We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lido Corfu Sun Hotel
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Benitses
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The only let down about the hotel was the pool wasn't always clean it was a lovely hotel clean and staff were very friendly the room were clean and beds were comfortable and we had a lovely sea view on our balcony, there was nothing wrong with the food there wasn't a lot of choice but what you got was nice I don't understand when people complain about there being no English breakfast, you're in corfu if you want English breakfast stay in England the whole point in going abroad is to try new things :) we had half board and it was all we needed we filled up on continental breakfast and cheeses and hams and scrambled egg juices and coffee there was also cereals, and there's plenty of restaurants down the road for later on in the evening but it was an all round lovely hotel it wasn't at all awful it just depends how picky you are about 'English breakfasts'

Room Tip: Balcony with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Gabrielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

Having previously lived in Corfu for two years we looked for a reasonably priced hotel not too far from our old friends and neighbours. This hotel offered us that and we got an extremely good deal through Coop Travel which included flights and 28 nights bed and breakfast.
The hotel is situated on a busy road in Tsaki on the southern side of Benitses. Practically outside the hotel is the terminus for the No. 6 to Corfu Town. This buses passes through Benitses and Perama on it's way. Apart from one very good Taverna Arokaria near the bus stop there is little else. You would need to take the bus to Benitses for night life and choice of eating places. There is also a different bus which goes to Moraitika in the opposite direction.
We had a very nice good sized twin bedded corner room with balcony and sea vires. Furnishing was simple and clean. All rooms have a fridge and air con.
Breakfast was adequate, though probably catering more for Germans and Eastern Europeans than typical Brits! This did not bother us and we considered it value for money. Fruit juices, cereals, bread, cakes, ham, cheese etc plus two hot dishes eg. Omelette, German sausages. Do not expect English style fried egg, bacon, sausage and tomatoe.No toast either.
A lot of people are staying on an all inclusive package. If like us you are on B&B you can eat in the evening at the hotel for an additional charge. We paid 12 euros each for 3 courses plus drinks extra. The food was OK for the price but mostly we ate out, often with friends.
The hotel reception area is very pleasant and nicely furnished. There are lots of colourful plants all around the exterior. It also boasts a lovely swimming pool with poolside bar open till late in the evening.
There is another hotel across the road. Access to the beach is next to this and a short walk and then down some steps
To be honest there are not many English people staying at this hotel but if you are looking for value for money and take in all of the above, you should not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Rooms with sea view are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We have just returned from a week stay here. The hotel appears quite nice from the outside and has a good reception area. The itinerary advertised for this hotel says there are tea/coffee making facilities in rooms - No. Shower has no curtain; lock on bathroom door but no key.We asked for a double bed but got twin beds with 1 folded sheet on each (make your own). 1 pillow per bed - no extras.Sheet had a tare in it and towels had a hole and frayed edges. We were half-board. Being a 2 hour time advance it was after 11pm when we arrived. We asked if there was any food available but were told restaurant was closed but we could try the restaurant further up the road if we wanted a meal - which we got.There was a set menu each day - no choice. The meals were horrendous - every main meal had tomatoes and pasta of some sort with side salad of raw onions,tomatoes/lettuce or raw cabbage.Breakfast menu same every day. No cooked breakfast apart from scrambled eggs and cold hard boiled eggs. No English breakfast of any kind and wasps flying around continuously. Staff were clean and helpful and our room had good air-conditioning and a lovely sea view but we dreaded the mealtimes. Worst hotel we have ever been in.

Room Tip: Excellent sea views. Don't book garden view -non existent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Sandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Please do not stay here! I have just returned from the worst welcome I have received in 30 years of travelling. First the hotel is more isolated than any review gives a sense of; a full 30 - 35 minute walk to first shop/taverna in Benitses. There was no obvious nearby beach and in either case the road is pavement -less, lightl-less and busy. More, I was shown to a tiny, dark small room with no seating, no balcony and a sea view only if you stood up to look out. I had to wait four hours to speak to manager who only shrugged that since I was a single traveller this was it! Maybe - just maybe - they could do something the next day.... I have never before changed hotel on holiday and advise you not to use here and avoid the stress of that first 36 hours!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
12  Thank jim2049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

A very well presented hotel, room was comfortable with a lovely balcony to enjoy the views over the sea, although there is a road in front of the hotel it really didn't bother us, that would depend on how noise sensitive you are.
The hotel is on the outskirts of the village, but only 3 euro to take the bus that is regular and reliable.
hotel staff are helpful and respectful and in typical Greek style - leave you alone to get on with your break.
breakfast was very basic, hope you like eggs. evening meals we enjoyed and a good selection of Greek meals, try the stuffed peppers. bonus was the fridge in the room.
husband and I travelled without our children for a weeks relaxation - perfect

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We've just come back from a week at this hotel - it was excellent value for money, our room had marble floors, a vast marble balcony, and it was clean and fresh. Rooms have en suite shower rooms, and a fridge and air con. It was quiet at night, and we slept well. The breakfast is basic, but perfectly acceptable (good bread, real butter, sliced cheese, jam, eggs, cereal and fruit were available).
It is a small - medium sized hotel (about 30 rooms) and is not in a huge, faceless resort, but is in Tsaki, just out of Benitses, it is situated beside a road, which, like most roads in corfu, probably is not ideal for walking along if you have small children, but for two adults it was not a problem!
There is a bus stop about twenty metres from the hotel, where you can catch the no. 6 bus into Corfu town. (There are also buses which go to the south of the island from the other side of the road, to Mouratika etc) The bus to Corfu town costs E2 per person, and once in the town, you can catch buses which will take you all over the island. (They run till 10pm) Corfu town itself is beautiful, it feels like a continental city, with a lovely mixture of greek and french architecture... lots of nice shops, and lovely places to go for food or coffee!
Next to the hotel there is the Arokoria Taverna, which has a well kept outdoor seating area, the rabbit stifado here was delicious, as was the seafood salad. The owner is very hospitable, and it is a pleasant place to eat, sitting under a grape vine, surrounded by beautiful flowers and fruit trees!
About 3km down the road in Benitses itself, there are lots of Tavernas overlooking the sea. We ate in many of these, and never had dissapointing food! The local corfu specialities of Sofrito and Pastitsada are delicious, as is the fresh seafood. Benitses was once a popular destination for 18-30s, but has now reverted to being quieter.There is a small supermarket there, and car hire etc, although we found the buses an easy and relaxing way to travel.
The hotel has a nice outdoor pool, and a poolside bar, but this was mainly used for serving coffees and cold drinks - although it was not always open, staff were happy to come out and make coffees etc as required, but as it was not open late at night, there was no noise from late night revellers, which we appreciated! Overall, this is a great, comfortable base from which to explore Corfu, it feels very safe, was great value for money, and I would stay again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SW1973_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

The hotel had clean, basic rooms with air conditioning and a fridge. The shower head did not fit into the overhead fixture in the bathroom so we had to 'hose ourselves down' in the shower. We had a small balcony with beautiful sea views. The pool was clean but the poolside bar was only occasionally open, probably because there were few other guests. The staff were friendly and the food at the restaurant was very good but the restaurant closed after our first night as it was near the end of the season. Although the hotel is only about 2 km away from Benitses this is down a very busy, dangerous road with no footpaths and lots of tight corners, described by a local taxi driver as "the worst road in Corfu". I would recommend getting the bus. The beach is very close to the hotel, it is a pebble beach and the sea is very clear and quite warm. The Arokaria Taverner next to the hotel served good food but had a limited menu due to it being nearly end of season. This hotel is fine as a quiet place to relax and enjoy the views and sunshine but is perhaps a bit too isolated if you want to explore more of Corfu.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ToonAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benitses
1.3 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,474 reviews
0.5 mi away
Karina Hotel
Karina Hotel
#11 of 17 in Benitses
76 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel & Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Corfu Maris Benitses
Hotel Corfu Maris Benitses
#6 of 17 in Benitses
87 reviews
11.3 mi away
Hotel Magna Graecia
Hotel Magna Graecia
#5 of 15 in Dassia
292 reviews
1.4 mi away
Potamaki Beach Hotel
Potamaki Beach Hotel
#3 of 17 in Benitses
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lido Corfu Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lido Corfu Sun Hotel

Address: Tsaki, Benitses 490 84, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Benitses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Benitses
Hotel Class:3 star — Lido Corfu Sun Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lido Corfu Sun is a 3-star hotel situated in the popular resort of Benitses. The hotel is only 31 m from the beach, but also offers a nice pool area with sunny terrace. The hotel has 52 simply decorated but comfortable guest rooms. Each room has private bathrooms, air conditioning and a balcony, many of which have sea views. A buffet breakfast is included in the room rate and during the summer this is served on the terrace. The restaurant is also open during the day and night and serves a good selection of Mediterranean dishes including many local specialties. The Lido Corfu Sun enjoys a great position in Benitses; there are many tavernas, bars and shops within walking distance. The hotel is also close to a bus stop, ideal for exploring the island of Corfu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lido Corfu Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lido Corfu Sun Hotel Ionian Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing