We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely friendly staff”
Review of Corner Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Corner Cafe
Ranked #9 of 18 Restaurants in Holsworthy
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely friendly staff”
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Always a welcome with a smile from the girls at Corner cafe
Prompt service, very good value, and I love the cakes.
The only Chippy as good is Gilletts Chippy in kilk
;-)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bigMim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    11
    4
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“great food great price”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

fantastic food with friendly helpful service and a great price will be going back to this little gem when im next down in devon

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bigandsmall2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holsworthy, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Corner Cafe is NOT a Cyber Cafe!”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

In response to Shaggydogdevon, I have to say that I have been a daily patron of Nick Cousin's Corner Cafe for 30 years and have never received anything but kindness and courtesy from the owner. The cafe provides excellent value for money, is spotlessly clean and serves the best fish and chips in Devon!

A restaurant is not an office, it's a place to eat, drink and socialize, but now-a-days a visit is often marred by people talking on mobile phones and using laptops etc, so it's no wonder if the owner asks them to desist. There are two sides to every story and I hear it's possible that Shaggydogdevon is underestimating the time he was there, and overestimating the politeness of his response to the request to desist!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shaggydogdevon
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Very unwelcoming Owner”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Just popped in here in a break between appointments: very friendly waitress: I explained that I wanted somewhere to work between appointments: that's fine: no problem. Ordered a pot of tea (went for the more expensive option as I was plugged in and using one of their tables). 10 minutes later, the owner came over and told me to unplug the laptop: I explained the previous conversation and even offered to pay for the electricity: to no avail: very unfriendly and unhelpful.

Amazingly bad in today's market: I know this is Mid Devon, but what planet is he on?

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank shaggydogdevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Corner Cafe also viewed

 
Holsworthy, Torridge
Holsworthy, Torridge
 
Holsworthy, Torridge
 

Been to Corner Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing