We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time at Paleo Inn but not the last”
Review of Paleo Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Paleo Inn
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Paleokastritsa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This was our first visit to Corfu, and The Paleo Inn lived up (and down) to expectations. The staff are extremely friendly, and the number of return visitors was impressive. It gave the feeling that we were joining a close group of friends for the duration of our stay. The pool area was very clean with an ample number of sunbeds. Although it is close to the road, traffic noise was not intrusive. The reference to 'living down' to expectations refers to the small room and lack of aircon on the first floor. However, we knew this before we went and we accept that Greek hotels with this rating are basic. Eating out is a great experience in Paleokastritsa. There is a large choice of restaurants offering mainly Greek food. Our favourite was Nausika, which is within 100 yards of Paleo Inn. Apollon and Smurfs are about 20 minutes walk away in the harbour area and offer stunning views of the bays and the monastery. A walk up to Lakones & Bella Vista is recommended. Most people take an old goat track, but we walked by road as we did not have 'walking' shoes. It was 6 kilometres each way and took all morning, but the views were well worth it. Corfu Town by bus is a 'must do'. It is fun to get lost in the maze of narrow shopping streets and alleys, but as others have said, be prepared for a scrum when trying to board the bus back to Paleo. A trip to Albania was a 12 hour excursion, including a 1 hour ferry from Corfu Town to Sarande. Boarding the ferry involved a passport check and paying 10 euros per person. It took 90 minutes for the process to be completed before the boat departed. Most of the time was taken up by a visit to Roman excavations at Butrint. The area is very wooded/grassy and there are plenty of insects that are ready to bite, so go prepared. Lunch provided was much better that we expected, but the last hour or so spent in Sarande was a bit dissapointing as most of the shops were closed.

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms are on the east side so get the morning sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank whyw0rk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 227 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2013

We stayed the first week in May and were probably the first guests to arrive. There is a nice little bar overlooking the pool which is beautiful. The rooms are quite basic but very clean each with its own outdoor space. The inclusive breakfast was quite basic, tea or coffee, orange juice, toast or bread and jam and butter. You could buy any kind of eggs as an extra for one euro. The location is quite centrally located but not noisy, laid back from the road by maybe 50 metres. The nearest beach is a very short walk and there are many restaurants within walking distance. The town is a commercial resort but was quiet when we were there, mostly middle aged couples. If you are just looking for sun, a beach and pleasant restaurants to choose from then it was great.
The bar staff were very friendly and helpful and all in all very relaxing. For the price we paid we were very happy. It is a small hotel which I think made it nice, with limited facilities but we didn't really want for anything.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank paulgarr13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We have just returned from Palio inn had a lovely time please feed the cats at the top of the steps there is a lovely little black and white one who is pregnant wanted to bring her home bless her you are aloud to feed them at the top of the steps we all did who were staying there. thankyou. The hotel was basic but lovely and friendly nothing to much trouble, made some lovely friends all in all wonderful .

Room Tip: Second floor is more private just to add there is no fitness centre could'nt delete it from rati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pheasanthertfordshir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

You have to go to this little fab hotel .My wife and i went last year 26/7/12 till 9/8/12 and had a great time all the staff vere very helpfull and friendly rooms were clean basic ,superb outlook over the bay friendly bar ,met some very nice people there mid evnings from all over the uk especialy bob and viv from edinburgh ,paleokastritsa is a good place with pleanty of places to eat and good beaches ,there is a great bus service to corfu town for the cost of a few euros bare in mind though the last bus back is at 6 evning and is a bit of a free for all ,my advice would be go for the 4 oc bus back temps in aug are in the high 30s , the paleo inn owener does a bab q night and its great fun he is a very funny man ,anna who i think has moved on was lovely but the rest of the staff are still there .We are off again to the same place same time this year for 2 weeks ,so roll on july

Room Tip: air con second floor room 219 is a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Just had a week with my wife at the Paleo Inn must admit it was very basic even for Greek standards luckly like the last comment got a cheap deal with Thomson.When we arrived the owner was not there but as soon as he arrived back everything seemed to go up in price.The breakfast was what it said toast and jam with extras at 1 euro each this was made worst with cats begging at the table and the incredable amount of fiys.Paleokastritsa is a fantastic place with super views and friendly people and we would have no problem returning but not to this hotel

Room Tip: First floor room a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank meridian_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a week in Paleokastritsa staying at the Paleo Inn. The holiday was a last minute package with Thompson and for what we paid I have no complaints. However had I paid the full brochure price for this holiday then I would have expected a better standard of accomadation. I am going to be as honest as possible and say that it was only the friendly guests that made this hotel feel homely. The owner of the hotel is hell bent on eeking as many euros out of you as possible, making you feel a bit cheated. You are asked to pay 1 euro per person each morning if you want anything other than jam and toast for breakfast. For 1 euro you can have 2 eggs or baked beans. Anything else is extra again. There is a stench of cat urine in the dining area and even cat muck on the chairs was experienced by one unsuspecting resident. However saying all that I felt it was o.k staying here as the other residents were friendly and good company. I would not wish to return to this hotel though. The swimming pool was very cold, again I think possibly the owner was saving money by not heating it. The rooms very basic but adequate in my opinion.We did not ask for air con but others said they had to pay an extra 6 euro a night for the pleasure ?? Staff at the hotel were generally o.k with the exception of one who felt it necasary to stereotype all English people as being demanding. He was quite rude and unhelpful. Paleokastritsa itself was just fantastic. We loved the views from the Byzantine church near Krini Village. Walking in this area was so pleasurable. We had a day I will most likely remember for a long time to come. Greece for me is a wonderful country and this visit was on the whole a great holiday and good value for money. The holiday was let down by this hotel though I suppose - just a little.

Room Tip: No particular good rooms. All basic with side view only except two rooms facing the front but nothi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank themarle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

I'm afraid the cats were a huge problem for us. Not the hotels fault as they had put up a notice asking people not to feed them on terrace or under tables & they provided bowls in the olive grove behind the hotel for those that wished to. But that was ignored and they were everywhere -even to the point of not being able to leave shutters open on a night which is a problem when there is no air con.
I would return to the beautiful area of Paleokastritsa but not to this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanSGlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paleokastritsa hotels
0.2 mi away
Akrotiri Beach Hotel
Akrotiri Beach Hotel
#1 of 13 in Paleokastritsa
605 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marilena Studios
Marilena Studios
#4 of 13 in Paleokastritsa
129 reviews
0.1 mi away
Angel's Pool Bar Apartments
Angel's Pool Bar Apartments
#2 of 13 in Paleokastritsa
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ipsia Apartments
Ipsia Apartments
#11 of 13 in Paleokastritsa
20 reviews
0.4 mi away
Odysseus Hotel
Odysseus Hotel
#3 of 13 in Paleokastritsa
268 reviews
0.2 mi away
Paleo ArtNouveau
Paleo ArtNouveau
#13 of 13 in Paleokastritsa
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paleo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paleo Inn

Address: Paleokastritsa 49083, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Paleokastritsa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Paleokastritsa
Price Range: £27 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Paleo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paleo Hotel Paleokastritsa
Paleo Hotel Corfu
Paleo Inn Paleokastritsa, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing