We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Court Barn Country House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 14 Holsworthy B&B and Inns
Martock
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Comfortable”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Large, delightful character bedroom with very comfortable bed. Cosy sofa & armchair with good lighting. Well stocked hospitality tray and included mineral water bottles. Plenty of hot water and good size bath although their is also a shower if preferred. Superb cooked breakfast which was prepared at our chosen time- how very kind. A lovely stay. Thank you

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robins_Nest2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    10
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
24
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2011

We have stayed here three times now and are always made most welcome by Sue and Robert, the owners. It is small but charming small hotel, the rooms are large by modern standards and exquisitely decorated in William Morris style wallpaper. The food is excellent and the owners go out of their way to meet any special requirements. This is a mile away from a modern characterless hotel, it is a small cosy homely place with family photos on the walls and a welcome to go with it. Thoroughly recommended

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alantaphouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2011

Court Barn is a lovely traditional hotel, in a beautiful setting, quite idyllic. Rooms are large and comfortable, with plenty of character so unlike the more modern but soulless hotels you tend to find in the cities and towns, although could do with some refurbishment. Cooked breakfast is available and cooked fresh to order, not a buffet style ,where it can be left for ages.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richardw12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2010

I stayed at Court Barn (set in the countyside in North Devon) with Mum for 4 nights from Aug 21st -> 25th. We have stayed here a few times over the years since I discovered the hotel by chance through my business travels in the past. Sue and Robert Wood are the perfect hosts and we are made extremely welcome every time we visit. The hotel is beautiful, comfortable, warm and inviting and has the quality and charm of a bygone age. I can honestly say that this is the perfect place to unwind, for a good night's sleep, gorgeous home-made food, a fabulous wine list and wonderful personal service. The bedrooms are all individual and tastfully furnished and decorated and the hotel contains many fascinating treasures to view. Alot of thought has gone into making this the most relaxing place ever. I would recommend Court Barn to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CyprusST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2010

Going on the reviews on the internet this place looked great but turned out to be a real dud. It was difficult to find as there was no sign from the main road when coming from one direction and the one in the opposite direction was derelict and partly hidden behind bushes. The welcome was not very warm and it was obvious the next morning at breakfast that they wanted me to leave early so that the could get on with their plans. The bed was ok but the cups for the tea had dust in them. There were cobwebs in both the bedroom and the toilet and the shower unit was a complete mystery. The grounds on the otherhand were lovely but there is no way that I could recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoeLoveheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holsworthy
8.7 mi away
Woodford Bridge Country Club
Woodford Bridge Country Club
#1 of 14 in Holsworthy
875 reviews
1.9 mi away
Leworthy Farmhouse
Leworthy Farmhouse
#2 of 14 in Holsworthy
144 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hay Meadow Farm
Hay Meadow Farm
#1 of 2 in Beaworthy
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#6 of 14 in Holsworthy
12 reviews
5.0 mi away
Barton Gate Farm Guesthouse
Barton Gate Farm Guesthouse
#3 of 14 in Holsworthy
37 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Bickford Arms
The Bickford Arms
#9 of 14 in Holsworthy
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Court Barn Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Court Barn Country House Hotel

Property: Court Barn Country House Hotel
Address: Clawton, Holsworthy EX22 6PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Holsworthy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Holsworthy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Court Barn Country House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Court Hotel is a romantic 17th century country house set in five acres, with unspoilt views across rolling Devon countryside, has six individually furnished bedrooms, a multi-award winning restaurant, two lounges, breakfast room, small collection of books for residents use. Relax in front of our Crackling log fire on those cooler nights to create a cosy atmosphere. Free parking right outside the hotel with complimentary Wi-Fi in most of the public areas (also available in most bedrooms). We are in an ideal location for touring the Three moors, Dartmoor, Exmoor and Bodmin, also the Atlantic Heritage Coast, National Trust houses and gardens and The Eden Project. The hotel has nearby golf, fishing, sailing, riding, nature trails and cycling. Our restaurant has received AA Rosettes, Egon Ronay and RAC restaurant awards. The restaurant is furnished with antiques and uses fresh, high quality, local produce to create new menus daily. It also has a 250-strong wine list and has won eight national wine-list awards. Additionally, morning coffee and afternoon teas are available. Court Barn has been a Best Loved Hotel and an editor's choice in the Charming Small Hotel Guide. DINNER: Our restaurant is open every evening except MONDAY. All bookings made either direct to the Hotel or through distributors, please state whether Dinner is required on your arrival date. Unless we have this confirmation and you have not arrived before 4:30pm we cannot guarantee providing Dinner on the first night. PET POLICY: Guide Dogs only. IF A TAXI IS REQUIRED PLEASE RING THE HOTEL BEFOREHAND AS THEY ARE NOT ALWAYS EASY TO OBTAIN AT SHORT NOTICE. We hope to welcome you to Court Barn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Court Barn Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Court Barn Country House Hotel Devon/Holsworthy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing