We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific Location, View etc. but Very Cold Sea All the Time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Akrotiri Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Paleokastritsa
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Terrific Location, View etc. but Very Cold Sea All the Time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2009

While living very close to the village you would feel absolutely secluded. Very green place with two beaches - rocky and sand/stone. The sea is quite deep and very cold even in August. Some days only the bravest visitors dared to swim.
Quite expensive sunbeds and umbrellas - 8 euros for 2 persons.

It is better to take bed and breakfast. Breakfast is OK.
Best tavern to have dinner at is Spiros.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thaiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    185
    62
    25
    5
See reviews for
138
277
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2009

We took our two sons, aged 10 and 7, to the Akrotiri beach hotel after hearing about the renovations. The locations is absolutely breathtaking -- the view from any part of the hotel is beautiful. We could have clicked picture postcards from our balcony. We had the family room which was very spacious and had lots of cupboard space -- although it was more like a service apartment than a hotel room. Eleni and the staff were very warm and helpful and we all became great friends. The hotel is in the most beautiful part of Corfu -- though the water is cold. While there is no hectic nightlife in the vicinity, this suited us fine, and the hotel itself always had plenty going on. Do check out Cafe Tango and La Grotta both of which are right next door.

Eleni -- we will be back soon! We promise!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VikramChandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marseille, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2009

I found this hotel on an internet search and I was amazed by stunning sourroundngs. I was very pleased by the place where it was located so I choosed to spend my holliday there.
I am glad because I choosed this hotel because what I found there was better than my expectations.
We found very clean rooms, they cleaned them every day and every day changed the towels and what was nedded.
The people working there were very kind, friendly.

The breakfast was selfservice, good but in every morning almost the same things. The dinner was also good and every day you were able to choose from 4-5 different kinds of food. The waiters and waitresses were very friendly.

I can say that choosing half board was not quite a good choice for me because I was eating at lunch at taverns in Paleokastritsa and when was time for dinner my stomac was full.

We stayed a lot on the beach and in water. The beach is not sandy but with small pebles. Not a bad thing if you buy water shoes.

The internet was ok we used it once to send some messages and find some routes. I think that all the rooms should have internet connection since today it is used more often than the telephone.

Greetings to Eleni, the asistent manager, and all staff. They are doing a very good job.
I was very pleased there and next time when I'll go in Corfu I'll stay at Akrotiri for sure.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnyBe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N Wales
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2009

Didnt stay at the akrotiri this year but popped in to see Aris and could see that the outside has been completely updated with new balcony screens etc - Aris also showed us the refurbed rooms on the side overlooking Liapades and they are fab - will definately be staying there again next year. Apparently the bar and pool areas are being updates this winter so should be even bettter 2010!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MillicentNWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2009

Just got back from the Akrotiri Beach Hotel located on a stuning peninsula.

The hotel is currently undergoing major upgrades in all areas. We had a newly refurbished room located above the bar on the top (5th floor) 2 floors above bar and reception.

Checking in was handled very well and we were shown 2 rooms, the first had a double bed, but the wardrobe space was completely inadequate for two adults, the second room had twin single beds, but double the wardrobe space, so we chose this.. the room was very clean, with an unstocked mini fridge, tv (world bbc news, and a couple of music channels) small balcony with fantastic views of the area.

Wi-Fi Internet: is free and only available around the reception area,(unless you upgrade to a premier room) however, connectivity is intermittent and the lady I spoke to about this was not interested - she only appeared to be helpful to people who wanted to buy something, ie, car hire, trips etc.. There are two computers just outside the restaurant, and you can buy vouchers at reception for 3 euros for half an hours usage.

Breakfast: is self service and plentiful - however, it is the same every day.

Dinner: varies, and is usually (as mentioned here a few times) not as hot as it should be. Mostly it is quite bland - however, the girls who serve are very friendly - which I appreciated, as most waiters/waitresses I encounter are quite miserable. Music is provided most nights by live 'entertainers' sometimes it can get very load making it nearly impossible to communicate with each other and staff..

Bar: Spiro is the head bar man. After dinner, the live band/entertainer will be located here until about midnight. The nights that have the most people are when the girls (and boy) from the restaurant do some traditional Greek dances - this is fun. The drinks are expensive 6 euros for a vodka tonic, whilst less than 1 minute away in a nicely decorated bar the same drink is 3.50 euros. Although most cocktails at the hotel are 3.50 euros.

Pool/Bar: I think there are plans to extend this area. It is quite dated, with a small pool and not enough sunbeds or sunshades. The food is okay.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay here, and it ticked most of our boxes. Relaxing, Sun, Clean, Pool, beach, no driving, no housework..

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larry1821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2009

So the hotel is no longer "dated" as many of the previous posts say. The renovation is very modern and lovely. The pictures on their website are completely accurate, and you can tell the rooms are new and very clean. We stayed in the Panorama Suite for the first leg of our honeymoon, we were the first people to stay in it after the renovation. The ONLY negative thing I would say about the Akrotiri is that the suite does not have any sort of panoramic view and is thus kind of unfairly advertised. The balcony only faces one direction, but it is spacious and relaxing and has a beautiful view. The beach is down many stairs which were no problem for us but if you are elderly or infirm would pose a problem. The hotel restaurant serves a passable breakfast but skip dinner in favor of any of the other local restaurants which are more fun anyway. The bar at night is fun, there are lots of drunk retired Brits pounding whiskey with the owner who was a sweetheart himself. We kind of expected that staying in the fanciest room in the hotel we would get some kind of "welcome package" like champagne or a fruit basket, but there was none. Also they don't give you shampoo, only shower gel which is just soap and makes your hair weird. The bathroom is huge and has an extremely relaxing tub and a nice shower. There are very few English-language channels on the TV but we were so pleasantly tired after sunbathing, renting mopeds, eating lots of food, etc. that we didn't really mind. Other than a few of the luxury items we would expect in the Panorama Suite missing, the staff was very very friendly and welcoming. It kind of reminded me of Dirty Dancing, when they go to that resort in the Poconos or wherever, and the same girls who serve you yogurt in the morning are the ones leading the Greek dancing night and the manager of the hotel sends over whiskey and pistachios at night which is kind of weird but touching nonetheless. Recommended!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leslielikestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2009

We were getting married in corfu town and stayed at the Akrotiri beach hotel because of the spetactular views-breath taking. Although the hotel then was a bit dated I believe it has been updated since. The staff we so helpful and friendly, there was entertainment most nights - which really was entertaining. Evening meals at the hotel weren't great but the was plenty of taverna close by - one of which is right outside the hotel was very good. would definatley stay here again. really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bcastle80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paleokastritsa
7.9 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
5.6 mi away
Philoxenia Hotel Corfu
Philoxenia Hotel Corfu
#1 of 4 in Ermones
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
12.6 mi away
Aeolos Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,040 reviews
0.2 mi away
Paleo ArtNouveau
Paleo ArtNouveau
#13 of 13 in Paleokastritsa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marilena Studios
Marilena Studios
#5 of 13 in Paleokastritsa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akrotiri Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akrotiri Beach Hotel

Property: Akrotiri Beach Hotel
Address: Paleokastritsa 49100, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Paleokastritsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Paleokastritsa
#3 Family Hotel in Paleokastritsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Akrotiri Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Bookgreece.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Akrotiri Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Akrotiri Beach
Akrotiri Beach Paleokastritsa
Akrotiri Beach Hotel Paleokastritsa, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing