We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“THE Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Almyra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Almyra Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Fiscardo
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“THE Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

The best hotel in Kefalonia, with awesome view and exceptional service. Quiet location and very close to Fiscardo. It has spacious rooms with big bathrooms. Probably the best value for money in the northern Kefalonia!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dimitris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    38
    12
    5
    1
See reviews for
50
155
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Church Fenton, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We were looking for quite, relaxing and regenerating peace. We found it. Thank you to the Almyra and the staff for giving us exactly that. Two weeks wasn't enough. We make it a rule never to return to an area/hotel as there are so many other places we wish to see, but we will now make an exception to this rule. We could go on and on about how great it was but would only bore you. Just go and see for yourself.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieLongthorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Just had 2 weeks at the Almyra Hotel, I can't over emphasis how wonderful it was. Great family run hotel, with really good friendly service, caring and respectful service. Lovely rooms with crispy white sheets, very relaxing, great food served at lunch times, only a short walk to Fiskardo where there are great places to eat in the evening (or you can use the minibus service). Everyone works sooooo hard to make sure you have an amazing holiday, we are definitely going back next year. AMAZING!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

This hotel lived up to all our expectations and more. Hotel staff can either make or break a holiday and the staff at the Almyra certainly helped to make our holiday fabulous. Nothing was too much trouble, always polite and smiling and helpful. The breakfast was good, 3 different cereals, juice, hot option-scrambled eggs, boiled, omelettes, sausages, bacon, beans-different choice daily, toast, croissants/cake, fresh fruit, and of course the delicious greek yoghurt and honey. Our room was spacious with lots of cupboard/drawer space. Balcony overlooked side view of sea. Just beautiful. Tea and coffee making facilities were especially welcome. Pool area is lovely. Nice to see Elina the owner and her children enjoying some down time at the pool in the afternoon. Also it's the first ever hotel we have been to where we received a personal farewell and a hug from the owner. The excellent reviews are well deserved. Thank you to everyone at the Almyra.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BensMum56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

The Almyra hotel is a lovely, purpose built hotel. It is clean and elegant. We stayed in one of the 'superior' rooms and this was well worth the small additional charge. Room 100 was on the ground floor and had an extensive area' at the end of the main hotel terrace, for our use (one or two people drifted through in error but this was not a problem). This had perfect sea views. The room (not as large as the one in the official pictures) was fine, with a very comfortable bed and quiet air-con. The drinks in the minibar were very reasonably priced (1 euro for a bottle of water). There were a few typically Greek quirks, such as the 3 outside lights only coming on once you plugged in your magnetic key fob, so you still had to scrabble in the dark to unlock the door! The hot/cold control on the shower also seemed to have a will of its own. The evening minibus shuttle to and from Fiscardo was very handy, but one back to the hotel at lunchtime would have saved us some very hot walks up the hill. The local Emblisi beach was stunning and we found that a pre-breakfast swim there gave us the whole bay to ourselves. Nautilus boat tours from Fiscardo were good days out, with stops for sea swimming off the boat. The whole hotel was beautifully clean as was the pool. We would certainly stay again, but earlier in the year as we found it too hot.

Room Tip: Well worth paying for a superior room. Room 100 would be good for people with mobility problems (ter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clementine100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east sussex
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Just returned from spending a wonderful 8 nights in this beautiful hotel. The staff couldn't do enough for you. The hotel itself was spotless and had views to die for. The bar area was an ideal place to chat with the other guests on returning on the free shuttle bus which leaves fiscardo at 11 back to the hotel. I recommend the family hotel...Tassia, the food was really lovely. One of the waiters even gave six of us a lift back to the hotel at 1.30 in the morning to save us getting a taxi. You can't beat service like that! We also met some lovely people, which made our holiday even more enjoyable... Vic, Marcia, Ray, Julie, Josie and Tony. Would we return? Absolutely x x

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kelly6769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a fantastic two week break at the Alymra Hotel. As you will see from the other reviews, this really is a fabulous place to stay - if, that is, you like a nice, quiet and relaxing atmosphere, friendly staff and clean and pleasant surroundings.

I won't bore anyone with the many reasons why this hotel is so great - all the previous reviews have made it pretty clear - but I will highlight a few of our favourite bits and a couple of (very minor) criticisms that stopped the hotel being truly perfect.

For a Greek hotel the Almyra is very well kept: all the rooms and communal areas are spotless which is a testament to the housekeeping staff and ethos of the owners. The free Wi-Fi is a nice touch and although it would occasionally stop working, it's nice to be able to post photos to Facebook and make all our friends jealous while we were there!

Although I'm sure the hotel accommodates families and younger guests, I'd say its location makes it more suited to couples looking for a quiet getaway. It was really great to be able to sit around the pool and read a book without too many distractions (though there were a few - see further down). The entire fortnight we stayed there were only other couples aside from one family of four with older children who were there for a few days. Most of the couples were older than us as well (we're 32) which was fine as it meant things were pretty relaxed and quiet all around really.

The walk into Fiskardo - as has been said before - is only 10 minutes downhill and perhaps 15 back up again. Early mornings and evenings are fine but doing the walk in the full heat of the day isn't recommended as there is precious little shade so you'll certainly end up sweaty and in need of a cool beer at the harbour or dip in the pool, depending on your direction of travel!

Our only two gripes - and yes they are minor so don't be put off - are firstly the breakfast selection, which is quiet modest and for a slightly fussy eater like myself, I ended up eating lots of toast and jam! Some days they had croissants or pain-au-chocolate which were delicious, but other days were cheese parcels or cake which I didn't particularly like. The Greek yoghurt was a disappointment - if anything it was *too* fresh (yes I'm being very fussy here, humour me) as I prefer it smooth and creamy but found it rather lumpy and quite bitter-tasting, even after adding copious amounts of honey and giving it a good stir. Like I said though, I'm fussy so as long as you aren't then there's no problem, and even I didn't exactly starve...

The other minor annoyance were the children of one of the hotel staff. Again this is fairly minor but given the generally relaxed and quiet atmosphere, it was quite jarring that almost daily the two children would arrive at the pool around lunchtime and proceed to splash and play around - noisily as children will do of course - and this caused quiet a disturbance when everyone else is quietly reading or sunbathing. It just seemed at odds with the rest of the hotel experience and if I were the owners I'm not sure I'd want the children around the pool when guests are there during the day (late afternoon when people are starting to leave would make more sense to me). A few times they also brought some friends along, making things even more rowdy despite them being told by the staff to quieten down (which worked for a few minutes, then back to noisy again!) I'm sure most people are more tolerant to children than we are, and it didn't seem to bother the other guests, but in the interest of a balanced review I had to mention it as it did detract slightly from our overall enjoyment.

However, on the whole it was one of the most enjoyable holidays we've had in a good few years and these two tiny gripes aside was as close to a perfect getaway as we could have asked for.

If you're thinking of booking, then stop thinking and start booking - you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Willapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fiscardo
0.3 mi away
Emelisse Art Hotel
Emelisse Art Hotel
#2 of 8 in Fiscardo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fiscardo Bay Hotel
Fiscardo Bay Hotel
#3 of 8 in Fiscardo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dafnoudi Hotel
Dafnoudi Hotel
#5 of 8 in Fiscardo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
11.0 mi away
Odyssey Hotel
Odyssey Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Efimia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
22.3 mi away
Apollonion Resort & Spa
Apollonion Resort & Spa
#1 of 11 in Lixouri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almyra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almyra Hotel

Property: Almyra Hotel
Address: Fiscardo, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Fiscardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Fiscardo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Almyra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Almyra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almyra Hotel Cephalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing