We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous position but a few tweaks could make it so much better.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Akrotiri Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Paleokastritsa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I visited this hotel at the end of June beginning of July. We arrived late because of the French air traffic strike and were given a room in a lower category to the one we booked. Not a good beginning but in the light of day we were rapidly and efficiently moved to a superior room on a higher floor and so got to see just how great the sea views are from all levels. The superior room is comparable to a Good Holiday Inn but has a nice balcony with sea views but forget the tea and coffee making facilities they don't exist.The hotel say they would never sell their own coffee.
Breakfast is a scrum and supplies very variable unripe nectarines peaches one minute there will be melon another bananas just the luck of the draw. Uninteresting bread, eggs depend on how long they've sat in the buffet. One day there will be bacon another horrible sausages. no continuity. All drinks are also self service and dispensed from a Nescafe machine creating long queues as guests have to repeatedly press the buttons to get a pot full of coffee. Such a shame because it puts guests off trying Dinner which is completely different.
Dinner is a civilised waiter service event. A good value for money pleasant four course menu with fish meat and veggie options but veggie seemed limited to omelette rather often. Waiters and waitresses are cheery pleasant and efficient what's happened since the miserable sour lot at breakfast?
There are also a number of local Tavernas all much the same but pleasant to visit.
Now little niggles that irritate and could be corrected at little expense. Paper napkins are useless , there are never paper towels in the toilets but the dispenser is there. One wet towel lies by the basin all day. Staff at reception are often unwelcoming unhelpful and uninform=med giving misinformation about the once a week courtesy bus to Corfu Town (ONCE A WEEK that's right.)The hotel hand out says they change money but if you try they say they don't. But if you persist they do. Ah well its the currency crisis!
Down on the beach the atmosphere is lively pleasant and welcoming the beach bar serves good food and drink and must have the cleanest washrooms in the country. A pleasure.
Would I return. Yes but it could be so much pleasanter with a few tweaks and staff remembering that in fact their jobs depend on customer satisfaction. Yes I know the public are a pain but don't tell them if you work in a hotel. At least don't let it show.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are on the higher floors and refurbished. Premium rooms seem tired and don't hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lj4312uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (603)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 603 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed here for 1 week at the beginning of July 2014. There isn't really a negative about this hotel but i'll get the couple of bad points out the way first. When we arrived at around lunchtime on our first day we were met by quite a frosty middle aged lady who in an abrupt fashion told us our room wasn't ready and we would have to wait about 30mins. We went off to have a look around the hotel and when we came back we were shown to the room by the same lady. From what others in the hotel were saying I'm pretty sure we had a superior room that was very clean, spacious and even included a safe within the room (free of charge). We were on the 3rd floor and our balcony had amazing views across the bay and out to sea. We stayed on a half board basis and the food was good. Breakfast was a buffet that included mainly continental food with the usual bacon, sausage and eggs. Evening meal was a 4 course set menu each night with a choice of about 5 different mains and desserts. Both breakfast and evening meals became quite repetitive but the quality, flavour and decent choice made this not an issue. The hotel was overall very clean but what makes this hotel stand out is by far the pool area with its amazing views from the infinity pool and access to a private beach. This isn't exactly a beach and can be tricky to get down to if you aren't that steady on your feet. As others have said on the opposite side to the pool there is also access to a medium sized beach that has 2 bars/restaurants on, a diving centre and water sports. This is where we hired a small motor boat which enables you to sail independently up and down the coast stopping at various picturesque beaches and coves (highly recommended). We arranged the hire from Michalas boat hire which is just down the hill and cost us 50euros for about 7 hours (10am-5pm). We took the Green Bus (public transport) to Corfu Town from the stop just outside the hotel for about 4euros for two people. It travels on a regular basis but be aware is doesn't come back from Corfu Town very late. Latest return journey was about 8.30pm. We took a taxi back at a cost of 35euros. Paleokastritsa itself is a traditional Greek resort which is fairly laid back and quiet at this time of year. We were told by a restaurant owner that in August the place is overrun by Italians so maybe this would change our view of Paleokastritsa. Paleokastritsa doesn't really have a centre or a traditional strip you would find in larger resorts but along its main road there are a selection of small bars and Greek tavernas.

Room Tip: We travelled with Thomascook but didn't pay for a superior room but requested a sea view. we wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank JessChestnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The Akrotiri Beach Hotel is in a beautiful location on top of a rock between two bays, with superb views from our south-facing room on the 4th floor. There is access to a beautiful infinity pool at the hotel and two beaches at the bottom of the rock, one with a diving centre, boat rentals and two beach restaurants.
Breakfast is nice and with reasonable choice, especially fresh fruit, and we were allowed to take our breakfast to an outside south-facing terrace with stunning views of the bay - otherwise, breakfast is served only inside the restaurant. We also had dinner in the restaurant twice, quite satisfactory with four courses for only 13 Euros - very good value.
The hotel is somewhat oldfashioned and would benefit from renovation, but overall, it is ok. The staff are very helpful and friendly, and we would definitely be very happy to return to Akrotiri Beach again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Fellini250693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

What more is there to say? This is the 14th year in a row we have stayed in this hotel.

The views from this hotel are second to none, regardless of what side of the hotel you are on. We prefer the views from the south side of the hotel from the superior rooms and it is definitely worth spending a little extra to be upgraded to that side. All rooms come with a fridge, air con and free WiFi (which worked perfectly in my room).

We ate in the hotel for one night and it was perfectly adequate, although be warned that it is a set four course menu, so there is a lot to eat! Which is why we always book B&B as we like to have a wider selection (recommend paying Nausika taverna a visit). For breakfast there is a wide and varied choice.

The pool area is lovely with the infinity pool looking out to the sea, but if you prefer the beach, its only a short walk down some steps (although it is pebbley, so take beach shoes with you).

Roll on September so we can go back!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a superior room for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank MickeyThePikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Stayed here in June, had a great week. Really friendly staff, rooms were a good size each with a balcony overlooking the bay. Food wasn't great but breakfast sufficed. Location was fantastic, with a beach on one side and views over a bay on the other. Quick walk to a few great restaurants too. Pool area was amazing with brilliant views.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank atickner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My first ever package tour ! Was somewhat wary that there would be tussles at breakfast and sunbed wars - how different this hotel is and I was totally enchanted. The position is on a finger shaped rock promontory, on one side you have a view out into the Ionian Sea that is just awesome , on the other side is a view of the local beach cove, so sea view either side - don't bother paying a supplement for a sea view! The restaurant and pool look to the Ionian , the bar looks to the bay so your breakfast is eaten with a jaw dropping view better than any I have seen in the brochure. We had a standard room with bay view which was clean, well maintained and had a fridge and free wifi and aircon - the maids came and cleaned, made beds each day and our sheets were changed 4 times in 10 days. There are 3 options to swim here, a fab infinity pool with the amazing view , a vertiginous climb down many steps and ladder into the sea in that view or more gentle steps the other side down to the beach ( a mixture of small stones and chunky sand). The poolside cafe and beach cafe are both owned by the hotel and prices were extremely fair - greek salad lunch / club sandwich / greek sandwich all around 5.50 euro. The beach bar is wonderful for quiet evening cocktails watching the stragglers leave the beach and we had the fun of watching some very arty wedding photos being taken in the dusk one evening. The food was adequate but I would not go half board here again - the evening menu is set with fixed 4 course dinner - the first 2 courses are no choice but then there are @ 4 choices each of mains and pudding. When the hotel cooks Greek its fab but there was too much attempting to copy Uk and German food and it was not great ( lots of great Tavernas in walking distance so not a problem - try Spiros open BBQ taverna 500yds up the hill - lamb amazing). Hotel breakfast was wonderful if you stuck to fruit, breads and amazing yoghurt with honey - but the attempt at bacon and egg was very odd. Also for such a wonderful place why is the breakfast 'orange' juice so strange ?! I am not sure it had ever met an orange , was strange tasting and v sweet but yet you could buy a large glass of delicious freshly squeezed by the pool.
I can only say I will be back here in a heartbeat if I get the chance - it was so beautiful and the staff so friendly. If you get the opportunity , take it !

Room Tip: Don't pay for sea view, they all have one. If you can afford it , upgrade they look awesome ( bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarahmary572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This was the second time we had stayed and had a room with a better view this time. All the staff are friendly and one of the reception girls even recognised us from last year. Breakfast is good with plenty of choice and lots of fresh fruit on offer. We spent most days on the beach or walking in surrounding area which is a bit hilly. We did not have to pay for the sun beds and umbrellas, although the hotel leaflet says you do, maybe in peak season they charge! Dinner is a 4 course meal but little choice for vegetarians for the main course. We used the free hotel bus to visit Corfu town. The location of this hotel is lovely with sea views all around and only 40 mins from the airport. There are 2 café bars on the beach which both serve good food and have really friendly staff as well.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SnowQueen2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paleokastritsa
15.9 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,474 reviews
0.5 mi away
Odysseus Hotel
Odysseus Hotel
#3 of 13 in Paleokastritsa
267 reviews
7.9 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Aeolos Beach Resort
6.9 mi away
Louis Corcyra Beach Hotel
10.1 mi away
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
#3 of 11 in Corfu Town
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akrotiri Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akrotiri Beach Hotel

Address: Paleokastritsa 49100, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Paleokastritsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Paleokastritsa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Paleokastritsa
Price Range: £80 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Akrotiri Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Akrotiri Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Akrotiri Beach
Akrotiri Beach Paleokastritsa
Akrotiri Beach Hotel Paleokastritsa, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing