We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Back there again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Savvas Grill

Savvas Grill
Ranked #11 of 61 Restaurants in Peyia
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We offer 10% discount on everything from the menu for july only open everyday at 17:00
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Back there again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

We have been holidaying in the Coral Bay area of Cyprus for the last 5 years and were lucky to find Savvas Grill in Peiya the first night of the first year. Savvas and his wife Elana opened the restauarant about 6 years ago and it has become more and more popular since opening. As said in previous reviews, they serve good honest Cypriot food, simple but well cooked, try the sheftalia and dolamdes and you will not be disappointed. You are not rushed, hey this is Cyprus, and when busy service may be a little slow, but Savvas's main concern is that everybody has drinks and their food, so it may take a while to clear the tables. This was a bit more pronounced this years as Elena is expecting their second child at the end of July and was not there every night. However her Dad (who supplies the vegetables from his plot) helps Savvas with the service. This is a real family concern, parents help out and this year we found they have a healthy clientele, with Cypriot families eating as well as the numerous Brits. I don't think there were any less than 30 people there most nights. It's worth remembering that you should book on Tuesdays and Thursdays which are Cypriot dancing entertainment nights.

If you want silver service with haute cuisine and expensive wines, then this is not the place for you. If on the other hand, like many of Savvas's customers, you want good honest local food, with a cold Keo and local wines, then Savvas Grill is the place to go (and it's not expensive, either!). We'll be back.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Onh0lidayagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    82
    24
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good value food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

A good small local restaurant with nice staff (family run). It's not gourmet but good honest Cypriot nosh.
Location is a bit too close to a main road

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank qurum5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Place to eat in Peyia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

On arrival in Peyia for two weeks we decided to try a local restaurant and were we lucky! The reception we received was excellent - friendly, but not over the top - then nothing was too much trouble, not too rushed and not too slow. The food was nicely cooked and served piping hot, and home-made bread - fattening but very tasty. The only downside was, they served all meals with chips but when we asked if we could have a jacket potato in future, agreement made the meal complete. We ate there on another five occasions and we will definitely eat there on our return.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“not impressed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

we visited in June and enjoyed the meal, on our return in August the portions were tiny and I am not a big eater, i had to give half of my meal to my 14 year old son. The quality of the food was ok but certainly wouldn't rush back.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ant1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Authentic, Excellent.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

My husband and I ate here on the last day of our stay, we couldnt believe that we were staying in a villa in Peyia and had only visited this fantastic restaurant on our last evening. The Chicken Kebabs & Pork chops were delicious, the Crepe Suzette served flaming at the table was wonderful. A fabulous find superb food, reasonably priced, delightful staff. We sat for 3 hours and enjoyed every minute. Would highly recommend this place to all. Thank You

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank H7FJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Savvas Grill also viewed

Peyia, Paphos District
Peyia, Paphos District
 

Been to Savvas Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing