We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great holiday rental, exceptional customer...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Homestead

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Homestead @ Southcombe Farm The Homesteads lovely living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
The Homestead @ Southcombe Farm
The Homesteads lovely living area
The Homesteads king size master bedroom
The Homestead @ Southcombe Farm is situated in its own private garden
The Square in Holsworthy.  Full of shops, cafes and pubs
Dam building on the farm stream
Spot wildlife on the farm
Help us feed the animals
Quiet country location, explore the farm
Great beaches and surf nearby
Lots of things to look at in the wildlife hide
Kids love doing river walks up the farm stream
Depending on the weather we always do a tractor ride for families with children
Lovely countryside all around waiting for you to explore!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Holsworthy, Torridge, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LenBewis
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great holiday rental, exceptional customer service!”
Reviewed 30 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had a great time staying at The Homestead for the second time. The property is well situated on the farm, fenced off with its own garden so it makes it quite private. The Homestead is a good size for a family of four, very clean and has everything you need for a comfortable stay. The cake, eggs and milk provided on arrival are a nice touch. The kids loved feeding the animals each morning and collecting the eggs - this is done at 8am each morning. There is also a tractor ride around the farm sometime during the week. The owners Jim, Eileen and Paul are very friendly and willing to provide assistance where necessary. This is the only holiday rental that we have returned to - the property is great in itself, but it's the extras (feeding the animals etc) and customer service that have made a good holiday into a great holiday! We can also highly recommend booking a canoeing trip with The Bude Canoe Experience (this is run by Paul the owner of The Homestead) - another holiday highlight!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great accommodation and customer service in a relaxing location
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2016
Thank you for taking the time to review your holiday at The Homestead. We are all really please you had a good time, for a second time!
Thank you again and very much hope you decide to stay with us may be for a third time in the future :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_boo895
Kettering, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Amazing Place a must stay for all families”
Reviewed 11 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This was our second visit to Southcombe Farm and our 1st stay at the Homestead. We had the most amazing stay. It was a fantastic way to spend our family holiday and was made to feel very welcome by the onwers. Surroundings, accommodation and hosts were brilliant. We defiantly be returning. The accommodation was spotless. We all enjoyed feeding the animals every morning, our tractor ride and exploring the farm. Would highly recommend to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, hosts & accommodation
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2016
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Homestead.
We are all really glad you had a great holiday enjoying the farm and surrounding area.
Thank you for staying with us, and hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sh4nw1
Folkestone, United Kingdom
1 review
“Don't miss this gem....”
Reviewed 19 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We three had one of our best holidays at Southcombe Farm. It was clean, warm, well equipped, private (with the farmhouse within easy reach if needed), educational, fun, environmentally aware and worth every penny. Our daughter enjoyed feeding the farm animals and Paul was very patient as she can be nervous around them. She got great confidence from him. We thoroughly enjoyed the tractor ride around the field and learnt a lot about plants, trees, seasons and animals. The tyre swing was great fun! Paul was the perfect host and his parents were friendly and informative about local events and towns. The north coast is within easy reach, and a little further away is Tavistock with East Cornwall easily accessible too. We are booking again for next year - our daughter can't wait.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The farm animals
Liked least: Nothing to note
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Nov 2015
Thank you very much for you review of the Homestead. We are all really pleased you had a good time on and around the farm. Especially pleased that your daughter enjoyed herself and gained a bit of extra confidence with the animals. Thank you again and we will look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosie_san...
Bristol, UK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely, quiet little hideaway”
Reviewed 17 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We had a wonderful stay at the Homestead on Southcombe Farm and would recommend them. Paul was very friendly and accommodating from the first booking and very accessible when we had a problem with the hot water. His father too was warm and welcoming when we met him, only his mother seemed a bit standoffish when we encountered her. The booking was effortless and it was great to have a high chair, stair gate and cot for our toddler (though you have to provide your own bedding for the latter.) The house was spotlessly clean and all appliances/furniture of a very high standard and all very simplistically decorated.

The farm itself was beautiful, as was the nature trail around it and we felt very comfortable and welcomed to roam around and visit the sheep, ducks and horse. Our young son was very enamored with the farm cats who were very tolerant of his over eagerness to play with and stroke them.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Feeding the animals was a lovely way to be a little part of the farm's daily activities.
Liked least: y only little gripe was that the (2) kitchen towels were very threadbare and only one roll of toilet paper was provided. These are small things, but with the price being on the higher end of similar properties these little extra's could be included.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay in the Homestead.
I'm really glad you had a good time enjoying not only the farm, but local area too.
I'm very sorry that you did not find Eileen very welcoming. I can assure you this was not intentional in anyway and I can only think you caught her when she was in the middle of something. Never the less it is not the sort of feedback we want to hear and we are all committed to making sure this does not happen again.
Thank you again for staying with us and I hope you might stay with us again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara Jayn...
Rotherham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Home From Home!”
Reviewed 31 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We had the most fantastic week away on the farm. Paul was so welcoming and helpful. Our kids got up every morning to feed the animals and loved every minute of it! The tractor ride was great and really informative. The accommodation was so clean and contained everything you could thing of - even down to pegs to hang out your washing. There was the most beautiful cake waiting for us on our arrival and the fresh eggs were the best we have ever tasted. Waitrose was only a short ride away so very convenient for cooking lovely meals and relaxing in our own garden in the evenings in the peace and quiet. The surrounding areas are very pretty and there was plenty to do. We all thoroughly enjoyed it and will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay in the Homestead.
I'm really glad you had a good time and enjoyed everything we and the local area has to offer.
Its good to hear the complimentary cake and eggs went down very well!!
Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you again one day :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect - location, accommodation and hospitality all 100%!”
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The Homestead provided a fantastic base for me and my young children. Accommodation was meticulously clean, spacious and had all the facilities I could have asked for including dishwasher, washing machine, freezer, microwave, DVD player all of which I have found absent in some other self catering places. I particularly liked the private garden which the children could play in safely, and even if they wandered up the drive a little to see the sheep, ducks etc I knew they were safe. Paul was superb both in terms of his advice and assistance before we arrived and through our stay itself, allowing the children to feed the cats, ducks and chickens each morning which they loved, and giving them an educational tractor ride too. We explored the nature walks, playhouses and tyre swings which were nice additional touches. Thanks also to Eileen for the freshly homemade cakes provided on our arrival!
A couple of things to think about - and this is me being picky - there was no room in the kitchen for any consumables - the cupboards all housed either appliances or crockery/pans so our food items had to either sit on the worktops or squeeze in with the saucepans. A little cooking oil and similar pantry items would have been a nice touch too. Other than that, I did get nervous about the upstairs windows as I couldn't lock them and the children kept climbing on the beds and opening them.. Paul advised that fire safety regulations meant he couldn't provide a key, and offered to help me move the beds away from the windows which was appreciated. Ideally though I'd have been able to lock them and keep the key safe in case of fire.
Location-wise great, we were only 15 mins from the fantastic selection of beaches at Bude, and there are many things to do on more dreary days within a reasonable drive - we visited BeeWorld, The Big Sheep and the Hidden Valley Discovery Park all of which I'd recommend and there are many others for another time.
If we choose North Devon again next year I won't bother searching around and will book straight into Southcombe again without hesitation! :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness, service and our own garden
Liked least: Lack of kitchen
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2015
Thank you very much for your review. It really contains lots of useful information which I am sure will be of benefit to those thinking of staying with us.
I'm glad you all had a good time and enjoyed the farm as well as the surrounding area and attractions :-)
Thank you also for your suggestions and I will definitely try and organise the cupboards so there is more room to store food etc.
Thank you for staying with us and it would be great to welcome you again in the future :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline...
Tarporley, United Kingdom
1 review
“The perfect farm stay for a young family”
Reviewed 9 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

My husband and I stayed in the Homestead at Southcombe farm with our two young children of 3 and 5. The accommodation was everything we had hoped for - clean, modern and furnished to a high standard. The setting on the farm was peaceful and quiet, with a lovely enclosed outdoor space where we enjoyed BBQs in the evening and a Gin and Tonic on the veranda when the children had gone to bed! This caught the afternoon/evening sun and was the perfect spot to relax after a day out exploring all of the wonderful beaches in the area.

The only very small issue we had was with the wifi in the house, but Paul was quick to try and resolve this and in the end gave us access to the main house's wifi code when the problem could not be resolved in the Homestead.

Paul was a warm and welcoming host and showed a great deal of patience with our very excitable and enthusiastic young children who loved to feed the animals with him each morning. Paul's tractor ride was a huge hit with them, and they also enjoyed exploring the farm and playing on the tyre swing when we weren't out and about.

Our top finds during our week's stay were Duck Pools and Sandy Mouth beaches just north of Bude, which had everything young children love - rocks to climb, rock pools to explore and wide open stretches of sand to play on. We also had a brilliant day at the Big Sheep and the Tamar Otter Santuary.

Thank you for a wonderful holiday, we would love to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The 'home from home' feel of the Homestead
Liked least: The Devon rain, but not much you can do about that!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2015
Thank you very much for reviewing your stay at the Homestead. It is very much appreciated.
I'm really glad you had a good holiday, enjoying the farm and surrounding area. There is a lot to see and do!
Apologies for the wifi, and I am glad we managed to get you connected.
Thank you again and it would be great to see you again sometime :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing