We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A first class holiday accomadation .”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Barn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Barn @ Southcombe Farm The lovely lounge in The Barn
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
The Barn @ Southcombe Farm
The lovely lounge in The Barn
The lovely lounge complete with log burner
The master bedroom complete with lovely king size double
The spacious twin bedroom suitable for children and adults
The twin bedroom
The downstairs hallway
The kitchen with everything you would expect from a five star property
The bathroom is fully tiled
Free tractor ride for families with children
In the wildlife hide
The tyre swing
River Walking
Spot wildlife
Great beaches and surf nearby
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Holsworthy, Torridge, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
curlylowe
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A first class holiday accomadation .”
Reviewed 28 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

My wife and I had a very enjoyable holiday in this great barn conversion.WE had a nice welcome and inside we found milk,free range eggs and delicious home made cake.It was very warm and everything you could wish for was included.We hope to return again soon.THanks to all at Southcombe Sandra and John.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quite
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jan 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review The Barn @ Southcombe Farm. Really glad you found everything just right for your holiday :-) Thank you again and it would be great to see you for another holiday in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane J
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Immaculately clean, well provisioned cottage on a lovely family farm”
Reviewed 5 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

The cottage was very convenient for our family (2 adults, 2 kids 5&6), good size comfortable bedrooms and nice open plan kitchen and lounge upstairs. The upside down layout was an extra novelty and the lovely wood burning stove meant it was nice and warm. Our hosts were very friendly taking time to show the kids the animals every day and the rope swing and playhouses were a definite hit. There's lots to do in the local area for all ages including lovely beaches

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely cosy place
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review The Barn @ Southcombe Farm. Really glad you liked the Barn, the farm, the animals and the surrounding area. All the children seem to love the tyre swing! Thank you again for staying with us and hope to see you again one day :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire T
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Warm, welcoming, comfortable home away from home with fabulous hosts.”
Reviewed 2 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

The Barn is really well situated for exploring Devon and Cornwall. We had a fabulous time here despite the slightly dreary weather (nothing that Paul, Jim and Eileen could do about that but if they could have changed it they would!!), the Barn is warm, comfortable and has just about everything you could ever need during your stay. Paul, Jim and Eileen are wonderful hosts and Eileen bakes a delicious fruit cake! The canoe tour with Paul on the Bude Canal was wonderful, so much so that we will do a full day tour next time we are there! Holsworthy is small but has everything you need so no worries about that and Bude is only a 15 min drive. A big thank you goes out to Jim aswell for allowing me time with his precious charges. I'm really looking forward to hearing news of a safe delivery of precious cargo in late Jan. So, to sum up, great hosts, great accommodation, great location - you could wish for nothing more. Can't wait to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it!
Liked least: Nothing to report!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us. Really glad you enjoyed your holiday in the Barn, your time with the horses and of course the canoe trip! Thank you again for staying with us and hope to see you again :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K D
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic Barn - friendly welcome by the owners, perfect setting and facilities”
Reviewed 28 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Found this property via the internet and read previous reviews on trip advisor. We were not disappointed by our choice and the holiday met all of or expectations. The Barn was spotlessly clean and is fully equipped with all you need throughout the holiday. There were nice touches such as homemade cake, milk in the fridge, freshly laid eggs and bath toiletries provided. Paul the owner gave an excellent service from the moment I sent our initial enquiry and this continued throughout the entire stay of our holiday. We were made to feel totally welcome and invited to explore all of the farm. The nature trail was fun and the tyre swing exciting! Feeding the animals every morning with the family was a highlight too. The canoe adventure is highly recommended as well!
The Barn is located perfectly for exploring both north Cornwall and Devon. We can't recommend this highly enough and would most definitely book to stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Going home!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. I'm really glad we lived up to your expectations and you had a great time. Thank you again for staying with us :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare B
Chelmsford, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Five star accommodation,five star hosts,five star holiday..”
Reviewed 6 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Could not fault this holiday at all. The accommodation was beautiful,was lovely and clean on arrival,well equipped. The owners of the farm could not have been more accommodating,and were fantastic with the children,and were always happy to answer their questions and to let them help around the farm. The farm is well situated and has easy access to the local town and only a short drive from many other larger towns. An absolute pleasure to visit..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cannot name just one thing- excellent place to stay
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review The Barn @ Southcombe Farm it is really appreciated. Really pleased you had a great holiday and thank you for staying with us :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adem_in_B...
Bedfordshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely child friendly 'upside-down' barn”
Reviewed 4 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We (with our two children aged 4yrs & 19mths) had a lovely welcome. The barn is well appointed and comfortable. The children loved feeding the animals every morning and the tractor ride. There were lovely views from all the windows.

Paul, Jim and Eileen were very accommodating and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the barn for the week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Feeding the animals with the children
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us and we are really pleased you had a great holiday. Thank you again and it would be great to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLB_SJB
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic property, excellent hospitality”
Reviewed 15 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We had 7 nights at the barn with our 4 year old daughter. We had a fantastic time exploring the farm and our daughter particularly enjoyed the experience of helping feed the animals each morning. The location was perfect for us as we wanted some where quiet yet in reach of the beaches of Bude and the surrounding area. The property is well equipped, well maintained, clean and tidy. A combination of the warm welcome and perfect weather means that we will certainly be returning again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location (on the farm)
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are really pleased you had a great time and will look forward to seeing you again. Thank You.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing