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paleokastritsa
7.9 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
15.9 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,166 reviews
12.6 mi away
Aeolos Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Paleo ArtNouveau
Paleo ArtNouveau
#13 of 13 in Paleokastritsa
244 reviews
5.6 mi away
Philoxenia Hotel Corfu
Philoxenia Hotel Corfu
#1 of 4 in Ermones
747 reviews
7.5 mi away
Grecotel Eva Palace
Grecotel Eva Palace
#2 of 3 in Kommeno Bay
1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akrotiri Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akrotiri Beach Hotel

Property: Akrotiri Beach Hotel
Address: Paleokastritsa 49100, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Paleokastritsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Paleokastritsa
#3 Family Hotel in Paleokastritsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Akrotiri Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Akrotiri Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Akrotiri Beach
Akrotiri Beach Paleokastritsa
Akrotiri Beach Hotel Paleokastritsa, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing