We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal location to unwind”
other travellers have booked this property
Breakfast can be served to you on your private dining deck
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Breakfast can be served to you on your private dining deck
Church Cottage Studio
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Breakfast can be served to you on your private dining deck
Church Cottage Studio
bespoke kitchenette
Its the one for you!
Luxurious King size bed
The perfect Cyber Detox Retreat
Sandymouth beach - a short drive away
View from the meadow
Dartmoor - a short drive away
Church Cottage Studio
The perfect Autumn/Winter  Retreat to two
Cosy nights by the woodburner
Sunset at Widemouth bay, Bude
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Holsworthy, Torridge, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Briar N
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ideal location to unwind”
Reviewed 12 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

This is an amazing property, the 'Studio' is beautifully accommodated with all the amenities needed to cater for a break away, if you look at their website you will get an idea of the standard of furnishings.... and the wonderful location.
Paula and Kevin are wonderfully friendly hosts with the attitude of 'nothing is too much trouble'! Breakfasts were excellent especially with Paula having purchased especially for my dietary needs.
We walked through the wildflower meadows ,viewed the ponds and spent time watching birds.
RHS Rosemoore is close by, also Bude and Widemouth Bay - we managed to drag ourselves away to see these places.!
Kevin has some fascinating cars and is willing to share his enthusiasm for classics.
We do hope to return.
Thank you again to Paula and Kevin, we hope all goes well for you.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jun 2018
Briar and Roger,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay here at Church Cottage. Our guests dietary needs are important to us, so we do our best to accommodate them.

We also appreciated your company, it was great to see you both taking time to enjoy the meadows and wildlife at this special time of the year. The ponds are full of life at the moment which you both caught at various times of the day. It was lovely to hear about your wildlife encounters on your early morning walks and to see you capturing some on camera by the ponds.

A special bonus was the beautiful car you arrived in, we were so glad you took the advice and went off and enjoyed the nice drives, with your roof down to some of our local attractions. Being classic car friendly, we love to see that.

You were lovely guests and we hope to see you both again soon to catch Church Cottage during the season change.

Regards,

Paula
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deebie123
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What can we say...”
Reviewed 10 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

From the moment we arrived til the moment we reluctantly left-we had the most wonderful time. The studio cottage is ‘magical’. As soon as you arrive you’re relaxed and that’s thanks to the wonderful hosts Paula and Kevin. The studio has everything you need and has been tastefully decorated and it’s so peaceful. The breakfasts - you just have to try for yourselves you won’t be disappointed -they are delicious and thoughtfully presented. Play the records, play a game, go for a walk around the fields-listen to the birds singing, even they are happy to be here.
How many stars? 5 is not enough this place deserves way more. In fact we have already booked our next visit and can’t wait!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2018
Thank you for your fabulous review, it was such a pleasure to host you both.The quirky record player is a popular alternative and it was great that you enjoyed listening to some of your favourites on vinyl. The birdsong here can't be beaten though as they sing their hearts out....and it's all free! Looking forward to hosting you again in September when there will be different sights and sounds around the meadows. Enjoy the sunshine in the meantime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonikaV99
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Devon' hidden gem ”
Reviewed 30 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Church Cottage Studio is located in a peaceful rural location surrounded by fields and wild nature. The place is hosted by friendly, welcoming and caring couple always going extra mile to make your stay comfortable, enjoyable and memorable. The studio offers great views to the garden and fields and you see horses and often a deer. The decor is beautiful and we loved all the little touches. Very comfortable bed with lots of pillows, spacious shower, handy kitchennette and a sunny terrace. Wood burner, table games and a classic turntable is all you need should the weather lock you indoors. The garden with ponds and benches is free to explore. The hosts offer Devon tours too! We loved seeing Dartmoor and getting to know the area as the host are so knowledgeable. We were driven around and had plenty of stops to enjoy the views and take pictures. We did not want to hike and the hosts accomodated our request and we had such a lovely time. During our stay we indulged in delicious home made breakfast and picnic while on tour. It is by far the best place to stay. We will surely be back but for longer! 3 days is not enough!
Thank you!
Xxx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 May 2018
Monika and Peter,

It was so lovely to host you both once again here at Church Cottage Studio. Everything we do here is so rewarded when we can see that our guests relax and enjoy every corner of this little piece of heaven. It was an absolute joy to also host you on one of our bespoke Dartmoor Tours.....it is just too magical to miss. We are looking forward to you returning...remember we are only a short flight from London City to Exeter whenever you feel the need to come back to your very own Devon hidden gem!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gren777
Callington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect birthday escape”
Reviewed 8 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Having a birthday in the UK at winter-time can be a bit of a damp squib but we have just found our perfect getaway at Church Cottage... I'm not sure how we managed it but the sun shone during the day, the log fire blazed at night and all the birds were amazing to watch (the murmurations of starlings at dusk took your breadth away). We felt like we were in our own little paradise and sat watching 'on own sky' at night, with the big oak tree lit up, was the most peaceful thing. There is magic at this place and every little touch has been expertly and thoughtfully put together by Paula, who has to be the best host I've ever encountered, including at 5-star hotels! The bespoke kitchenette is a wonderful idea, and we loved that you could literally close it up, but please, everyone must experience one of Paula's home made breakfasts.... beautifully presented and of the highest quality.
We can't wait to come back in the summer so we can laze on 'our' deck, have a picnic in 'our' field and a barbecue in 'our' pergola as we stroll around 'our' lakes!
In a word...... perfection!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Feb 2018
Thank you for your lovely review, I am so pleased that you had a magical birthday holiday. As you experienced, winter-time breaks at Church Cottage Studio are so special. Delighted that you enjoyed the free wildlife entertainment and the cosy wood burner. Really looking forward to welcoming you back in the summer when you return to your own little paradise.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jet726520
1 review
“Gorgeous cottage, lovely host &a hostess”
Reviewed 22 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Location is peaceful, so much green grass, lovely flowers with church bells ringing in the background. Central to coast &a moor. We would love to come again but Australia is a long, long way away.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2018
We so enjoyed hosting you both and showing you some of our special places to visit on Dartmoor and along the wonderful coast, all to be found in this glorious part of Devon. Although Australia is a long haul you would be so welcome back anytime should you be able to adventure this way again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil_Wale...
Swansea, UK
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Fantastic studio in a beautiful part of Devon”
Reviewed 3 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Had a great stay in Paula and Kevin's studio in a beautiful part of rural Devon. Our only regret is that we only stayed for two nights and wished we could have stayed longer.

The location is perfect, set in beautiful rural Devon countryside, but only 30 minutes from the coast. We did a wonderful walk on the cliff path just north of Bude which we would thoroughly recommend. However, you really are spoilt for choice for beautiful coastal walks in this part of north Devon.

The studio really is luxurious and Paula has thought of everything, from the lovely comfortable bed to the amazing shower. The outside deck is amazing, such a great place to have breakfast and admire the beautiful garden and meadow and listen to the birds. Oh, and the breakfast is fantastic! The best scrambled egg and smoked salmon I have ever tasted!

My one bit of advice would be to book an extra day and just do something that most of us rarely do, relax! This would be the perfect place, especially in the winter with the log burner lit.

Thank you Paula for your great hospitality and we can't wait to visit again soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Oct 2017
Neil and Jenny, I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay it was lovely to meet you both. The coastal walks here are truely amazing, so it was great that you explored one of the special ones close to Bude. I really look forward to your return visit, when you have more time to relax and enjoy more yummy breakfasts al fresco on the decking or by the cosy woodburner. See you soon...Paula xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaggy_Ph...
Maidenhead
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolute perfection”
Reviewed 25 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

A beautiful studio finished to the highest standard in immaculate gardens, overlooking fields and woodland and providing a peaceful retreat if you're lucky enough to stay here. Paula is a fantastic host (those breakfasts are to die for - thanks Paula), we missed meeting Kevin, next time though (along with Millie and Dirty Gertie).
The studio is located about halfway between Dartmoor and Bude so there is lots of scope for visiting the tourist spots or yomping across the moor if that's your thing.
There are lots of places to eat out or you could make use of Paula and Kevin's barbecue (walk through the grassed field, around the wetland field, past the the lake) and eat and drink 'til the sun goes down - a great evening spent there, thanks again Paula and 'Dad'.
We honestly can't recommend Church Cottage Studio highly enough, it's a fantastic place to stay and you are made to feel so welcome, we loved it!! Thanks again

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2017
Karen and Mike thank you so much for a lovely review. It was an absolute pleasure to host you both and thank you once again for inviting us to your BBQ evening at Sundowners, good fun. We look forward to welcoming you back to this special part of North Devon. x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing