We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dearest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Costa Blu Hotel & Suites
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Benitses
Markfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Dearest”
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Having travelled extensively throughout Europe and beyond, we are able to say with some confidence that the Costa Blu is the worst hotel in which we have ever stayed. Those who gave the hotel a grading of 5 star must share some of the responsibility for the disappointment which .all guests experienced during our stay. The large balcony and view is not sufficient to give a hotel a 5 star rating. Our room was only cleaned once during our two week stay, non of the advertised facilities were available, not even a bar or lounge in which to sit during the evening.
The food offered was appalling, cold, poor choice, no variation, badly presented with very few staff to cater for our needs. The cost of our holiday was increased as we had to eat out in local restaurants which were excellent, they indicated that their business benefited greatly from the many disappointed Costa Blu guests who chose to eat out.
Holiday companies should remove this hotel from their sites.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank dearest1096421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    26
    17
    11
    9
See reviews for
18
40
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We booked a week in this " 5 star " hotel but luckily managed to get transferred after one day ! The rooms are bearable but nothing else is , the food ( or lack of ) is absolutely shocking . The hotel is missing everything including - staff , entertainment and a bar that is stocked with drinks and opens the required hours. Basically it is nowhere near what you would expect from a 5 star. The only highlight of our stay there was a couple we met who unfortunately had to stay till there holiday was over.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BonnieClyde503982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Benitses hotels

Cumbria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Just returned from Costa Blu and this is not a 5* hotel. We can't really add much more than the other reviews but to say Benitses is a lovely village and the people are very friendly. The hotel should be 3* just doing breakfast or room only.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lakesx2Cumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

The suite was fine very clean and spacious, it had a great balcony looking out to the sea and the Greek mainland beyond, a 10 minute walk to Benitses, plenty of eating and drinking places there,
Like most people we only ate one breakfast and one dinner during the week we visited, we ate out in Benitses, this is a quiet area of Corfu which suited us, there is a small well run shingle beach just below the hotel which is accessed under the road, there is a great cafe and good sunbeds and shades for 5 Euros for 2, crystal clear water with safe bathing, Top tip take beach shoes, The Costa Blu is what it is you get what you pay for,

Room Tip: Levels 2 and 3 look over the trees for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 September 2012

As mentioned in other reviews, the rooms were very clean and very spacious.
Sheets and towels changed everyday, although some of the towels had holes in them and there were no slippers and dressing gowns as advertised.
Staff were very nice, but not enough of them.

Now to the big Gripe. I have travelled extensively and have never encountered such awful food. Not only was there a lack of choice, but there was usually only one vegetable which was boiled to death. The food was also lukewarm/cold. Dessert everyday was Melon & Jelly - enough said.
I made a point of going to the 'restaurant' everyday to see what was on offer. Needless to say we ate out everynight.

Would I stay here again ?
Yes if i could have Room Only

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessie211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caithness
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We've just come back from Corfu, stayed at the Costa Blu Hotel & Suites from 7th - 14th September. On arrival (we arrived around lunchtime) we were pleasantly surprised by the large marbled reception area and our first reaction was that we'd picked a winner! After checking in, the helpful and polite receptionist took us to our very spacious suite which comprised a double room, separate living room, both with patio doors onto a very spacious balcony with spectacular seaviews over to mainland Greece (although we have the same views at home over to the Orkneys!). We also had a shower room with wc and a larger bathroom which was great. There was also a hairdryer, fridge, safe and, without further cost, air-conditioning which was a godsend as the humidity was almost unbearable!! At first it appeared that there was never any hot water to shower with but after leaving the tap to run for 5 mins or so it does come through so be patient! We unpacked and headed into Benitses to do some exploring and found plenty of bars, tavernas and restaurants in the small but very friendly resort. After a couple of Mythos beers and Ouzos (which we always have on arrival in Greece then we know we have arrived!) we headed back to the hotel to shower and change for dinner - what a let-down! There was no choice (other than take it or leave it) and noticed that other diners would come in and see what was on offer before even lifting a plate - we knew it wasn't just us being fussy. Our meeting with the Rep was the following day in the afternoon and the choice of food/lack of choice of food was brought to her attention by other guests who were not happy as they, like us, had booked this " 5* hotel " to celebrate an anniversary (our first, having been married on the Greek Island of Santorini last year) but she gave the impression that she'd never heard this complaint before? Breakfast was orange juice (some days weak, others too strong - obviously powdered or diluted concentrate, not sure?) tea, coffee, two types of bread - sliced so that it won't fit into the toaster, which didn,t switch itself off so burnt toast was the aroma every morning! Then there was triangle-cut slices of ham, processed cheese (no feta), fried or boiled egg (but not every day), bacon, tinned peaches, greek yogurt (but not every day) coco pops, cornflakes and evaporated or long-life milk. The same sliced cake and plate of biscuits appeared every morning too....
Evening meals were made up of green beans, soggy brocolli or soggy courgettes, halved potatoes (some over and some under-cooked), pasta with beef which was very dry and tasteless, and, once or twice there was sliced pork. Dessert, every night, was melon or water-melon! Greek salad made an appearance twice during the week as a starter but it was usually lettuce and tuna mixed, no dressing although there was olive oil if you wanted to take the dryness off..... So, no Greek fare, which is what we look forward to on our holidays. The hotel should be rated 3*, no more, so that travellers like us are not let down like we were on what should have been a special occasion. We didn't let it spoil our break, we just ate out, but we paid a 5* price....

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to have seaviews and large balconies but we had a second floor (there are only thre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We've got back from a weeks stay at the Costa Blu, Benitses.

Positives
Large clean suites - The suite we stayed in had 2 large bedrooms, a lounge, 2 bathrooms, 3 TVs and 3 air conditioning units!
Inclusive air conditioning
Inclusive safe
Rooms are cleaned everyday, towels and sheets changed everyday
Brilliant views of Benitses and Greece mainland from the balcony
Quiet pool area - The pool is ok
Really close to the beach - lovely warm sea
Good location (close to Benitses, on a bus route and close to airport - the transfers only take about 20 minutes)
Very peaceful and quiet (that's a positive for us)
As usual, the greek people are all really nice, friendly and helpful

Negatives

There seems to be a lack of staff - the ones who were there were trying their best but there isn't enough of them
The food was adequate - but if you're fussy, you'll be eating in the town every night
The beds were hard - I'm a bit of a 'princess and the pea' when it comes to beds
There are areas in the complex that aren't used so it gives an 'out of season' feel
The hairdryers in the suites are the wall mounted sort - basically a hand dryer with a nozzle, bring your own hairdryer
Bring your earplugs to muffle the sound of british people moaning about the food in the hotel restaurant

Overall, this is a good hotel to visit if you want peace, quiet and great views of the sea.

Room Tip: All the suites give a sea view but the upper suites get a superb view. Try to upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EccleshallPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benitses
0.2 mi away
Grande Mare Hotel
Grande Mare Hotel
#16 of 17 in Benitses
114 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel & Studios
0.7 mi away
Hotel Kaiser Bridge & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Potamaki Beach Hotel
Potamaki Beach Hotel
#3 of 17 in Benitses
212 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aeolos Beach Resort
3.1 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Blu Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Blu Hotel & Suites

Property: Costa Blu Hotel & Suites
Address: Benitses 49084, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Benitses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Benitses
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a perfect holiday with all the comforts choose your own suite in the most beautiful setting with magnificent sea views. The landscaped setting and feeling of privacy offers an atmosphere of relaxation that you can only find in "COSTA BLU." All our suites are spacious with their own verandas and sea view, over looking the gardens and facing the Greek Mainland. Besides the luxurious suites and wonderful sea view the Costa Blu Hotel offers plenty of facilities to make your holiday, one to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com so you can book your Costa Blu Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Blu Hotel Benitses
Costa Blu Hotel And Suites
Ionian Hotel Corfu
Costa Blu Hotel & Suites Corfu, Ionian Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing