We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great family get-away.”
Review of Thorne Park

Thorne Park
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Thorne Park
Ranked #6 of 14 Holsworthy B&B and Inns
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great family get-away.”
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We have just returned from a half term break at Thorne Park. David and Marlene provide a friendly, well presented house on their farm with plenty to do for the kids - snooker, play area in garden, barn, hot tub, sheep (!) and their two dogs Don and Misty. This is a great place to stay if you have kids, ours are 7 and 4 and were not interested in visiting The Big Sheep or other play parks in North Devon because there was plenty to do for them on the farm and a few walks on the nearby public footpaths kept them amused. Cannot recommend Thorne Park Farm highly enough for a family get away in a beautiful part of Devon, however, if you haven't already got one your kids will come home wanting a dog called Misty!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 January 2013

My family of twelve have just stayed at Beach House for Christmas it was amazing a lovely cottage my mum of 94 was with us and my sister from Australia and my daughter and son and their partners and my four grandsons we all said the cottage was perfect and lovely decorated for Christmas this is the third time we have done this over christmas and this accommodation was the best we have stayed in and Marlene and her husband the owners were so helpful we will definitely be back again.i am only sorry we enjoyed ourselves so much we left with out filling in the visitors comments book but i can assure you this cottage and all that goes with it is excellent.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 6nanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

We have just returned from a stunning weekend in Beech House at Thorne Park. 10 of us stayed int he most idyllic country cottage with gorgeous inglenook fireplaces, luxurious en suite rooms and a fabulous hot tub complete with fairy lights. We even arrived to very scrummy devon cream teas and pretty christmas decorations.

I would highly recommend this cottage for a friends or family getaway. We were a group of couples aged between 30-35 and we had a wonderful time enjoying the log fires.

the only slight issue was the showers as some didn't work and others would only run cold. I am sure it would have been simple to sort but we couldn't get hold of anyone to help. However, with so many en suites we all shared and it was fine!

Thanks so much, we will be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank njh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2012

We had breakfast on the first morning in the Conservatory with the Autumn sun shining through very clean windows. The breakfast was at least three course with plenty of toast and tea. It was a relaxing 2 hours before we left to enjoy the day. On our evening return there was a very cosy lounge with wood burner in which to enjoy more warm drinks.

This set the model for an extremely relaxed 4 days. If you can remember the days when you as a child you were taken on holiday to a working farm and enjoyed the freedom of the countryside then you will do no better than spend some here.

Room Tip: There is a self contained groundfloor ensuite bedroom with it's own front door if stairs are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_B186273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2012

A must for family and friends to get together place good will go back lots to see and do in area animals friendly and hosts nice rooms large garden and games room good, and hot tub lovely so relaxing didnt want to leave had such a good holiday

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandy mcevoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We have just returned from our 2012 family holiday at Thorne Park Farm near Bude. Eleven of us fitted brilliantly into the large house. What a fantastic place to rent for a great family holiday! The house was perfect for large parties, with plenty of rooms and breakdown of beds for space. It was clean and Marlene and Dave the perfect hosts. Nearby if you needed anything at all, dealing with any little things we asked and finding out bits of information for us. But also kept their distance so we didn't feel overlooked. The farm was very peaceful and we got to bottle feed the gorgeous Will (calf) every morning and the 2 lambs. We also got to feed the sheep their pellets every morning, the kids loved it. There was a great play area in the garden that children and adults enjoyed, a play barn with table tennis and skittles. The highlights had to be the hot tub in a very secluded part of the garden and the snooker/pool table in the dining room. The kids didn't have time to get bored as there was so much to do at the house. We also enjoyed a scrummy cream tea when we arrived supplied by Marlene. The weather wasn't brilliant but the house with amenities made up for that. We didn't have enough time within the week to fit everything in on the farm alone. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there and wish Marlene and Dave a successful and full future of bookings for the fabulous accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laineybelle07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterborugh
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Very welcoming,
Brilliant Food
Nice rooms, comfortable beds and pillows
Great bathrooms and supplied towels and nice soaps
Quiet rural location very nice welcoming cup of tea when we arrived and even cooked us a excellent dinner
Overall excellent B&B

Room Tip: No problems with any of the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Holsworthy hotels
3.2 mi away
Barton Gate Farm Guesthouse
Barton Gate Farm Guesthouse
#3 of 14 in Holsworthy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
4.2 mi away
Court Barn Country House Hotel
5.1 mi away
Woodford Bridge Country Club
Woodford Bridge Country Club
#1 of 14 in Holsworthy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Headdons Bed & Breakfast
Headdons Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 14 in Holsworthy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Hollies Farm Bed and Breakfast
8.5 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#7 of 14 in Holsworthy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thorne Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thorne Park

Property: Thorne Park
Address: Chilsworthy, Holsworthy EX22 7BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Holsworthy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Holsworthy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Thorne Park 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based within our family farmhouse we can offer you Bed & Breakfast with the option of evening meal. Marlene and David offer you a very warm welcome. You can enjoy a full English breakfast or various cooked options including fresh eggs and produce Home from home and a very warm welcome awaits all. MAIN POINTS:• Two bedrooms available.• One double / twin en-suite with colour TV and tea making facilities.• One ground floor double / family en-suite room, colour TV and tea making facilities.• Sitting room with TV/DVD & WIFI.• Conservatory – breakfast / dining room overlooking garden.• Traditional Farmhouse Breakfast with option of Evening Meal.• Visit Britain – Four Star Rating ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Thorne Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thorne Park Devon/Holsworthy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing