We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very nice hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Avra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Avra
Ranked #4 of 16 Benitses B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A very nice hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

This hotel is an experience for a traveller...is not a luxury one but the location, the price, the staff is the best combination for your holidays. The rooms are clean and have all the amenities that you want. Everyone there speak english and some of them german. I wen with some friends from Romania and we had the best holidays there. Thank you a lot and to anyone who is planning to visit Benitses Avra hotel is the best choice.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olga M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    24
    7
    5
    10
See reviews for
15
68
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bologna, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

What can I say ... The hotel is fortunately small, so you feel like in your home. The location is perfect, because it allows you to go anywhere on the island. Me and my girlfriend have done 5000 km in quad, oh no, I'm sorry 500 km to see every beach recommended. Sarah Jane was like a big sister, she treated us like old friends. The hotel is clean, simple, but has everything you need for a relaxing holiday. Thank you again Sarah Jane, her husband and son for their kindness

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Volagratis

Helpful?
5 Thank AleBog72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding, California
Level Contributor
184 reviews
176 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

Boy, I would pay the €30 a night rate just to meet Andy &Sarah Jane and sleep on the sidewalk... but no! The room is also included in the price! Amazing. The owners were so frirendly and very helpful. There it is. Bottom line, after 3 weeks on the road, their kindness brought us home for two days. Anyway, the room was nice, all our needs provided for, good location, they supplied us with beach supplies (right across the street) it was clean, yada yada yada.
We are proud to be hanging on their wall! (you have to stay here to figure this one out.)

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LaVidaBuono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah-jane M, Owner at Hotel Avra, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Hi Guys - thanks so much for taking the time from your travels to write the review for us - your ongoing email you sent has already been helpful to 4 other travellers - you might want to think about writing a book? It was lovely to meet you both and even more so that you "totally got" the kind of atmosphere we try to keep up!! Happy travels always - Hotel Avra team!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012 via mobile

Thanks Sarah Jane, you made our unprepared holiday in to a perfect vacation. Staying at hotel Avra feels like being in a perfect home. Sarah Jane really knows how to threat guests and help them where they need help, without being to pushy.

The hotel is located very close to the beach and Corfu town is very easy to reach by bus. This was for us the perfect place to go to.

Thanks again and keep up the great work!

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Wouter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah-jane M, Owner at Hotel Avra, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Thanks so much for taking the time and effort to write a review for us - we are so glad we helped you to get what you needed from your stay here......;-) Best to you both...Happy travels always - best wishes - the Hotel Avra team!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

I stayed for the raster week. The hotel was excellent value for money. The rooms were great, and the hotel is in an excellent spot. The staff that run the hotel made my stay. They are an amazing bunch, and really made my stay. I cannot praise them enough!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JabbyJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah-jane M, Owner at Hotel Avra, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review for us - we are so glad you had a good time and especially at such a special time of the year - all of the "easter lamb" has finally been eaten!
Thanks for joining in!! Best wishes and Happy travels - the Hotel Avra Team!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

Our son works with Andy (at sailingholidays.com, also highly recommended) and suggested that we stay at the Hotel Avra when we went to visit him for four days in October. I wouldn't have chosen to stay in Benitses, but it turned out to be a decision which turned a short break into a real holiday.

Sarah-Jane arranged our car hire, gave us directions on how to reach the hotel, lent us a really good road map and suggested some brilliant locations for us to visit. On our first night we were bothered by mosquitoes and she provided bug killers, a choice of insect repellent and lots of helpful advice. She even found a room for our son for two nights at very short notice.

As others have said, this really is like staying with friends, albeit friends who are incredibly helpful and knowledgeable.

We were there in October when the weather is not too hot and things are quiet, so I can't say what it might be like in high summer.

I've stayed in many hotels over the years, some of them with lots of stars, but I would confidently put the Hotel Avra up there with the very best. I'd love to go back in spring and make some time to walk in the hills behind the town.

Room Tip: Our rooms overlooked the little lane to the south, with a balcony looking out into a lemon tree and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CamillaHerrmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah-jane M, Owner at Hotel Avra, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Thanks so much for taking time to write a review for us - and for all the kind words - hopefully we will see you one spring and you will get to enjoy the great walks around here with the incredible wild flowers around at that time!!! Just have to be careful of the wildlife ;-)) - all the best - the Hotel Avra team!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

To get to the hotel, might be a bit of a challenge if you are on a budget, as the buses get quite confusing and do not run often (if at all). The taxi fare to the hotel was 25Euros, the good thing was after staying there a few days, we got used to the buses and managed to catch the bus to the airport on our departure date.

The hotel is a family run hotel, thus it is cosy and the owners are the nicest hosts ever. Sarah-Jane emailed me even before we arrived to ask if we needed directions, and tried her best with letting us know about the buses/taxis. The hotel is a few minutes from the bus-stop, supermarket, beach and some eateries.

The rooms were just like the pictures! Nice, clean and decorated in a modern way. The room had a fridge and kettle, and even tea and coffee! Breakfast was a decent spread. Wifi was available but only in the lobby, making it somewhat inconvenient as the signal could not reach our room on the 3rd floor. The only thing that got us confused was the air-con situation. The weather was HOT when we went and we looked everywhere for the air-con controller, to no avail, and realised that they keep it and only give it to you if you agree to pay 3euros extra a night for air-con!

On the whole it was a wonderful stay. Sarah-Jane and Andy were so accommodating, friendly, helpful, and warm. It felt like you were being invited to their home and they were ever ready to offer you help, advice and interesting stories to along with the beautiful stay!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kleh23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benitses
0.0 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel & Studios
0.0 mi away
Mediterranean Blue Resort
0.0 mi away
Hotel Benitses Arches
Hotel Benitses Arches
#6 of 17 in Benitses
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kaiser Bridge & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Hotel Helios
Hotel Helios
#1 of 1 in Boukari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.0 mi away
Elli-Marina Studios and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avra

Property: Hotel Avra
Address: Marina Road, Benitses 490 84, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Benitses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Benitses
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Avra 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Avra is in the coastal resort of Benitses, situated just 12 kms south of the main town of Corfu, Greece. The hotel is just 50 m from the beach and 200 m from the centre of the village, with its shops, tavernas and bars. The hotel has twin, double and family rooms which have just been partly re-furbished. The rooms all have private shower rooms, fridge, kettle, TV and either a fan or A/C. There is a dining area on the ground floor where the light buffet style breakfast is served and a reception area with free wi-fi internet connection. The local bus stop is right outside giving excellent service to Corfu town and the surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Hotel Avra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Avra Corfu, Ionian Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing