We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Devon' hidden gem”
other travellers have booked this property
Breakfast can be served to you on your private dining deck
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Breakfast can be served to you on your private dining deck
Church Cottage Studio
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Breakfast can be served to you on your private dining deck
Church Cottage Studio
bespoke kitchenette
Its the one for you!
Luxurious King size bed
The perfect Cyber Detox Retreat
Sandymouth beach - a short drive away
View from the meadow
Dartmoor - a short drive away
Church Cottage Studio
The perfect Autumn/Winter  Retreat to two
Cosy nights by the woodburner
Sunset at Widemouth bay, Bude
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Holsworthy, Torridge, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MonikaV99
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Devon' hidden gem ”
Reviewed 3 weeks ago for a stay in May 2018

Church Cottage Studio is located in a peaceful rural location surrounded by fields and wild nature. The place is hosted by friendly, welcoming and caring couple always going extra mile to make your stay comfortable, enjoyable and memorable. The studio offers great views to the garden and fields and you see horses and often a deer. The decor is beautiful and we loved all the little touches. Very comfortable bed with lots of pillows, spacious shower, handy kitchennette and a sunny terrace. Wood burner, table games and a classic turntable is all you need should the weather lock you indoors. The garden with ponds and benches is free to explore. The hosts offer Devon tours too! We loved seeing Dartmoor and getting to know the area as the host are so knowledgeable. We were driven around and had plenty of stops to enjoy the views and take pictures. We did not want to hike and the hosts accomodated our request and we had such a lovely time. During our stay we indulged in delicious home made breakfast and picnic while on tour. It is by far the best place to stay. We will surely be back but for longer! 3 days is not enough!
Thank you!
Xxx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 May 2018
Monika and Peter,

It was so lovely to host you both once again here at Church Cottage Studio. Everything we do here is so rewarded when we can see that our guests relax and enjoy every corner of this little piece of heaven. It was an absolute joy to also host you on one of our bespoke Dartmoor Tours.....it is just too magical to miss. We are looking forward to you returning...remember we are only a short flight from London City to Exeter whenever you feel the need to come back to your very own Devon hidden gem!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gren777
Callington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A perfect birthday escape”
Reviewed 8 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Having a birthday in the UK at winter-time can be a bit of a damp squib but we have just found our perfect getaway at Church Cottage... I'm not sure how we managed it but the sun shone during the day, the log fire blazed at night and all the birds were amazing to watch (the murmurations of starlings at dusk took your breadth away). We felt like we were in our own little paradise and sat watching 'on own sky' at night, with the big oak tree lit up, was the most peaceful thing. There is magic at this place and every little touch has been expertly and thoughtfully put together by Paula, who has to be the best host I've ever encountered, including at 5-star hotels! The bespoke kitchenette is a wonderful idea, and we loved that you could literally close it up, but please, everyone must experience one of Paula's home made breakfasts.... beautifully presented and of the highest quality.
We can't wait to come back in the summer so we can laze on 'our' deck, have a picnic in 'our' field and a barbecue in 'our' pergola as we stroll around 'our' lakes!
In a word...... perfection!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Feb 2018
Thank you for your lovely review, I am so pleased that you had a magical birthday holiday. As you experienced, winter-time breaks at Church Cottage Studio are so special. Delighted that you enjoyed the free wildlife entertainment and the cosy wood burner. Really looking forward to welcoming you back in the summer when you return to your own little paradise.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Gorgeous cottage, lovely host &a hostess”
Reviewed 22 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Location is peaceful, so much green grass, lovely flowers with church bells ringing in the background. Central to coast &a moor. We would love to come again but Australia is a long, long way away.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2018
We so enjoyed hosting you both and showing you some of our special places to visit on Dartmoor and along the wonderful coast, all to be found in this glorious part of Devon. Although Australia is a long haul you would be so welcome back anytime should you be able to adventure this way again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil_Wale...
Swansea, UK
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Fantastic studio in a beautiful part of Devon”
Reviewed 3 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Had a great stay in Paula and Kevin's studio in a beautiful part of rural Devon. Our only regret is that we only stayed for two nights and wished we could have stayed longer.

The location is perfect, set in beautiful rural Devon countryside, but only 30 minutes from the coast. We did a wonderful walk on the cliff path just north of Bude which we would thoroughly recommend. However, you really are spoilt for choice for beautiful coastal walks in this part of north Devon.

The studio really is luxurious and Paula has thought of everything, from the lovely comfortable bed to the amazing shower. The outside deck is amazing, such a great place to have breakfast and admire the beautiful garden and meadow and listen to the birds. Oh, and the breakfast is fantastic! The best scrambled egg and smoked salmon I have ever tasted!

My one bit of advice would be to book an extra day and just do something that most of us rarely do, relax! This would be the perfect place, especially in the winter with the log burner lit.

Thank you Paula for your great hospitality and we can't wait to visit again soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Oct 2017
Neil and Jenny, I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay it was lovely to meet you both. The coastal walks here are truely amazing, so it was great that you explored one of the special ones close to Bude. I really look forward to your return visit, when you have more time to relax and enjoy more yummy breakfasts al fresco on the decking or by the cosy woodburner. See you soon...Paula xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaggy_Ph...
Maidenhead
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolute perfection”
Reviewed 25 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

A beautiful studio finished to the highest standard in immaculate gardens, overlooking fields and woodland and providing a peaceful retreat if you're lucky enough to stay here. Paula is a fantastic host (those breakfasts are to die for - thanks Paula), we missed meeting Kevin, next time though (along with Millie and Dirty Gertie).
The studio is located about halfway between Dartmoor and Bude so there is lots of scope for visiting the tourist spots or yomping across the moor if that's your thing.
There are lots of places to eat out or you could make use of Paula and Kevin's barbecue (walk through the grassed field, around the wetland field, past the the lake) and eat and drink 'til the sun goes down - a great evening spent there, thanks again Paula and 'Dad'.
We honestly can't recommend Church Cottage Studio highly enough, it's a fantastic place to stay and you are made to feel so welcome, we loved it!! Thanks again

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2017
Karen and Mike thank you so much for a lovely review. It was an absolute pleasure to host you both and thank you once again for inviting us to your BBQ evening at Sundowners, good fun. We look forward to welcoming you back to this special part of North Devon. x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
langham9
Sligo, Ireland
1 review
“Peaceful bliss in country haven”
Reviewed 22 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Church Cottage Studio was everything we had hoped it would be - a peaceful sanctuary from the busyness of life. Paula is the perfect host and has thought of everything to make your stay extra special - the quality of all the fittings is to the highest standard, from the 'pull out' kitchenette (brilliantly designed) to the walk-in rainforest shower to the luxury bed. We had the best night's sleep imaginable in plush linen bedding, waking to no human sound - just birds and the gentle rustling of leaves. The breakfast was stunningly good, served al fresco on the deck overlooking fields and woods, just like the picture. If you're looking for a touch of peaceful luxury, this is the place for you ...

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2017
Paul, thank you for such a fabulous thoughtful review, we are so glad that you said your stay was 'extra special' this is why we enjoy having lovely guests as yourselves come visit our little peaceful corner of Devon. We really appreciate your visit and look forward to your next when you need that relaxing break.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter_Ed...
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous Cottage in a Beautiful Location”
Reviewed 21 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Church Cottage Studio was ideal for a couple's get-away. The studio was clean and immaculately presented. The whole finish was definitely high-spec and luxurious, and the location was perfect.

The facilities in the studio were ideal for our 4-night stay. The bed was large and comfortable, there was a very clever kitchenette with cooking and tea/coffee making facilities, a fridge and a selection of utensils - not that we wanted to do any cooking, but it was nice to be able to make a sandwich.

Paula was an outstanding host; friendly and accommodating - always making sure we had everything we needed. The breakfast she served us was amazing too; quality, well-cooked food and plenty of it!

We'll certainly be visiting again and would highly recommend the Studio. Our only regret was that, as we were visiting family, we didn't get to explore the local area more, or spend more time just chilling out on the terrace, looking over the beautiful and relaxing grounds. Maybe next time!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Apr 2017
Thank you for your lovely review of Church Cottage Studio. I am delighted that you have found somewhere to stay that is ideally situated for visiting family yet gives you the opportunity to relax and also spend some quiet time together. I look forward to your return later on in the year, when you come back to explore more in this wonderful part of Devon.
Kindest regards
Paula x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing