We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A third wonderful visit to the Zefiros - already booked a fourth!”
Review of Zefiros Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Zefiros Hotel
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Paleokastritsa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stayed at the Zefiros on two occasions in 2012 - first visited in May and loved it so much we returned the following month! I have travelled all over the world and rarely returned to the same place twice, let alone three times. For us it's the real deal - great views; clean, fresh and comfortable hotel with an old colonial feel ; delicious food and most of all the most helpful and friendly team who work all hours to ensure their guests have the very best holiday. Well done Iren, Jonny, Nadia, Tanja & Marianna - see you again in September!

Room Tip: They all have balconies or terraces with fabulous sea views - however the higher up rooms are more p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2013

Hotel Zefiros – great location ... great accommodation ... great service.

The owners (Irene and Johnny) and all the staff go out of their way to make your stay a pleasure.
The morning we left Johnny assured us that a cab would arrive in time, and if not he would take us to the airport in Corfu town himself.

The hotel is right across from the beach and you can enjoy the view from the hotel terrace; the breakfast room/bar also looks over the beach. Breakfast was included – we opted for fresh Greek yogurt with honey and walnuts, plus toast and freshly squeezed orange juice, which was perfect for the warm mornings.

It seems that Irene and Johnny know almost everyone in Paleo and in the afternoons and evenings, locals gather in the bar giving it a true buzz. After a hot day Johnnie’s ginger beer flavoured with fresh mint is wonderfully refreshing.

The rooms are high-ceilinged and with combination of thick walls and tiled floors and a/con, are beautifully cool even on very hot days. In our room the bathroom was ‘bijou’ .. small, but perfectly serviceable and functional.

The rooms are on 3 levels with access via a set of outdoor stone steps shaded by trees and vines. There is an ATM at the base of the steps.

The hotel is:
 just across from the beach. The water is beautifully clear – but you'll need aqua shoes to successfully get across the gravel beach. At one end of the beach a variety of boats offer sightseeing trips;
 just across the road from the Police Station;
 50 meters from a well-stocked mini-market;
 50 metres from a series of street stalls selling clothing and souvenirs (and aqua shoes!);
 about a 5-10 minute walk from the Port. Here you will find a very good taverna called The Port. It has charm, ambience, friendly service, and wonderful traditional food cooked by the owners wife.
 a 5 minute walk from tavernas on the beach. To me, and not having eaten there, from the outside these appear a bit ‘touristic’ in style;
 about 50 metres from the bus stop for the ‘green bus’ into Corfu town;
 a 30 minute walk to the monastery for stunning views over the coast.

There is a largish hotel just down the road which provides live entertainment and/or large screen TV broadcast of sport on certain evenings of the week. This noise can be heard from the Zefiros … but we found it always finished pretty early (about 10 pm)

A highly recommended excursion from Paleo is to hire a car and drive up into the mountains. There are truly breath-taking views onto the coast from several vantage points, and the road takes you through some small traditional villages. The road is very narrow with some blind corners (so get a small car!).

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chardon713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Very friendly staff, clean and comfortable hotel with a very good cuisine. The hotel is very close to the beach, has rooms with wonderful view of the sea and you can do a lot of activities around (hiking, diving, car and boat rental)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BurningEye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

The Zefiros Traditional is a lovely small hotel with a personal atmosphere and well decorated clean rooms that have a fridge. The owners are lovely and caring and will always help if you need any information. For breakfast we liked best the Greek Yoghurt with fruit, it´s delicious. You can have your breakfast and meals on the veranda in front of the house. The small snacks offered by Zefiros are really tasty and the price is okay. The beach is right across the street and with cystal clear blue water. From there you can go on boat trips for swimming and snorkeling. The village of Paleokastritsa itself is quite touristy but this small hotel is peaceful - even although it is directly at the main road of Palaokastritsa which can be a bit noisy at daytime. Walk up the hill to the to Paleokastritsa Monastery early in the morning - it´s not so warm and the tourist busses are arriving later. Corfu town is beautiful and worth a trip - perhaps it´s a good idea to take a car.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dascha0s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Great family hotel, beautiful location, very good accommodation and lovely staff. Highly recommend. If you're looking for car hire on the island recommend Dromeas (Rodaonline).
Added interest were the thunderstorms - apparently not uncommon at this time of year. Plenty of good walks, although some of the paths can be difficult to follow. Olive groves are well worth a visit on the mountainsides - very beautiful old trees

Room Tip: Shared balcony not a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

All has already been said about the Zefiros hotel and everything is true. About, for exemple, the advantages of such a small family business - Irena and Johnny go out of their way to make your stay a success and are always there to give you useful advice. The girls - Ashley, Nadia and Tasula - take their turn to attend to your needs with a smile for breakfast (scrumptious, whether it be full English or fresh Greek yogurt with honey and walnuts, plus freshly squeezed orange juice) or a light lunch. The kitchen is small but Andrea makes the best out of it in the evening (his fresh fish is cooked to perfection and moussaka is tastier and lighter than elsewhere). The ginger beer flavored with fresh mint from the garden is a must too. The hotel is right across the beach so that you can see the sea from the terrasse. The dining room-bar adjacent to the reception is also very pleasant - not too big, but high-ceilinged and tasteful decorated. Same comment for the bedrooms - yes the beds are on the hard side but perfectly made by Maria. The family units are well designed and all units have a mini-fridge, plus tea & coffee tray. Several have a terrasse or balcony with a lovely view on the sea through pine trees. If you are sensitive to noise, ask for a room on the third level, east side, away from the street and from the hotel next door which entertains its guests with live (but not too loud) music three evenings a week during high season. The outdoor steps on the left side of the hotel are a bit steep but are lovely shaded by a fig tree, bougainvillea and jasmines. On the other side, a cash machine is right at the foot of the stairs. You will find a well stocked mini-market 20 meters away. The three beaches are a few steps away but be prepared to pay a fee for a chair and parasol if you decide to stay. You'll need aqua shoes to negociate your way to the sea through pebbles (and cigarette butts) but the water is crystal-clear. There is plenty of interesting walks around. First of all, to the monastery up the hill (20 minutes) for the peace and quiet, stunning views over Paleokastritsa and the jagged coast, the beautiful painted ceiling of the chapel, the cats lying everywhere in the inner yard and the pervading fragrance of basil and thyme. Right beside the Odysseus Hotel, you will find the path going up to Lacones, up in the mountain and have lunch up there. A few steps away from the Zefiros, you can hop in a local bus that will take you for a modest fee to the Green Station in Corfu-town. From there you can wander in the old district or take the blue bus to Mon Repos, a beautiful park at the edge of town, or take a green bus to some other place of interest along the coast. My first stay in Corfu won't be the last and I'll come back to the Zefiros, which is in my opinion your best bet in Corfu if you prefer small family hotels.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Missisquoi54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We have just spent the last 14 nights in this lovely hotel and I cannot fault it! Irene arranged a taxi from the airport with Vassilis a true charactor and he is also a dab hand at fitting large amounts of luggage in the boot of his car! We are a family of 5 and we were given a family room on the 1st floor, it was lovely and fresh and we were given plenty of towels, and the air con works great! The breakfasts were lovely and it was a god send that they served breakfast until 11:30 as we had 2 teenagers with us and this meant that they managed to make it most days. Having a shared balcony was really nice and social and we met some really interesting people that we probebly wouldn't of done had we not shared our lovely terrace. We hired a boat for a day from Makis, just ask anyone they all know him, he is a great guy. Jonny and Irene couldn't have been better hosts, not in your face, but Jonny will do anything to help and Irene's really vibrant and yet down to earth, she seems to have really sussed what's important to people on there holidays and whatever it is she manages to deliver. We only ate there a couple of times, but everything we had was delicious and the moussaka was excellent (homemade) and the staff were all extremely friendly and at the same time professional. The cleaning lady was very nice and patient (waiting for my daughter to get up before noon!). We will be back and would advise anyone who loves the sea and small friendly hotels this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bevandboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paleokastritsa hotels
0.7 mi away
Akrotiri Beach Hotel
Akrotiri Beach Hotel
#1 of 13 in Paleokastritsa
603 reviews
0.3 mi away
Odysseus Hotel
Odysseus Hotel
#3 of 13 in Paleokastritsa
267 reviews
0.6 mi away
Angel's Pool Bar Apartments
Angel's Pool Bar Apartments
#2 of 13 in Paleokastritsa
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Fundana Villas
Fundana Villas
#12 of 13 in Paleokastritsa
47 reviews
0.6 mi away
Paleo Inn
Paleo Inn
#6 of 13 in Paleokastritsa
227 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ipsia Apartments
Ipsia Apartments
#10 of 13 in Paleokastritsa
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zefiros Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zefiros Hotel

Address: Paleokastritsa 49083, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Paleokastritsa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Paleokastritsa
Hotel Class:3 star — Zefiros Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The fact that was built in this location was not a coincidence. The natural beauty of the surroundings, where crystal-clear waters meet lush mountains, makes the location unique. Zefiros hotel is built on 4 levels joined by external stairs, in pure traditional Corfiot style(the whole complex is classified as historic building). Today, we, the third generation of owners, have renovated the building and are offering a family atmosphere and homely surroundings, with modern furnishings and facilities in all 11 room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Zefiros Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zefiros Hotel Corfu
Zefiros Hotel Paleokastritsa, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing