We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic stay!”
Review of Ratherton House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Holsworthy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ratherton House
Reviewed 29 August 2013

A wonderful few days away staying in a beautiful B&B in Holsworthy, Devon. Hosts Kath and Nick were kind and very welcoming, nothing was too much trouble! Brilliant breakfast choice with local, fresh ingredients. They have a wonderful little 'tree house' at the bottom of the garden which is comfy and quiet - perfect for reading a good book! Pool was always heated and clean, and loving 'pool side' furniture which was ideal for lazying about in the sunshine! Bedroom had wonderful views of the surrounding fields, and was decorated beautifully! Wish we could have stayed much longer, will definitely be back ASAP!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kfrostie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
There are newer reviews for Ratherton House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2013

Ratherton has a lovely home from home vibe. The rooms are spacious, modern and extremely clean. Big beds, newly fitted bathrooms, TVs, Blu Ray players and lovely views of the surrounding country side.

There is a lovely pool and sun loungers for a perfect afternoon in the sun. There is a spacious lounge perfect for rainy days. Holsworthy town and Bude are only a short distance away.

The staff are extremely welcoming and made me feel right at home.

Would recommend it to anyone looking for a nice British getaway!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lozzypoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

A huge thank you to our hosts Nick, and his wife Kath for welcoming us too their fabulous bed and breakfast.Which lies in the heart of lush green rolling hills, and views to cherish.A warm welcome and lovely Devon cream tea with home made scones started our stay nicely. We were staying in the lovely large family room with views of the pool and of the meadow across the garden. The beds were very comfortable, the bathroom gleaming and the tea, coffee and tasty hot chocolate piled high. The children loved the tennis court which was very well maintained as was the solar heated swimming pool which never dropped below 29 degrees ! the use of which was never governed. Breakfast was served at your chosen time serving lovely local yoghurts fresh seasonal fruit [ strawberries, raspberries and blueberries] and a delicious cooked breakfast, the children chose Belgium waffles with banana and chocolate sauce! Fabulous !!

Room Tip: All rooms have high ceilings and are really spacious
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

great welcome ,cream tea on patio next to pool after we d settled into our room. room spacious, bedding fresh and beds very comfortable. tennis courts were in great condition and pool was lovely and clean and warm all day (as we used it in the evening). wicker pod in the garden was lovely touch to relax in and read a book . very happy with breakfasts . nick and kath are a lovely couple ,will return .happy happy happy :)

Room Tip: we were in 'front meadow' had great view of garden /pool/tennis court
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claire b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We spent an amazing 3 days at this beautiful B&B with our three kids aged 11, 9, 3. Kath & Nick were really so welcoming and nothing was too much trouble for them. We had a wonderful evening outside, BBQ and afterwards swimming in the heated pool at night. Kids loved the pool, playing with the dogs and outddoor play area, and of course the delicous breakfasts. Amazing location with loads of activties - we did stunning cliff walk from Bude to Sandymouth Beach and bike trail from Wadebriedge to Padstow. We highly recommend Ratherton House and definitely plan to return there on our next trip to the UK. Thank you Kath & Nick for weloming us to your stunning home!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights on the 28th & 29th of July. The location is exquisite in picturesque & serene countryside. The welcome from Kath was just perfect, friendly & accommodating. The house is impressive, tatsefully decorated & furnished & spotlessly clean absolutely everywhere. The pool is in a delightful, sheltered spot. After we had enjoyed a refreshing dip on arrival, we were served cream tea in the conservatory with warm scones (all included). We didn't actually play tennis but there are racquets available to borrow - the court looks to have been resurfaced recently. NOTHING is too much trouble for Kath & Nick who happily booked us a dinner reservation, chilled the bottle of champagne we had brought with us & delivered it to us in a bucket of ice with crystal glasses as soon as we returned from dinner. All very unobtrusive & attentive. After a wonderful nights sleep, we were offered an excellent choice of warm breakfast options in addition to fresh fruit & cereals. The room (Cottage Field) was spacious & airy & consequently a very relaxing place to spend time. Although we used Ratherton as a base for exploring the coast line, we could happily have spent all of our time there just unwinding. We cannot recommend this place enough & will definitely be returning. We both felt like we had been away for a week.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Materialgirl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

A wonderfully relaxing location, superb accommodation, coupled with a fantastic welcome from Nick and Kath made a fantastic long weekend.

The rooms are beautiful and really spacious, a great range of choices for breakfast, and nothing is too much trouble at any point during the stay. The swimming pool was perfect in the lovely hot weather (and it's heated if you're not as lucky with the sunshine as we were). Kath and Nick also offered some really good suggestions for our evening meals as we didn't know the area at all.

We'd recommend a visit to this beautiful part of the world, and there is nowhere better to stay than here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jules207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Holsworthy hotels
7.0 mi away
Woodford Bridge Country Club
Woodford Bridge Country Club
#1 of 14 in Holsworthy
892 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#8 of 14 in Holsworthy
12 reviews
2.1 mi away
Court Barn Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Headdons Bed & Breakfast
Headdons Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 14 in Holsworthy
67 reviews
5.2 mi away
Langaton Farm
Langaton Farm
#13 of 14 in Holsworthy
4 reviews
7.1 mi away
Lew Barn Bed & Breakfast
Lew Barn Bed & Breakfast
#12 of 14 in Holsworthy
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ratherton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ratherton House

Address: Ratherton Farm | Chasty, Holsworthy EX22 6NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Holsworthy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Holsworthy
Price Range: £322 - £468 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ratherton House is a genuinely luxurious Bed & Breakfast. Newly decorated and tucked away in beautiful landscaped gardens, yet a short distance from Bude's many glorious beaches, Ratherton House provides four stunning boutique rooms, all ensuite and with provision for family stays. The guest experience is complimented by a heated swimming pool, a tennis court and holiday-enhancing treats on request, such as afternoon tea, outdoor dining, BBQ, summerhouse, children’s play area and bookable horse riding. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ratherton House Devon/Holsworthy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing