We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eat, drink and be merry!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel La Finca Mercedes
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in La Iruela
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We were four couples, friends who decided to share New Year's Eve somewhere different. We were told about this very friendly hotel in Cazorla, high in the hills of the province of Jaen in Spain. We travelled there on 30th December and were warmly greeted by the delightful owner, Mercedes, and shown to our rooms. Ours was large with a balcony overlooking the unending expanse of olive trees below. We had comfortable easy chairs in front of the TV and a well-appointed bathroom. The single beds were very comfortable. Everything was spotless. It was the start of a New Year to remember. The dining room had a big log fire which added to the atmosphere. The food was excellent and plenty of it. The snacks and drinks were continuous and Mercedes seemed to have unbounded energy and a great sense of humour. We saw the New Year in with an Irish family and two young Spanish couples who went off to look up Auld Lang Syne on the internet when they had sung it with us. The stay was over all too soon and it was like parting with an old friend when we took our leave of Mercedes. I don't think any of us came back any lighter than when we arrived but no-one cared. I have no hesitation in recommending Finca Mercedes to anyone who enjoys good food and drink and served by a delightful hostess. We hope to return in the spring when the views from the balconies can be enjoyed to the full.

Room Tip: Try Room 11 - over the kitchen and cosy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2013

Lovely views from the veranda overlooking miles of olive groves. Brilliant base for walking with stunning views . The town of Cazorla well worth a visit.
There is always a warm welcome. Comfortable bedroom.
I have probably stayed here ten times in the last ten years. The food in the restaurant is excellent. The fillet of wild boar never disappoints.
I look forward to another visit and further walking in the national park.
Breakfast a very Spanish affair which I find enjoyable after a large evening meal.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the olive groves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This was my second visit to La Finca Mercedes and the first for my new bride! A warm welcome is guaranteed - and if you want to practise your Spanish this is the place. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. We had No.11 at the end of the upper corridor which is extra roomy. It does not have a bath but the power shower is excellent.

The views from the hotel are stunning taking in the Sierra Magina, the rolling olive groves across to Ubeda and Baeza and the scenic western fringe of the Sierra Cazorla. Sunrise and sunset are simply treats every day.

The hotel food is good - based around meat - and reasonable value. Do not expect fine dining although some of the dishes are quite delicious. Breakfast is excellent especially if you like freshly squeezed orange juice, chunky toast with olive oil and fresh tomato pulp, and good coffee. We do.

The weather was superb and on two evenings we strolled up to the Castillo (opens 5.30-ish) which has undergone a lot of restoration. It is the best €1 ever spent! Spectacular views from the top of the tower, an amazing amphitheatre and an atmospheric ruined church. In between are mazy paths interspersed with seats. After you catch your breath there are a couple of friendly bars in the village.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have marginally better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We had a wonderful stay at La Finca Mercedes. Our room was a good size and the view from the balcony was MAGNIFICENT. Rolling olive groves as far as you can see. We spent many hours watching the sun set and picnicking on wine and cheese. A similar view can be had from the swimming pool.
We found the hotel restaurant to be overpriced and there was very little service to speak of as Mercedes and her husband speak no English. This would have been rather irritating had we not met a very helpful chap at the Cazorla tourist office who gave us information about the local area and walking in the national park.
Location wise, a car is a must. There is ample car parking outside the hotel and it is a short drive (5 mins) to Cazorla town where there are plentiful restaurants and shops. It is a 30miute drive to the main walking areas of the national park.
All in all, we had a lovely stay at La Finca Mercedes but for us it didn’t really function as a hotel, more as self-catering accommodation.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovelazysundays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

You wouldn't guess from the facade that there is actually a very decent hotel in front of you. Good terrace, good enough room without any frills, big pool and good food. The room needed a bit of air to get rid of the smell of moth-balls, but in the mountain air that was quickly done.
The owner-husband can be a bit grumpy at first but his wife is happy as Larry and full of spirit.
We stayed only one night but if you like to trek, this place must be bliss.
Breakfast is typical spanish...

Room Tip: a room overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelblom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Perhaps the nearest analogy is with the traditional English country inn, with which the finca shares its small size and reliance on excellent personal service. When we were staying there the accommodation was far from fully occupied and we were made to feel just like members of the family. It was the sort of experience that you just cannot get at a larger hotel, and we fully endorse all the praise already accorded to the finca by previous visitors.
The sparseness of visitors suggests perhaps more should be done to encourage tourism in this area which is rich in historical towns and lies at the edge of magnificent mountain parkland. We certainly enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeicesterRicey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Stayed for 2 days on a short break from camping at Cartegena, we wanted to visit the National park, Ubeda and Baeza. We were shown to a lovely room but as it didn't have a bath, I asked if we could change, (when you're camping, a bath is a real luxury!), no problem and we still got the panoramic views. As it was February and rather cold we were expecting to be very cold, however when we went down to dinner there was a welcoming log fire right next to our table. Good food and good house wine. Mercedes was a delight and made our stay memorable. We will definitely recommend.

Room Tip: A room at the back o/looking the olive groves and sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madrilesmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Iruela
0.4 mi away
Hotel & Spa Sierra de Cazorla
4.2 mi away
Hotel Parque de Cazorla
Hotel Parque de Cazorla
#3 of 4 in La Iruela
253 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sierra de Cazorla
Hotel Sierra de Cazorla
#4 of 4 in La Iruela
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Parador de Cazorla
Parador de Cazorla
#1 of 11 in Cazorla
476 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Montana
Hotel Montana
#1 of 1 in Arroyo Frio
85 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Coto del Valle
Hotel Coto del Valle
#2 of 11 in Cazorla
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Finca Mercedes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Finca Mercedes

Address: Ctra. de la sierra, km. 1, 23476 La Iruela, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Jaen > La Iruela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in La Iruela
Price Range: £40 - £51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel La Finca Mercedes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing