We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreadful Hotel !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Costa Blu Hotel & Suites
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Benitses
Reviewed 26 September 2013

This hotel is advertised as 5* but should probably be only 1 or 2. The food both at breakfast and dinner was always cold and bland there were no starters and just a choice of one main meal and if you didn't like that then you just had to go without. The service was really non existent due to poor management and staff shortages. We eventually gave up on dinner and walked into the local village where at least we could get a drink and a decent meal but this also then made our already over priced holiday even more expensive. Thank goodness for the fantastic weather otherwise this holiday would have been really miserable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mel2201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2013

5* it is not. Food appalling, hot water if you are lucky, no tea/coffee making facilities, no gym, no spa, no hairdresser no main bar open for the two week stay - all as advertised. Unable to get a drink of any description between 6.00 p.m. - 7.00 p.m. Only drinks available after 7.00 p.m. were in the restaurant. Side of swimming pool covered in algae. Skeleton staff overworked and clearly did not wish to be there. If you arrive back at the hotel after 10.30 - 11.00 p.m. the gate is locked which means a long walk round to the hotel reception up a very steep incline and it is very dark.
The hotel is in serious need of maintenance and some health and safety issues need to be addressed. Do not waste your money.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Frankie2295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We thought we had paid for a 5* hotel but in fact it was impossibly bad - rundown, understaffed with absolutely dreadful food. Restricted hot water. no tea or coffee facilities in rooms, no porters. cleanliness questionable and at least 60 steps to the beach - too many for elderly people. Hotel was run on the basis of it closing very shortly. Staffing levels were very poor and they were very badly trained.. In the dining room staff dropped cutlery on the floor and then picked it up and placed it on the table. We were so relieved to get back to England safely and counted down the days to our departure. What a holiday!

Room Tip: Do not choose this terrible place. We booked with Last Minute and should have realised that any hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ozwinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Having recently returned from a one week stay at this hotel we felt that we must warn future visitors of an item which doesnt seem appear in any of the hotels descriptions. This hotel is not fit for any-one with a mobility problem! There are over 100 steps from the road level to the reception area through a gate on the roadside which is locked at 10.30 meaning a further half mile climb up the steep hill to the rear of the hotel.
Following on from that this is certainly not a 5 star hotel. We had 3 days without hot water - only coming on occasionally after complaints from guests.
Luckily we were on bed and breakfast but many of guests who were full board, finished up having their evening meals in the local tavernas. (We recommend the Paxinos - terrific) Breakfasts consisted of cold congealed food - the only cereal being coco pops one morning and apparently the evening meals followed a similar standard.
There was no evidence of a gym or sauna as shown on various sites, although the pool and pool area was clean but the poolside bar was only occasionally staffed. The hotel bar was never staffed and remained empty every evening.
Our "suite" was spacious with two bathrooms - showers at waist height - and sheets and towels changed daily but cracked/missing tiles in both bathrooms and a general feeling of dampness though out the suite. The access was down more steps into a small enclosed courtyard past two smelly drains, an old bike and a room with no glass in the front door. The balcony, although screened at the sides, was overlooked with ease from all directions.
No hotel information was in the rooms or resort information in English in reception. Obviously the major tour companies avoid this hotel as we will in the future.



.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank graham l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I booked this hotel on the understanding that it was 5 star, but it is barely 4 star. Although the accommodation itself was fine, there were no tea or coffee making facilities, hot water was very hit and miss in the evening, the showers were totally inadequate in that they were waist height so you had to hold the nozzle in order to have a shower and more often than not, there was no bath mat so you had to put a towel on the floor to stand on. Housekeeping was also not up to scratch. They made the beds and changed the towels and that was about it. No surfaces were cleaned, and if by any chance we left any dirty glasses out, they remained where we had left them.

There was also no information in the rooms about the hotel or its facilities, no info about the town itself.

However, on the plus side, the view from the room was wonderful.

Breakfast was totally inadequate. This usually consisted of dried up cheese and ham, grilled tomatoes, eggs of some sort - usually hard boiled or pre-cooked giant omelette. The tea bags consisted of mainly tasteless dust and to make matters worse, the hot water in the urn was never hot enough to make a decent drink.

We never ate in the hotel, we spent two evenings in CorfuTown where we had the best meal of the holiday, and the rest of the time we ate in Benitses where there are some lovely restaurants.

The pool area was ok, but it was not fully staffed and if you wanted a drink, then you had to wait for someone to appear.

We tried to get a drink in the main bar at 9pm, but the bar was closed!

We spent a couple of days on the beach next to the hotel near the bus stop - much better service and lovely food, and it only cost 2.5 euros for the day.

Would I go back - NO, would I recommend it - NO.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 1st or 2nd floor to make the most of the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyc9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Ditto all the last review but need to add that the beds are hard and hot water is limited. No hospitality trays so glad we brought our own kettle, the hotel is clean but even the pool has algae on the sides. The views are spectacular and the patio is perfect for late evening shaving a drink. Be aware that the gate form the hotel to walk to town is locked at approx 11pm, you then have to walk the long way round up a hill.

Stayed: September 2013
Thank gurbys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

i dont usually write reviews but feel like i need to warn anyone thinking of booking this hotel.
awful food i mean no food because as i do not eat meat i had no options but to walk away almost every night from the dinner and eat in the town. The breakfast wasn't any better: cheese, old eggs, bacon, old bread, even no real butter. I didn't really mind as i only drink coffee in the morning but once i heard some guy saying to the waitress: "this is my worst breakfast ever, ...and im 73 years old" lets this sentence say it all.
The hotel is understaffed, one waitress in the dinner, one receptionist which made you keep waiting and waiting every time you needed anything. I mean they are really nice people but 5* hotel cant be run by 1 receptionist which is never in the reception by the way.
Moving on: there is no wi-fi except for the small lobby area, really inconvenience if you want to get away for a week but keep an eye on your business back in UK
Old and small TV in the room with 14 channels and only 2 in english, leaking pipes, tiny shower, no minibar, and a safe which isnt really safe as the thief could take the whole thing with him as is not mounted to any wall. No gym, one small swimming pool with one CD playing the same songs all over again,
ohh and the beach itself, in the pictures it looks like its a beach hotel where in fact you need to cross a busy road to find a rocky, tiny coast with no a single sun bed - 5* i dont thinks so. Plenty of better options around and if you want a nice sandy beach, book a hotel on the other side of the Corfu- Pelekas, Glifadu etc. Stay away from this hotel if you expect 5*

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guest158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benitses
3.1 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,474 reviews
18.4 mi away
Mareblue Beach Resort
Mareblue Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Agios Spyridonas
2,232 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grande Mare Hotel
Grande Mare Hotel
#15 of 17 in Benitses
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Corfu Maris Benitses
Hotel Corfu Maris Benitses
#5 of 17 in Benitses
87 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel & Studios
0.3 mi away
Le Mirage Hotel
Le Mirage Hotel
#4 of 17 in Benitses
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Blu Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Blu Hotel & Suites

Address: Benitses 49084, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Benitses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Benitses
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a perfect holiday with all the comforts choose your own suite in the most beautiful setting with magnificent sea views. The landscaped setting and feeling of privacy offers an atmosphere of relaxation that you can only find in "COSTA BLU." All our suites are spacious with their own verandas and sea view, over looking the gardens and facing the Greek Mainland. Besides the luxurious suites and wonderful sea view the Costa Blu Hotel offers plenty of facilities to make your holiday, one to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Costa Blu Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Blu Hotel Benitses
Costa Blu Hotel And Suites
Ionian Hotel Corfu
Costa Blu Hotel & Suites Corfu, Ionian Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing