We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for one or two nights. Not a place for a good breakfast !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Banos de la Villa
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
265 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Nice for one or two nights. Not a place for a good breakfast !”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

This is an old house in the old part of the nice town of Priego de Cordoba. The rooms are nicely fitted and decorated, and spotlessly clean. The staff are helpful. There is no restaurant, though several very nice nearby bar-restaurants. Breakfast is a very dismal experience - in this centre of orange production, foul cheap packet orange juice, a mean 'spread' and coffee from a machine (the lady in charge even denied us hot water to dilute the machine's coffee) is not good enough. The room rate includes one visit to the Arab Baths, which have been restored in a way that they look entirely modern - three small 'sitting pools' - perfectly pleasant but not an attractin in their own right. The rack rate quoted by 'phone was appreciably greater than we obtained from a booking agency. Access is a challenge for anything but a small car, and there is some car parking. If you drive anything like a Mondeo/BMW 5-series, I would wonder if you could get it through the narrow lanes into the car park. And get proper directions - one bad turn led us to have to manoeuvre through a 25-point turn helped by a kind man who lived nearby. Nice enough for a night. Not for a week. A shame because the town and the surrounding towns & villages are marvellous.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snapdecisions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jotaemeger, Gerente at Casa Banos de la Villa, responded to this review, 17 July 2011
Good evening:

First of all, thank you for all the published comments, that undoubtedly will make us improve in our service.

We would like to comment that we are located inside the Natural Geopark of the Sierras Subbéticas, in the Villa`s neighborhood of Priego of Cordova.

This neighborhood is of origin andalusí, of the moslem - medieval epoch during the Al-Andalus period. It emphasizes for it streets, which are sinuous, of minimun dimensions, white and adorned with flowers, sharing architecture with neighborhoods such as the Albayzín of Granada or the Jewry of Cordova. It was declared historical - artistic ensemble in the year 1972. On having walked along it streets and squares, we will transport ourselves to a world where you will live through unforgettable moments.

On the other hand, the original Arabic baths of the city have been found a few years ago in Santa Ana street, to approximately 200 mts. of our accommodation. Some parts of the facilities are in very well conditions of conservation and let's hope that soon they could be visitables.

Therefore, our Arabic Baths are not reformed, but of new construction, and what we claim is that they are a trip of the body and the soul following the philosophy of the former hammams, where you will be able to submerge in puddles of different temperatures and aromatized, to enjoy a massage, to feel the aromaterapia and even to savour the tastes of long ago. With this, we will manage to make eliminate the stress, appeasing pains, and promoting the welfare, the health and the beauty.

Regarding to the breakfast, we like to highlight that we are not a producing center of oranges, but we are proud to have the best oils of extra virgin olive of the world, since this way they are being recognized with different awards that are submitting to the oils of the region protected by the name of Origin Priego of Cordova Denomination.

Because of it, our basic breakfast is prepared by slices of bread, toasts, watered with our liquid gold, the extra virgin olive oil with the Origin Priego of Cordova Denomination, accompanied of a coffee newly ground, juice or infusion. Before the demand of the travelers we have extended it with cereals, yogurt, fruit, sausage and pastries.

Finally, we would like to indicate, that since we start walking, three years ago, in Casa Banos de la Villa, we have offered moments, experiences with which the traveler could live through his own history.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    60
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
11
130
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hermosa Beach, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2011

I returned to Priego in April 2010 and stayed 3 nights at the Casa Banos de la Villa. I stayed in the same room (Vitalidad) as I had in 2009. This place is still one of my favorites. The Arab baths are so relaxing and not very crowded. On my first day I had the baths to myself and the other days just 3 or 4 others were visiting at the same time. A 15 minute massage is additional 7 euro or 15 euro for a 30 minute massage. An Arab bath followed by a nice massage was the perfect end to each day.

Unlike the previous poster I didn't experience any issues with noise - perhaps it is due to the room location.

My one negative during my stay in 2009 was the lackluster breakfast. I'm happy to report that the breakfast was much nicer with fresh fruits, cereals, yogurts, bread, pastries, cheeses and meats (jamon serrano, jamon york & chorizo).

The staff was very friendly and I enjoyed talking with them during my staff. On my departure Angela presented me with a nice gift (an air diffuser) from the spa. It is this type of special service that will bring me back to this hotel when I return to Priego.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CathyDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2010

We stayed at Casa Banos for 2 nights. The 'Hotel' has Arab baths in which one session is included in the room price/night. This is a bit of a misconception as really the owners have levied the room price per night (88 euro is ~30 euro over priced) for what is otherwise is just a B+B (minus a decent breakfast). To put it into perspective we paid the same price per night for B+B in a 5* hotel in the heart of Cordoba city. It was evident early in our stay thet we were not happy and it seemed the girl on reception at the time prefered to ignore our issues rather than improving our experience. The room (Aroma) was adequate in size, clean and had average accessories, a safe but no minibar, we had twin beds despite requesting a double. The rooms were very noisy and there was constant noises from the wooden stairs and wooden floors from the rooms above. The pipes were unacceptably noisy particularly, when the guests above went to the toilet it felt like somebody was relieving themselves on top of you, quite unpleasant as it happened continually through the night. There was no helpful response from the reception. Our room was positioned beside the automatic coffee machine used for 'breakfast', so from 7am there was a constant racket from guests making coffee and toast. Breakfast was a sad affair, you could see the shock on guests faces. One of the worst breakfasts we have experienced, yogurt, york ham, stale bread-hence the toaster and orange juice-made from concentrate. As with most Andalucian towns, parking is crazy. Although there is free parking at the hotel- granded you need to be fairly skillful at parking. Unfortunately, the whole Casa Banos experience was quiet dissappointing for us as the Trip Advisor reviews seemed glowing. Unfortunately we arrived in Preigo during the fiesta (1st-5th September) so the town was deserted-everything had moved 2km to the bottom far end of the town. During the fiesta there was only one restaurant (plus 2 tapas bars Rafi and Rio) in Priego open - La Nuria, which had very good but small selection of food with lovely staff was perfectly located beside the castle and the chapel. Priego is a picturesque small town and was lovely in the evening people watching in the heart of the old town. Casa Banos unfortunately takes advantage of its location in the old town and the lack of availability of other places to stay. However, it has the potential to be really lovely. The roof terrace could be better utilised, the view in the evening of the beautifully hightlighted chapel is beautiful and would be the perfect location to have a lovely glass of good wine in the evening. As a result Casa Banos is lacking any atmosphere -Take note: Hotel Chancilleria in Jerez de la Frontera has it worked out perfectly for same price. We hope the management realises the potential in this difficult market.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PandFDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2010

We decided to find a hotel in a central location as a base for visiting the major Andalusian cities. We stayed 6 nights at Casa Banos and it was an excellent decision. We took the suite because it had 2 bedrooms for 2 couples and it also enabled us to prepare a couple of meals ourselves (and our own Sangria!). The rooms and bathroom were smallish but adequate. The hotel has Arab baths on the ground floor and it was delightful to use those baths at the end of a long day of visiting. We used the baths on 3 occasions and had a massage one night for 7 euro, which is very reasonable. It's location in the old part of Priego is superb. Breakfast, included in the tariff, was adequate for us but nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2010

Absolutely great hotel. Disnt look much from the outside, but the rooms were fantastic, and the staff very pleasant and helpful.

The crowning glory was the arab baths, just unbelievable, made the stay totally memorable.

Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TerryLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermosa Beach, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2010

This hotel was absolutely perfect. I was traveling solo and depending on public transporation so needed to be in central Priego. This was my first trip to Priego and there had not been alot of accomodation choices when I had researched potential hotels in the past (unless I had access to a car). I found this new hotel on the web and took a chance - that paid off. This hotel is brand new, opened in Aug 2008, and only has 9 rooms. It is located inthe heart of Barrio de la Villa, an atmospheric area of white washed houses, and narrow flower filled streets. My room, Vitalidad, was large with a Juliette balcony overlooking a little square. The bathroom was huge and bathrobe was included. Also included was 1.5 hour use of Hamman baths (and tea) on ground floor each day you stay!!! Just make an appointment. 5 additional euros for 15 minute massage. On the roof is a tiny pool but a beautiful view of the church steeple. Great place to relax and listen to the bells of the church. The only negative thing I can even write about this hotel is the terrible breakfast - basically just rolls, butter and jam and some limited fresh fruit (none of which I liked). No meat, cheese, cereals, tomato, etc.... There is a coffee machine and juice if you like. The breakfast was just not up to the standard of everything else at this hotel so it was disappointing. I loved this charming hotel and beautiful town of Priego so much I've already booked 3 nights in March 2009! The price was a great deal at 65 euros for a double (single use) including breakfast and Hamman bath, vat not included. A few days later I visited a Hamman bath in Granada and this visit alone was over 30 euros (and not as nice)!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathyDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Priego de Cordoba
3.2 mi away
Hotel Rural Huerta de las Palomas
Hotel Rural Huerta de las Paloma...
#2 of 3 in Priego de Cordoba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Las Rosas
Hotel Las Rosas
#3 of 3 in Priego de Cordoba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
11.6 mi away
Hotel Mencia Subbetica
Hotel Mencia Subbetica
#1 of 1 in Dona Mencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
La Bobadilla, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
3.3 mi away
Hotel Villa de Priego de Cordoba
Hotel Villa de Priego de Cordoba
#1 of 7 in Priego de Cordoba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hacienda Minerva
Hacienda Minerva
#1 of 2 in Zuheros
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Banos de la Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Banos de la Villa

Property: Casa Banos de la Villa
Address: Calle Real 63, 14800 Priego de Cordoba, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Priego de Cordoba
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Priego de Cordoba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Banos de la Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protected by walls, narrow streets filled with flowers, we found Casa Baños de la Villa, a place to rest the body and soul, where light, water, colors, smells, sounds and textures combine to create rooms with different environments, which together with its courtyards, terraces and Moorish baths create unique personal experiences, away from the crowds and standardization, and linked to the philosophy of sustainability and social responsibility.There are people who go through life looking for something, though not always know what it is. Looking for a story, a moment that remains indelible in his memory, moments that make them feel that they have lived.In Casa Baños de la Villa we offer this unforgettable combination of light, water, colors, smells and sounds to create a place of dreams where the stories are possible to create a place with soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Banos de la Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Banos De La Villa Spain/Priego De Cordoba, Province Of Cordoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing