We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chaotic car very”
Review of The Bickford Arms

The Bickford Arms
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Bickford Arms
Ranked #8 of 14 Holsworthy B&B and Inns
Holsworthy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Chaotic car very”
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Booked as part of a party of 40 and the lack of management over who went up for food when made the whole experience chaotic. Parties were not directed to carvery as a whole group which meant that some people from our party were an hour behind others for their meal.
The food was fine but the organisation was poor. A distinct lack of waitresses keeping parties together in terms of access to the carvery. Our group was interspersed with other smaller groups from the bar area and there were lots of grumblings about poor management. It spoiled what would otherwise have been a lovely meal. An impressive 160 meals were served but the 18th birthday party we were part of had a very disjointed feel to it as a direct result of the group not being able to eat together as a group time wise. The result of this was that we had to leave the party before the meal was finished in order we could get back to work (milking cows). We were not the only ones in the group who had the same issue.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    25
    11
    3
    11
See reviews for
24
26
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Visited here with family for a Sunday carvery whilst staying in Beaworthy. The carvery was delicious !!!!!! A choice of 3 meats a big selection of veg , massive home made Yorkshire puds !! And amazing crispy roast potatoes that are to die for . This is with out a doubt the best carvery I have ever had and it was only £5.95 !! We are just sad that we don't live in the area as I think we would be there every Sunday if we lived close enough .. :-)

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Charlieh001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We picked this places as it is near us. Always lookout for Sunday Carvery places. price great and service good. The Carvery good choice of meats and great gravy. The Yorkshire was great.
The leek in mustard bit yuk but all good. Waiting to go again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 137Jones18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stopped here for dinner on October 15th and were pleasantly surprised. My partner ordered their Steak and Ale pie which was quite dry and he was a little disappointed. I think because we were later in the evening - 8.30pm that perhaps it had dried out some.
However, I ordered the beef stir fry and it was really good, noticed some red chili sauce in it too.
We had a pint and a large glass of red wine, shared a large yummy chocolate fudge cake with ice cream and the bill was 31 pounds. Service was excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

Stopped for a late lunch and wasn't disappointed. We both had the special venison burger and it was delicious! Tasty venison and great chips! Dog was allowed in which was a bonus and landlord was nice an smiley. We will visit again when next down this way.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Agcj59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lifton
1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The meal was very good and the service very friendly, the only disappointment was that I did not realise that when you ask for a house red wine you are automatically served with a large (250ml) size at £5.95 rather than the bar man enquiring whether you want a medium (175ml) size at £3.40. This is poor customer service.
After inspecting my receipt at home I rang the pub to complain at their method of selling and was offered no apology and advised by the same barman that I should ask for the smaller size if that's want I wanted therefore the pub made an additional £3.10 out of my visit. Due to the barman's response I will be crossing this pub off our meal out list.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

Went here last week and had a very enjoyable meal. My first choice - roast belly pork - was unavailable, but the lamb shank I ordered instead was tender and tasty. Other members of the party had steak and ale pie and salmon, no complaints there either. The staff were friendly and helpful. Can't ask for more than that!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ann A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holsworthy
5.4 mi away
Woodford Bridge Country Club
Woodford Bridge Country Club
#1 of 14 in Holsworthy
870 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hay Meadow Farm
Hay Meadow Farm
#1 of 2 in Beaworthy
180 reviews
11.4 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#6 of 14 in Holsworthy
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Leworthy Farmhouse
Leworthy Farmhouse
#2 of 14 in Holsworthy
140 reviews
4.8 mi away
Court Barn Country House Hotel
7.3 mi away
Barton Gate Farm Guesthouse
Barton Gate Farm Guesthouse
#3 of 14 in Holsworthy
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bickford Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bickford Arms

Property: The Bickford Arms
Address: Brandis Corner, Holsworthy EX22 7XY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Holsworthy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Holsworthy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bickford Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Bickford Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bickford Arms Devon/Holsworthy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing