We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Budget holiday apartments” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alexis Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alexis Apartments
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Benitses
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Budget holiday apartments”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Four of us stayed for a week (July 29th 2013) in two apartments.
The good: The location is great to get to the main strip- lots of restaurants doing great set menus and lovely Greek food for excellent prices if you are on a budget as we were.The bar staff are very friendly and the pool is quiet and hardly used by guests. George and Renil behind the bar were great-really nice guys.The bar does nice snacks- the Greek pizza was tasty and cheap.There was no problem with mozzies as we used plug in repellents and none of us were bitten at night.
The bad: The apartments have seen better days. They need a repaint, freshen up and general makeover to meet the ever demanding standards of well seasoned travellers. If you have only ever stayed in city hotels in Europe you are in for a shock! The beds are rock hard which was just about ok for me but my husband did find his really uncomfortable- yes they only do twin beds! The bathroom was not great. The shower was ok though. The curtain is presumably in case anyone injures themselves by falling through a glass shower when they have had too much to drink??? As it was an apartment we were only provided with one toilet roll and then had to buy our own- wish someone had mentioned this when we arrived as we only found out when we asked. The towels were changed once in my sisters room and twice in ours. Our sheets changed once - theirs not at all.
The ugly: the bathroom bin was changed only once by cleaning staff. The water leaked up from the drain in the bathroom and made the bath mat sopping and this was not changed after the second day. The aircon did not work so it was very hot- we slept with the balcony door open. There was a bar somewhere with 'entertainment' which was loud, annoying and with out of tune singing. This went on til about 1am.
Overall: this was 'bargain' trip but even so we paid nearly £500 each for a week (can only go high season due to work) and it felt like a lot for what we got. Having said that, we did use the pool lots and the location was great. We had a fabulous break just relaxing and took it as we found it. if you are the fussy type, take cleaning products, cloths etc spare towels, earlplugs or pay for somewhere of a better standard.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the bar- we were not given a choice and got lucky.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    15
    8
    3
    14
See reviews for
16
25
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

Stayed at alexis apartments end of June/July 2012 staff were very friendly,pool was very good, bar was excellent. Watch out for shot time georgies free bar, a few times a night. Apartment was excellent clean, clean towels every day, bedding changed regularly, shower alright for greece, We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment plenty of room 2 adults 2 teenagers.Great location, walk across car park on to strip plenty of bars, visit one for the road not to be missed. Sidari is a great place to visit great beaches, canel de amour excellent, would go back and would recommend alexis apartments. Excellent holiday.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank debbie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarney, Ireland
Level Contributor
115 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

The best thing about this hotel is the location - near shops restaurants and the beach, but yet away from the noise. Accommodation is basic. Has a free TV but hardly any english speaking programmes. Air conditioning was €60 extra for a week. Had an electric kettle and toaster. Place was reasonably clean but the beds were hard and some linen ws stained. The shower area was very small and the shower hoze could not be hung from overhead making it very difficult to was hair. The pool was clean but the water was cold. sun-beds were free. Staff were friendly. the general area was unkept as is the town in general. Sidari is a great place for eating out. Food and drink was very reasonably priced. The local beef and lamb dishes are very tasty. We had heard about the mosqueto problem. we took Vitamin B1 for two weeks before we went and took Vit B1 and Garlic tablets while there. Also got plug-in for the apartment and sprayed ourselves going out at night - did not get even one bite when others got several bites.

Room Tip: Choose up-stairs as down-stairs can get flooded in thunder-storm
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

just got back from week stay at these so called studios. i have never seen anything as discusting in my whole life.the first day we got there we had to be moved because when we had a shower the water came up through the grate. the room they moved us to was no better,the bathroom was discusting it had broken tiles on the wall where ants was comming in, the bed sheets was never changed, we didnt have clean towels untill i asked them to change them,which took them half hour.we arrived on wednesday 5th sept and the toilet bin wasnt emptied untill the sunday. the outside table and chairs had never been cleaned in years by the look of them.iv been self catering in many greek islands and never seen anything as dirty. this holiday made me ill, i was constantly a nervous wreck wen i needed the toilet. im so glad that this wasnt the first greek island i went to because this would have put me off greece for life. as for the cooking facilities i wouldnt make a meal in this place for a pig.the only rating i can give it is the location which was great.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
Helpful?
1 Thank Trudy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Benitses hotels

Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

First of all, we stayed in the Alexis in Sidari and not in Benitses, there seems to be some confusion as to which hotel we're leaving a review for.
It was ok ... the location was perfect, nice and quiet but only a step away from the main drag.
We paid an extra £200 for a 2 bedroomed apartment, but were disappointed by the lack of cleanliness, we know it's Greece and didn't expect too much, but the constant puddle on our bathroom floor which came from the sewer pipe from the apartment upstairs was a bit much. We had to wear shoes in the bathroom all the time, step out of them to shower and back in, out!
The noise of the macerator from the toilets was really loud, it must have been right outside our apartment, and sounded like someone snoring really loudly, 24/7. We did complain a couple of times but they were a bit off with us, more or less said to find another hotel then. Think they did fiddle with it 'cos it did get a wee bit quieter.
We didn't use the pool as we don't swim and would rather sunbathe on the beach anyway. Most sunbeds are free on the beach as long as you patronise their bar. The pool area looked fine though, as did the bar, but again, there were so many bars etc in the town, we didn't like to just stay in the hotel.
Bed bugs!!!! No, it's the mozzies and other flying and creeping things that bite your legs and ankles, lol, and they do come out after a few hours, so it might appear that you've been bitten in the night! I took all the necessaries but forgot one night and was absolutely bitten to death. I always have a really bad allergic reaction as well, could hardly walk when I first got out of bed in the mornings, but have no-one to blame but myself ... certainly not the bed bugs!
Anyway, we had a good holiday, all in all, we do love Sidari and will definitely be going back there. To Alexis? ... maybe not. Happy Holidays!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CheshireRocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

Spent 2 weeks here june/july 2012. Frankly I do not understand many of the negative posts regarding cleanliness etc.
The maid came daily inc sundays towels bedding changed evry 2-3 days. The people complaining about being bitten by bed bugs have obviosly been bitten by mozzis which are a problem if you don't take the obvious precautions. Me and the mrs used extra strong jungle formula plus used plug in and citronella candles, I wasn't bitten once in 2 weeks, the mrs had one bite and that was only because she forgot the repelent on one evening.
The rooms are typical greek self catering studios and are as good as any we've stayed in greece for this kind of money. Admittedly the beds are rock hard and the bathroon very small .Pool is great definately the alexis' best feature
Staff friendly, the pool bar is more expensive than most but you are literally minutes from the main strip , also easy stroll to the canal d'amour 10 mins max.
Mozzis more of a problem in the canal area because of close proximity to a rather dirty stagnent canal
We prefered the quieter area of sidari along the beach rd east of the main strip. The canal d'armour is to the westside of town, with the strip in the middle. Sidari is great dozens of bars and tavernas, fab beach. I really enjoyed it would def go back, wouldn't hesitate to book at the Alexis either. The Alexis real strong point is its location, close to everything but still nice and quiet

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Discosteve39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

Just got back from alexis apartments only had a week but it was great hol , area was great lots of bars and places to eat with a view to kill for . The apartment was very basic ( that's Greece for you ) no clean towels all week or clean sheets, the kitchen again was very basic ( but you don't on away to cook everyday ) the pool was brill and very inviting , we didn't have much to do with the pool bar except for one evening when there was light entertainment on (which was ab fab by the way ) even so we were made very welcome by all the staff , but no one was ever anyone
On reception . My husband got eaten alive by mosquito bites or bed bugs no sure which !!! Also on day of departure there was no where to freshen up before leaving for the airport . But all in all it was a great holiday ,!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benitses
0.0 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel & Studios
0.0 mi away
Aegli Hotel
Aegli Hotel
#5 of 9 in Perama
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aloha Hotel
Aloha Hotel
#10 of 13 in Agios Gordios
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Alkyon Hotel
Alkyon Hotel
#2 of 41 in Sidari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anita Hotel
Anita Hotel
#3 of 9 in Perama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.0 mi away
Andromaches Apartments
Andromaches Apartments
#13 of 17 in Benitses
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexis Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexis Apartments

Property: Alexis Apartments
Address: Benitses 49084, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Benitses
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Benitses
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and HostelWorld so you can book your Alexis Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexis Apartments Hotel Benitses
Alexis Apartments Kavos
Alexis Apartments Corfu, Ionian Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing